August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Sec And Slash

by NostraDamon - Jam Entry

"Sorry, you have 10 seconds left to live..."

_____________________________________________________________

Controls:

- Arrows left/right: Move the current character
- Arrow up: Jump
- Numbers 1-9: Switch between characters
- R: Restart the current level

HINT: you can skip every dialog by pressing a number key! (Thus spawning a character)

_____________________________________________________________

Game Designer/Developer: NostraDamon - @NostraDam0n - nostradamon@hotmail.fr
Developer: DarXnake - @DarXnake - darxnake@gmail.com
Artist: Hvedrung - @GenSeiren - nemecyrus@hotmail.com

_____________________________________________________________


Music: Teleporter - Danjyon Kimura
http://www.jamendo.com/en/artist/368781/danjyon-kimura

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Theme(Jam)3.83
#53Fun(Jam)3.61
#54Overall(Jam)3.76
#63Audio(Jam)3.64
#79Graphics(Jam)4.12
#90Humor(Jam)3.33
#125Innovation(Jam)3.39
#153Mood(Jam)3.28

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

This is a superb entry! Very polished and the pixel art is gorgeous. Enjoyed playing this and rated very highly. :)

brgarnet17 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00am

Excellent game! Probably my favorite so far for the jam and among the platform games. Good job!

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00am

Simply great! Loved the art style.

JLeybovich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Great Job guys, showing some Scopely love :)

Lowenfels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:41pm

This is straight up awesome. Fun-filled 10 second bursts of pixelated action.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Very nice, I liked that one from the first second on

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Awesome gameplay idea with those two guys and using one another death to your advantages. Graphics are in pair with gameplay. Very solid production. Congratz!

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nice platform puzzler! I really liked the mechanic!

madk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:38pm

I won! The looks and the sounds of it were great, and I loved the idea. That level with the three guys and lots of mines was insane, though.

Blecta says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Graphics are awesome ! Music is also cool and the concept is fun. Very good entry :-)

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:41pm

This game is quite amazing. The art is beautiful, the music fits in well, and the theme is incorporated very well. My favorite so far.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:48pm

That was great fun to play, a classic idea well executed. The graphics are amazing and the soundtrack is pretty fitting as well. I only wished there was a way to skip the intro text when you're repeating a level anyway. Other than that, flawless :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:56pm

The game is excellent and I love the art style.
Puzzles are really well-designed.
Sure one of the best games of the contest. :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Great pixel art and pretty cool mechanic too - nice job!

bigbadwofl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Very well polished!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:02pm

That was fun! Loved the dark humor of having to sacrifice some patients to get to the antidote, lol. All around, a solid entry.

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:05pm

It's okay, me. I'll sacrifice myself for me. :-D

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Excellent presentation - great pixel art and music. Game concept is clever and fun. All round pretty good.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:10pm

The game without a doubt is cool! Nurse in one of the levels - inspired and gave strength to continue the plight of the clones! One of the few very appropriate to the theme! Well done! Keep it up!

TheCze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Great job! Got stuck on the first level with 3 characters (I think I know the solution but am too clumsy). At first I thought "another game with a 10 second long level" and was really blown away when you introduced the second character.

raver says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Great game! Not so hard, not so easy - just ideal platformer.

rpmoura says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Great game!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Interesting gameplay, a bit confusing at times. The music is just awesome! Fits the fast gameplay very well. In the first levels, the dialog at the start was a bit annoying. Overall a great entry!

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Wonderful. It was difficult to get used to switching back and forth between the characters, but that was my issue. The last level had just a little bit of an annoying factor, but besides that the design was superb. Wonderful implementation of the theme. I've seen a few other "10 second life" entries, but this one was the best implemented and most interesting.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Nice game! Loved the art and gameplay

johnfn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Awesome. That art style is so tasty... I'm jealous. The game plays wonderfully and is a lot of fun. :)

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:28pm

All my fives are belong to this. :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29pm

A subpar entry... very bad...
... just kidding :P very well styled, polished, and arranged... a beautiful entry, realy... I found the concept of sacrificing a patient to save another disturbing, but otherwise it's one helluva game for 72 hours :P

Antidote says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Pretty nice game and fun to play :) Would love to see it post-jam

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Real nice pixels. Just the way I like it.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Cool game but start dialogue last too long.
Well done.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Really nice and solid entry! Really dug the pixel art and sounds. Clever use of multiple characters.

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Really like this, nice work. Only thing that bothered me is that I couldn't speed up the doctor's messages early in the game.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Very beautiful game. I really loved the graphics. Overall a very good game!!

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Nice graphics and sound.
Good game play.

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Very neat concept. Awesome sounds, music, and art!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Great artwork/music. Very solid gameplay, good job!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Brilliant entry! Polished at all levels :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Art style was great! The font feels a bit out of place though. Wish the intro text could be skipped.

lekochen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:26am

Highly polished puzzle platformer!

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:35am

This is brilliant. The theme is really well fitted in this game, and the swich player mechanics are really fun. Some levels are a bit frustrating.

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

FYI, the doctor dialogs are skippable by pressing a number! (1-9 to spawn a character) ;)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

Great platoformer! Love the artstyle and the humor of it all. Gameplay feels punchy too :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

No way to skip dialogue? I was done reading it and couldnt skip.

I loved the art and animation style and player characters

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

Yeah, this one was a LOT of fun! The only complaint I had is that you can't skip the dialogue at the start of every level, but that was just a minor inconvenience. Graphics + music great!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

that was fun!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

good job.entertaining game

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:15am

This was actually really addictive hah. I only managed to get up to the 2nd or 3rd 3 man stage but I gave up because for some reason jumping near the corner of a ledge kind of didn't work sometimes? maybe I was falling off of the edge slightly or something : (. Fun Though!

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

The graphics are great, the music is cool, a fun game :)

DarXnake says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Thanks for the comments guys !

Please, read the description, you can actually skip the doctor's dialogs by pressing a number key, spawning a character with the number you choosed ;)

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Great concept, lovely art style and graphics, smooth controls. I did feel sorry for my little dudes! This is a very polished piece of work and I really enjoyed playing it.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Really love this one, the only problem i had was that sometimes the game just completely stopped for a second or two. Otherwise, one of the best games out here :)

cwkx says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

This was really awesome, ticks all the boxes - great art, gameplay, and nails the theme :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Great idea, art, and THAT MUSIC. Really love the soundtrack.

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

This is wonderful :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Wow really good work !

Per says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very professional!
This should get you to the top lists for sure :)

stenol says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Great game, one of the best. Great music !

yagiz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Amazing art direction and fun gameplay!

Volute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Very cool !

kbm0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Very very cool art style! I liked it a lot! :) Good job!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

It was pretty and polished but there is really nothing that makes it stand out.

Beavl says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Some levels were really well thought. Congrats!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

Really, really cool. Got tired of waiting for the text to pass though.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:02am

Loved the art/animation. But switching characters with the number keys wasn't very intuitive when time is a factor. Also the dialogue should have been skippable just by moving.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:25am

I'm sold. The art, the sounds and the humor in this very polished. I absolutely loved how the doctor yells "Next!" like its so trivial XD
Great job on this! :)

PeaCe says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:00am

Wow, one of the best games submitted here!

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

Love the graphics and music. The controls were solid and the multiple people with different lifespans of 10 seconds was a fantastic use of the theme! Super challenging game! The beeping of the mines seems a bit too loud and does get annoying since there are so many of them beeping at different times. Fantastic job though!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Loved the enviroments and the chiptune music! The movement felt solid enough, but the animation of the player sprites seemed to glitch every now and then. But overall a great entry :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Nice entry! Very nice graphics and solid controls. I found the levels with mines to be a little too punishing though compared to the rest of the game. Good work overall though!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Nice pixel art. :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Simple but really fun and humoristic concept. I love the megeman-like music.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:57am

I love this game :)
the art is amazing :D

-ENDESGA

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:32am

The art is incredible. Loved the music and the dialogues. Great mechanics too. Perfect!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:00am

Nice art, fun game. Wish you could press a key to go past the dialog faster.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:31am

Wow, a beautiful game with a brilliant concept. Top notch entry, well done!

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:46am

Pretty nice game! Congratulations! :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Made it to the 3 character level. loved the music, graphics were really well done. extra points for innovation cause you used multiple characters. must have been hard for a jam.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Interesting game, very frustrating though

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Fun, sounds and looks nice, nothing else to ask :)

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Great game! :) A really fun idea and really nice graphics and everything else. Good controls too. Well done! :)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:48am

Really great game, great graphics, awesome!! I featured it in my Ludum Dare compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6xfnRK2Anw

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Very nice graphics and presentation!

Nice job!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Lovely pixel art and controls felt solid. :)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Probably one of the best uses of the theme I've seen so far! The music is awesome!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:25pm

"You are going to die in 10 seconds the remedy is in the other room... NEXT!" - I guess this doctor isn't going to have any patients anymore very soon...
Just gorgeous pixel-art really love it, and a very solid platformer.

jprogman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:28am

My only gripe is the character explaining things. That is until I realized I can press a number key to skip.
Very good work with the game!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Awesome game! I really like the mechanic of multiple characters, and set the time limit to 10 seconds each add something that make you hurry to solve puzzles.. Very well done, five stars deserved.

Sascha says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:10am

Amazing entry! Concept, gameplay, graphics (loved the little details), and music are all extremeley high quality. Great work!

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:31am

This is brilliant, very tense when the difficult ramps up too. Great entry.

smrt_co says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Very fun and addictive.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]