August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Legend of Troll

by Christina Antoinette Neofotistou - Jam Entry

Everyone knows trolls turn to stone within 10 seconds of getting exposed to sunlight.

So this is their story.

Made with Construct 2
Art, animation and music by Christina A. Neofotistou


Hint: the goal is to get the queen to the finish line
____

I planned 10 levels of troll puzzle fun. I managed one and a half, so I present it to you. I worked 3 days on my own, and I'm not even a programmer. There's so much content that didn't get into the game, but I'm SUPER happy. I love LD so much, I want to have one next week as well!

Please keep an eye out for the post compo version. It will be amazing!

Don't forget to vote.

___

Controls:
Ctrl+Arrow keys = select your troll
Arrow keys = move and jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Graphics(Jam)4.56
#69Audio(Jam)3.60
#84Humor(Jam)3.38
#86Mood(Jam)3.55
#114Innovation(Jam)3.42
#138Theme(Jam)3.44
#158Overall(Jam)3.41
#244Fun(Jam)3.04

Comments

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

It was quite confusing at first, but it has great visuals and animation. Nice!

nhmllr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16am

This is pretty good. I'm really liking the concept. My problem was that although I knew what the objective was, I had no idea what I was doing. For example, it said use cursor to movement, but I used the arrow keys instead. Same with the sun part. However, if these bumps were smoothed out, this would've been a really fun game! If you made more levels I would look forward to it. :)

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

I love the art. It's good stuff. Controls were wonky but I figured it out!

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37am

Amazing visuals, and a pretty cool concept.
It captured the theme very well. 4/5

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40am

This is so well polished, loved the graphics and character animation. Great accomplishment for a 48 hours game.

Verrazano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43am

It took me a while to understand how I was supposed to solve the puzzle. I thought I was supposed to cross the finish line with the trolls at first to continue. And then I was like... oh I have to make them kill them selves for her majesty!!! mawaha. Then I thought the mechanic was really cool. The art and music is really great, I can't wait for a post compo version.

Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44am

Super cute graphics and music! I'll be keeping an eye out for the full version later.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45am

Genuinely amazing graphics on this one, looks really lush and polished. Quite an interesting concept too. The controls were a little fiddly, but it didn't take too long to get my bearings. Definitely a creative use of the theme and a quality game all round.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

Gorgeous art and great concept! Too bad it was over as soon as I realized how to play.
I first noticed your post during the 48 hours and was pretty excited to see how it would turn out.
There is certainly a lot of potential for a full feature puzzle game!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11pm

This game is gorgeous--great job.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Sweet graphics and nice music. The gameplay reminded me a little of Lost Vikings.
Even though it was short the one puzzle was pretty clever, and not immediatley obvious. And you even managed to create a couple of cutscenes, awesome!
Those poor trolls though... :P

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I am not a fan of watching cutscenes before I am bound to the game but other than that - brilliant!

Steve says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Graphics are great! Looks like a Gameboy Advance game, which is excellent. Sounds like one, too.

I didn't understand what to do though, until I read a comment below that explains it.

Also, maybe one of the trolls should be automatically selected at the start of the game, so you can start moving immediately.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Looks and sounds good! Waiting for more levels! All hail the queen!

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Cute liquid trolls! ) Also graphics, gameplay, audio.
Yeah, I enjoyed it all

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Wow. First of all, the stage music and visuals go so well together. The design of the characters, the colors, and the layering/shading in the stage are all very well done. I ran into a few bugs and it needs some tweaking, but what you were able to create here is a great starting point for something that could be incredibly satisfying. Please keep working on this!

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Also... I had an idea while playing. The troll selection mechanic should be based on both positioning and order. It would be nice to be able to just tap ctrl to cycle through, or hold ctrl and press a direction to select the troll to the right or left of the current troll. The way it is now, it's not easy to determine which troll you will select. -SB

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Looks amazing, nice use of theme in the puzzle, shame you didn't have time for more levels D

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Wow, the pixel art in this game is perfect! Really good! Unique character design. The gameplay is pretty unique as well.

I'm definitely keeping an eye out for the post-compo version!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Like others have said, great art style, and extremely polished. Fun game, but some more instructions would definitely have been appreciated. Has potential to be a cool iphone/android. Well done.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:21am

Looks good, but was pretty short. Nice job!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:58am

Awesome pixel arts and the background scrolling looks quite good. The animation is smooth and epic too! I love your idea and puzzle, it surely has some potential. Nicely done! BTW your gameplay is somewhat similar to ours, in good way :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:58am

Nice pixelart :-)

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:46am

Very, very nice looking game :) The troll design is excellent, and the environments are very nice to look at. Gameplaywise it took me a while to figure out that the objective was to get the Queen to the finish line, and that the countdown kept going even after they left the sunlight. That aside, the game felt really professional and polished, albeit a bit short ;)

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Can't really judge a game based on one and a half level but what I saw, I liked :)

Graphics / Audio were great! Could do with a little more things to do but given you're not a programmer, maybe you had some ideas you couldn't implement - would like to see more :)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Great artwork, nice music. Good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Took me a moment to realize that by "cursor keys" you meaned arrow keys. After that it went pretty well.

Really nice idea in this game, and awesome pixel art! Nice work. I really like the concept. Unique!

Sinuath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Wasn't sure what i was doing at first but it's a great little game and the graphics are amazing!

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Very good idea even if it took me a few minutes to figure out what to do :) The thing that kept me away from the solution is the fact the trolls you control can leave the screen on the right side. I really thought that there was something to do there...

Good job, hope for more levels now!

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Wow, that pixel art is fantastic! I love the concept and hope you go on to make those other eight-and-a-half levels.

Beavl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01pm

A bit confusing at first, but interesting overall. Art is really nice (so as the dialogue!). Congrats!

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05pm

It took me a while to realize what the mechanic was (I should read the description...), but it was quite an enjoyable little puzzle. I would've loved to have played more of this :)

spliter says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Very neat game, the idea for trolls turning into bricks is a very interesting one and I;d love to see more done with it. Also the art and animation are gorgeous and the music is sweet on the ears.

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Great graphics and nice idea!

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Great job!
- lovely art... nice animations (especially the turn-to-stone one) and gorgeous environment
- very nice music (one bug i saw was that going back to the main menu caused the game to be silent when re-entering the level)
- a pretty satisfying little puzzle, figureoutable without a tutorial
- some good humor, especially the rocks talking
Not sure why the queen didn't turn to stone also, though :P

cafeine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:36am

Your game is really an amazing achievement! I really hope you keep working on it, I'll keep an eye out for it.

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:43am

This is really beautiful! I love the troll's walkcycle (feels very much like a troll). That's odd... I can't seem to rate any higher than a 5 ;)

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:11am

Some of the best art I've seen so far and a really solid basis for gameplay, I really wish you had been able to get the rest of the game together. Hopefully you keep developing this.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:07am

cool game -- nice concept -- good job

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:32am

The graphics are amazing!

I have to say I'm jealous of your title screen. I always run out of time to make a nice one, and yours is wonderful.

Keep up the good work!

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

That has great graphics and original concept. Though, I was lost at first about what I have to do. And also much later in one of the plays the queen managed to jump higher without our help.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

Once I worked out what I should do, it was a lot of fun! If the sunlight effect was demonstrated in the opening cutscene, and if you prevented the worker trolls from crossing the finish line, it would be a lot more intuitive.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

Show's a lot of promise. The art is really gorgeous. The short bit of content you managed is pretty funny too. All hail the queen!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

The concept is excellent, the use of the 10 seconds is great, I really like the simplicity/efficiency of the controls, and music and art are astonishing.

You really should make it a bigger game. All hail the queen!

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

All hail the queen!
Awesome entry, i enjoyed this one so much.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

Initially I was confused, but as soon as the first troll turned to stone it all clicked! The artwork and animation is great, as is the music. It's a really good way to use the theme. I hope we get to see more levels one day!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:20am

Great little game, love the graphics! I wish you'd continue making more levels for it post-LD! :)

Capro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

Vey good but too short. Keep working on it, add more levels! :)

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:34am

great graphics, and was that some danish i read there? "ja, en stige".

promising gameplay, i look forward to the 10 levels version.

team_cow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

Great intro music!

Zccc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

I can't wait to see a complete version of this! Also, I got a bug the first time I played and the queen just jumped over the ledge xD So I was a bit confused on what happened.

Syawra says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:24am

Excellent graphics and audio ! I wish there was more levels, a complete version might be awesome !

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

All hail the queen.
In the description you wrote about one and a half levels... where is my half level?! :D

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

I love the visuals. The music's beautiful too. Had fun as long as it lasted-could've used more levels, but I guess with time limits and all it was too difficult to design 'em. Considering it was all done by one person, I'd say pretty impressive.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:47am

Wow thanks everyone for the comments and suggestions

@nhmllr
thank you! Fixed the control descriptions, should be ok now

@Verrazano

Thank you, I blocked the trolls from going over the finishing line, and it is much clearer now!

@jay griffin
You're the sweetest, thank you!

@theholychicken
Thank you, I'll try not to disappoint!


@bytegroveYes, definitely Lost Vikings, with a dose of Lemmings and Doublefine's The Cave. I was going for lemmings/adventures of Lomax with the mood, but hopefully in an original way
@rezoner

thank you! If you press "ctrl" you can skip the cutscene

@Steve
Very good suggestion! I thought I'd make people learn the selection system first, but you're right, it's confusing
@Moosefly says ...

All hail the queen!
@wine says ...
Thank you!

@DreamTeam says ...
Thank you, I will.
And yes you're absolutely right about the troll selection, thank you! I will work that into the finished game

@Tifu
give it time <3 Thank you

@zatyka
Agreed, and will do! Thank you

@dancingflame
Awesome pixel arts and the background scrolling looks quite good. The animation is smooth and epic too! I love your idea and puzzle, it surely has some potential. Nicely done! BTW your gameplay is somewhat similar to ours, in good way :)
@rincewind_cz
Nice pixelart :-)
@Typedeaf
I made the finish line uncrossable by worker trolls, this should make it easier. Thank you so much for playtesting it
@Vasileiadis
Ευχαριστώ. We'll see!

@AdventureIslands
I changed the control descriptions! Thank you and I apologize for the confusion

@deepnight
I made the finish line uncrossable by worker trolls, this should make it easier. Thank you for the tip!

@spliter
Thank you! I didn't want the trolls to turn into boring old stone statues, as in the actual myths :)

@rylgh
You're so right to point this out. The queen, if I had time to make the sprite, was going to be under a huge tent, designed to keep her safe, while the other trolls bust their asses for her.
@cafeine
Thank you! Please do!
@Sakuyan
Wow, that's so sweet of you, thanks!
@Atmospherium
I will! Thank you!

@savethejets1
Aww, thank you! You know, it helped that the graphics are old-school. That way the title screen was just a copy/paste of game graphics.
@Optimus6128
You're right about that, thanks for the bug report. It's a problem with Construct 2, but now that I know about it, I will make the jump impossible unless there's a stone where it should be.
@GrooveMan
I took your advice, and made the finish line impassable to worker trolls. It makes a world of difference, thank you!
@KhaoTom
All hail the queen!

@Colapsydo
All hail the queen!

@bitserum
All hail the queen!

@UnorthodoxGames
Thank you, I promise you will. All hail the queen

@Linus Lindberg

I will! Thank you!

@Capro

You're right. And I will, thank you!

@withoutpillow

Yes it was! Well, they're Trolls, so they're Scandinavian. But I want only the queen to insist on talking in the Old Tongue, to make her more snobbish

@Zccc
Noted, thank you so much! It's a Construct 2 bug, but I will fix it by making the jump impossible until you've placed a step in the right place.

@klianc09
All hail the queen. Thank you! I... decided to leave it out, and show it to you along with the other 8.5

@Diptoman
Thank you! Well... I lost a lot of time designing 10 levels, because I thought I could finish them. If I had designed just 5 puzzles, I might have managed to get it in. Live and learn!!

soybean says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Wow, love the graphics and polish! Nice to also see this is made with Construct2 :). May I ask what did you use for the graphics?

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

This is really amazing, some of the best pixel art I've ever seen (inside AND outside this compo) it really is beautiful! The music too :O so relaxing and tranquil.
I can definitely sympathise with only having time to make 1 level, and I also can't wait to play more :D

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

beautiful art.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

@soybean thank you! Photoshop CS5. I'll make a making-of soon

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

@FunbyJohn thank you, that's quite the compliment!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Very polished indeed, great job on the visuals, audio and overall mood!

Waynetron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Control + Arrows on my Macbook is used for other shortcuts. Perhaps 1,2,3,4 to select as an alternative could be nice.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

@Waynetron I had no idea, thanks for the heads up! I will implement a better way in the post-compo version, thank you and apologies

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Oh wow, very well polished, beautiful art, interesting use of the theme...it's great! Also, thank you for having rated our game!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Moar levels now! :D

Jason says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Great style and graphics and a smart puzzle, too bad it was so short :)

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Great looking graphics, fun concept. Would love to see a full game (with controller support)!

deammer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Man this is great, i want more levels! Keep it going :)

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Great job, amazing graphics, I WANT MORE ! :D

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Cool concept and nice artwork. Memorable!

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Oh, just one level? I excepted more levels once I get how to play!
Anyway that's still a good game, I like the lemmings-like mecanism.
I think that "10 second and transform in plateform" mecanism could have been super awesome in a "10s rush" plateformer (you have to fastly go back to the right place and build your plateform path for the Queen). A lot of LD27 games took that plateformer-rush mecanism but I can imagine your mecanism on top of that could be super powerful.

Zammy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Really nice game! Great graphics, cool sound and atmosphere! Amazing work! Definitely waiting for more levels and post-jam version!
One suggestion:
- add more queens! :) and the trolls to be confused which one to obey!
"Do this, do that... Argh! A troll needs less queens, less sunlight, less jumpin' and more food!" :)

raver says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Good job, please some new levels.

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Wow! I love your art! Did you wrote the music as well?
Is there only one level? I want the post-jam version now! =D

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Wow! Beautiful art! Really nifty idea as well - looking forward to the post-compo version. Great job!

davisan says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

Very beautiful pixel art! The game idea is very good.
More levels please!

ananasblau says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:37am

It is just amazing what you've done without being a programmer, congratulations. Keep working on the game. It is very creative and you should even think of going commercial with it. I like the small yellow sign with the sun on, maybe no one notices that it's one of those "danger wet" signs but that makes it so much better.

Tiny things you maybe didn't know you could implement: A "thump" sound when the trolls lands, being heavy creatures they do make heavy sounds. I'd even shake the screen a little when a troll lands, that gives it heaviness. And a sound when the turn, something crackling. The occasional grunt, a complaint when you run against a wall with them. It is those tiny things you want to work on now.

ctrl AND arrows is a bad choice, switches desktops on MacOSX. simply hitting one button multiple times will work better and is less confusing.
I've put the trolls correctly, I'm sure, still the queen wouldn't jump up. But programming some fuzziness here is a bit harder than you might have the skills for.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

@ananasblau: I have no problem with fuzziness. It's actually a Construct 2 limitation, you can't precisely control the jump height, at such small resolutions especially at lower framerates. But my solution is to make the queen jump higher, and then create an invisible tall obstacle so she can't clear it, unless the stone is correctly placed.

Thank you for the tips

flavio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

I loved it ! The only regret is that there is only one level !

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:24am

I can't wait for the post-compo version! The mood of this was excellent - wonderful art, animations and sound tied to a very charming premise. The characterisation of the servile trolls and their grumpy queen was spot-on and added a lot to the game's appeal.

The gameplay mechanic is very promising too, and makes good use of the theme.

Excellent work!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Great graphics, awesome idea. Can't wait for a full version.

Patriick says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I'd love to see this taken to the next level, it looks great and it works well! I love these types of games =] Keep it up!!


Kind Regards
Patrick

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Absolutely adore the graphics. The puzzle design was great, only wished there would be more! Great entry, thank you. :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Really nice graphics and animation. The mechanism is a bit complicated to understand but good after. Warning they seems still have collision problems with the queen (when she jump). Maybe you can add an emotional impact about the troll. They commit suicide for the queen, maybe you can highlight this idea of your game.

Valerien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

The visuals are neat. There is a bug that makes you win the game whatever the troll layout is if you morph the lads at the right of the screen. This confused me at first about what the gameplay was. It would have been nice to have less cuteness or polish on the graphics and a bit more content/gameplay. Good job anyway.

Kind regards,
nathan

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

... oh no!
I feel like I am a total retard... I understand nothing that is going on.... :(
I guess the game is nice, it looks and sounds good, but... yeah, I should go to sleep now and try again later! :)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Woah, that's cool! The gameplay is pretty cool, but wow, I LOVE the character and environent design. Especially the little mushrooms on the trolls' backs and the super smooth transforming sequence. The music fits the relaxed mood pretty well. It's a pity it's so short, but it makes up for it in polish :D

I can't wait to play the post-compo version with more levels. All hail the queen!

PS: You seem to have the programming part down pretty well, but since you say you're no programmer: If you ever want to team up with one for a project, shoot me a message!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:53am

The music and art are GORGEOUS!! I totally agree with Steve, the graphics look like something straight out of a Gameboy Advance game. Can't wait for the post compo version to play some more troll goodness! :)

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I love how charming this game is! <3 From the graphics to the animation!

The premise is very good, too, creative use of the theme there!

I like how the trolls still hail the queen, even after they turned to stone for her, haha!

Absolutely fantastic work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Liked the art and music. Nice start, but those controls....awful :) Please rework them? On OSX, things like ctrl+arrow change desktops, etc. Just use some key to cycle between them, vs a combo.

Misfit says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Great audio and art (cool parallax scroller background).. but we need more levels..

mollymus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Took me a while to figure out what to do(somehow I didnt see the conversation at the start, maybe I picked a troll too early?), especially after the queen somehow managed to jump the entire ledge without a ladder the first time:p But the graphics are neat and the mood is good!

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:50pm

This game is just so adorable and awesome! More levels would be great. I love the art, music, and gameplay.

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:45pm

I think the queen is a bit glitchy - when i first pressed X she appeared but then left again immediately so I didn't know what to do. It's not very intuitive, but having said that, after reading the website description and trying again I did work out what to do eventually. I like that you tried something a bit unconventional and different, and the sound and art is absolutely outstanding.

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Really pretty pixel art, and original (albeit evil) gameplay, I liked it very much.
The music is nice and fitting as well.
I think there I found a bug. When the last minion was going to die, I pressed control and arrows, and then he 'revived' and never was able to die. Also, maybe start with someone already selected would be good.
The game itself it's a little short, but really well polished, I'll look forward to your post-compo version :)

BenWhi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:10am

Day-amn! Super great and original game! Breath of fresh air after 5 million platformers! Very cool!

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:20am

Great visuals and game concept. I can see this turning into a full game!

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Fantastic presentation and setup in all aspects :)
The idea is very cool, there' a lot of potential in this :)

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Great concept and art style! Love it!

BNeutral says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I love the art and game idea. A shame you couldn't get more done.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:49pm

I agree. Lots of nice graphics and real impressive game considering that it's done in 48H.

Applause!

zanval says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Really great concept! I didn't have any problems with the controls. The entire game feels very polished and I really look forward to the post compo version!

Easter Egg:
When starting the level a second time and spamming the x key, the queen will come and just jump over the obstacle :)

rxi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Unfortunately it didn't run when I first tried, so I ended up watching the walk through video since the art looked so nice from the screenshot. Revisited the page and it decides to work this time, but I'd spoiled it for myself by watching the video!

As others have already mentioned the graphics are lovely, the animations are great. The game play mechanic felt interesting and tied into the theme well and I liked the personality the dialogue gave to the little characters. It's a shame it's so short but I assume the post compo version will be extended? Overall nice work.

On a side note, I checked out your past submissions when you mentioned one of my old LD entries and was surprised to see it was you who made Kumiho for LD#23 -- I hadn't taken part in Ludum Dare at that point but I had tried that entry a few months ago when looking at random old entries and absolutely loved the graphical style for it.

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Oh lovely sprites, backgrounds and menu design! Music goes well too. I wish there were more levels. The other issues I see were mentioned already. Good job!

01rafael says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Cool))

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:55am

This is brilliant!.. as an idea, execution, graphics and music. Can't wait to try more levels :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Wow, amazing graphics and animations! :)
It's a shame it's so short!
Can't wait for the post-compo version. :)

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Awesome concept, great visuals.

cwkx says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Stunning presentation within such a short time-scale; i'm looking forward to seeing your next LD's ^^

Carduus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I have to say it's great, even if you struggle with time limit for the compo, graphix art choices are very smart. The concept is very cool and fits perfectly with the theme.
I can't wait for extra levels !

Cosr says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:06am

Lovely pixel arts and an intriguing mechanic. I'd love to see where you go with this next.

Aside from more content, it could use a bit more polish in a few areas. If you go back to the menu after the initial cutscene and restart the level, the ingame music does not start again. Also the queen's movement is rather wonky. I played a couple times, and my second time doing the correct solution she failed to step from the first rock up onto the ledge, turned around, said her 'unacceptable' spiel and left (and I of course had no trolls left).

Also, as good as the arts are, it would be nice if there was a bit more connection between the visuals and the mechanics. What I mean is, the ground in the centre of the level is the brightest, so appears best lit and thus the area that's exposed to sunlight visually, but it's the edge of the play area that counts as being in sunlight for the mechanics, which appears shadowy compared to the centre in contradiction to the (albeit excellent) sunlight warning sign. Just a little something that could make the game more cohesive.

jerombd says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Great art (like always with your entries)!

Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Lovely graphics and atmophere! music fits nicely. The "game" is a bit hard to figure out though :(

X-0r says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:29pm

All hail the queen! ^^
I can see this as a prototype of a great puzzle.

Great sprites, decent music, what more does a game need?
Btw: would you mind telling me the instrument/VST you used to create your sound?

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Mega awesome! a wee bit of polish here and there, and this will be awesometastic!!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:54pm

What a great idea, but also what a pity it has only one? level... The Graphics is fantastic, the introduction is great, the music is soo cool. Well done. I hope you work further on this game to provide more content for the really good idea!

Lars Faust says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Just read your Post Mortem.

This is amazingly well done. The graphics and especially the "turn into stone"-animation is absolutely gorgeous.

I will NOT criticize the fact there is only one level, because i myself struggled enormously with the time limit (even though your game is a JAM-entry), and the fact that you got this one level bugfree, greatly polished and beautifully done qualifies it for a fantastic Ludum Dare Entry.

You can expect a very good rating from me.

Keith Evans says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Really liked this one. A little confusing control wise but once I figured it all out it was fine. This felt like a great start to a bigger project. I would love to play more.

Static 64 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:59pm

The game wouldn't load past the title screen for me.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

@Static 64 what are your system specs? Did you run on Firefox or Chrome? Explorer doesn't support HTML5

@X-0r I used Korg Legacy M1, a great VST

Thank you everyone

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]