August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tap to Whack it Back!

by hardycore - Jam Entry

The game is VERY simple. When the ball is in the zone, hit spacebar to stop it from hitting the back wall. You must survive 10 seconds (roughly 10 throws) to win!
Controls:
Space = Whack

Runs using MonoGame! Some ppl had trouble playing my last LD game but I think I've ironed that out. Let me know if you run into problems.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#453Theme(Jam)2.75
#518Innovation(Jam)2.33
#530Fun(Jam)2.24
#601Overall(Jam)2.10
#612Graphics(Jam)1.37
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58am

Pretty Hard Game! When I tried to click instructions, the game always crashed for me. Also, not sure if you meant for it, but the ball disappears sometimes and you kind of have to guess at where it is.

hardycore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Ya, its supposed to do that. The Invisio ball! Forgot to take teh instructions screen out. Ran out of time and didn't get it finished. Thanks for playing! :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Interesting game. Tough to beat!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:20am

Hard one ! But cool mini game :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:02am

Immediately crashes on my Win XP machine

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Unfortunately, it crashes instantly on my Windows 8 :( Sorry :(

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Quite not bad work! Sometimes ball is invisible in random moment and I can't see it, but overall is not bad ;)

Gazok says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Wow, you came up with some really good ways of making such a simple game as hard as balls :P

drawm says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Nice game, I had fun playing it. If I may, id like to suggest using a moving platform to bounce ball back (similar to brick) instead of hitting space when they enter a certain area. It would (imo) feel more like a game and less like a mini game. But still great job, I loved your different type of ball,

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]