Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pleading Rain

by Brassawiking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

///Winners of the review contest///
SSS: Loyalty
SS: Colapsydo
S: Danex317
A: bassarisse
B: NikB
C: Sestren
D: Literal Games
E: drkrunk
F: Erhune
//////

An intense game of life and death in rainy night. Will you keep your head cold and figure out how to get out alive?

###FEATURES###
-- 9(!) different endings, can you get them all?
-- Lush graphics
-- A complete game
-- Well rounded and polished
-- Moody and rich dialogs
-- Short to play, great replay value
-- Only HTML, JS and CSS3 are used
######

****Instructions****
Think and use your memories to gain insights. Find enough key details in your thoughts and you will get a new topic. The key details will be different depending on the situation.

You can also try to stall the dialog to earn yourself more time to think.

I've also put up a bara minimum walkthrough so that you atleast can get out alive.
********

I really have high hopes for this one. My last entry had great story, but lacked the pacing. This time it is much more intense and action packed. I hope you like it =) See if you get all the different endings!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#41Mood3.80
#98Overall3.66
#109Innovation3.73
#145Theme3.67
#187Graphics3.58
#373Fun3.14
#660Audio2.35
#795Humor1.85

Comments

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08am

Wow, gameplay and art are really good :D
Way different than most of the game in this ludum dare ^^

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15am

This was a confusing experience.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

It's a bit overwhelming I guess at first. I had plans of making you unlock new thoughts, so that there are not to much in the beginning. But I had do drop that feature in favor of time.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32am

Really well done! I have trouble to get very far though as 10 seconds is very little time to think what to do next, and failing sends you to the beginning. Any tips, guide?

But nice and different game! Good job.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41am

Buy yourself more time by stalling the conversation (Another 10 seconds to think). But be careful, some responses barely stalls your pending death.

I will post a walkthrough later on, but for now I want to see how far people manage to get.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38am

Very original and a bit strange. I'll keep playing to discover all the ends (or until you release the walkthrough)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51am

I had a similar idea at first, but thought it wouldn't be doable in 48h. Glad you proved me wrong. I really love the idea of thinking to find more conversation subjects, but being very slow, I would have enjoyed it more without the time limit (but of course...it wouldn't be in the theme anymore). Nice art too.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

Cool concept, the gameplay's a little heavy on trial-and-error for my tastes but it works well given the theme. Quite an achievement for 48 hours' work.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

... Interesting. Not sure what does what really, but I suppose that is how life goes =)

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Awsome game, very good art, its like a text adventure gam only better.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08pm

I think the dialogue trees are a bit broken? I started clicking around and suddenly I was winning.

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

This game's art is good and its mechanics are quite fun. I couldn't figure out that you had to click on thoughts, though, and went into the code with the full intention of finding some hidden line of dialogue to progress me past "Please Lou/Don't kill me Lou" when I saw the word "insight" and thought of clicking on the thoughts. Once I figured that out, it got a lot more interesting, although I couldn't seem to get any endings except F-rated ones. It was exciting, though!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

@kirbtytails7;
What ending showed up? Nothing in the code looks off atleast for initial part of the game.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

@:Pitzik
Yeah, I should perhaps add some more instructions on how the game works. Just wanted to see first how intuitive it was.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19pm

This is a great idea, exploring your mind to find stuff :)

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30pm

What a great game, one of the best i played on LD27, it is hard do advance on the game but it is intriguing so i am gona finish with all ends.

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

great game! Only one bug though: The yellow talk does not show before you think, but it is possible to cheat and press it even do it is invisible and you should'nt be able to press it!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Really good art!! I love it!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

@Zelun
Thanks a lot for that! Made a mistake in the styling, but it should be fixed now!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54am

Very interesting experience. First off, the aesthetic here is really unique. It's like playing a scene in a painting. Also, clever html and css work there ;) Playing experience-wise, it took me a handful of rounds before realizing that clicking around the images unlocked more responses. But at that point, I had empathized with the poor guy so much that I couldn't put him through another inevitable death..

lalanl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24am

I really like the art and the concept! And it's a good fit for the theme.

I have an idea of what I'm supposed to do, but the connections between the elements are not revealing themselves to me. But it's a fun enough idea that I'm still trying

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27am

So I've put up a partial walktrough now, so you can atleast live to see another day =)

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17am

lol http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EtPDm2kaj1c

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Hm, I'm probably to hectic. Guy always shot me. Hope I 'll never be in such a situation :D. Great concept!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Holly hell! Ultra innovate idea as for this LD! Awesome job, the concept is ground breaking and the art tickles my retinas ;)

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Very interesting idea, love the art style. I cannot think as fast as the game want's me too :D so that's a proper level design there.

Yell0w says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:52pm

For people with adhd this game might be a bit hard, im torn between crushing my computer screen or hitting f5 ;D

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:24pm

------------------------------------
Starting line for the review contest
------------------------------------

Erhune says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:49pm

End F here :)

Very nice concept, the 10s feel reeeally short! I think I'm gonna play some more to see other endings...

NikB says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Rank B :D

http://hkar.ru/jg8B

Erhune says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Got the B too... wonder what the other could be (stats to feel like some Tarentino movie :p)

Loyalty says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Great idea and after some tries I got:
Ending rank: SSS
Nerves of steel and a mind sharper than Sherlock. The reputation of you, will now open new doors you didn't believe existed. How far will you rise in the underworld? Only time will tell, but for now, riches and rewards awaits...

Danex317 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Rank S: Something was wrong since the beginning of this mess, and now atleast this mess has ended once and for all. You will never take a breath of air for granted ever again.

XXMarekXX says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Got the G :D This is really interesting game :P

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Great design. I think this unusual design could require more time for development. Great work anyway.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I got D - I killed my brother! D:

XXMarekXX says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Got D too... Love is love, but some love is more than other love. Better marry her right away, since death has already made your brother apart...

zzForrest says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Really neat game! It tells a lot without saying many words, and really makes you care. It is a little too hard to not die, though, because thinking takes too long. Maybe cut down on the number of things he can think about?

tamat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:33pm

very good idea, just with some ambient audio it would had been great

klianc09 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Dammit, I can only get B, F, S and SS.... But I really like the game, though you can get really lost sometimes and don't find any further key details. And after replaying it several times, it seems like the primary dialogue choices don't matter at all.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:36pm

E rank.
"You sacrificed your girlfriend Stacy for your brother. Well, blood is thicker than water is what they use to say..."

I like the humor in the game.
Good job.

Sestren says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Ending Rank C here. Cool concept, very tense.

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:53pm

I got Rank E! :D do I get a review? http://puu.sh/4fzEV.png

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I liked it a lot. It was really intense :) Ranked D :)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:09pm

The primary dialogs only matters in the beginning when you are stalling for more time. After that they will mostly say the same thing.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:19pm

So hard hahaha Ranked A! http://i.imgur.com/VQ4TnLZ.png

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I'm going crazy, I'm getting S or SSS
Nice game and contest btw.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:36pm

So logically, SS should be somewhere right in between those endings ;)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Finally got it: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/49521293/PledgingRain_SS.png

I enjoyed looking for it, dialogues are nicely written and the whole game idea is really fun.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:05pm

WOW. THAT. WAS. AWESOME. That was the best entry I've seen in LD to date, good job man!!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Nice gameplay. It's a little bit hard and unpleasant to try every time you die. I need to have memories from something a never experienced, which results in too much trial and error. But I liked the feeling of being pressed with a gun pointed to my head.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Just got SSS. Great game, really enjoyed that.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Partial walk-through is pretty essential, you should show that before players start. Before that I just kept on getting no scores or Fs, having no idea what to do with the thought pictures. With the walkthrough on how you had to join more than one thought I was able to have enough time to get a B grade. Getting round the non intuitive idea, its a very cool concept with a gruelling pace set high enough the real game is trying to keep calm and focus.

Makio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Nice html5 game, I love how I enter inside the story !

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:17pm

This is a really cool idea and awesome writing. It was frustratingly hard and I only got ending F by myself (and ending D/E/B/S/SSS with the walkthrough), but I still enjoyed it. Searching for clues while keeping an eye on the timer, going back fast to the talk menu, picking a tolerable option and click back fast to search for more clues - intense! The graphic style is awesome too and really fits the mood.

I'm missing music! If you don't have the time to do something yourself, a generator like http://abundant-music.com might help you out next time.

May I offer you some suggestions what would've made the game more enjoyable for me?
- More time. 10 seconds is far too short for me to really think about things. Right now I was mostly clicking on random things until I found out enough to figure things out.
- A way to display the pictures while I talk. More time to think, more time to think - it's hard enough as it is.
- White on grey? http://puu.sh/4fLfR/29714c2800.jpg In a game where I have to read fast? Really? In general: The fonts could've been a bit more readable. Italic was made for accentuation, not for whole passages.
- Bigger clue boxes. This is going on so fast, it's not like I have time to point exactly.

Also I didn't know that you can click on the pictures at all in the beginning - I thought they were just to look at and deduce which dialogue options to take. Then I found the money bag. Sweet! I used that option - and tried to find more afterwards. I found one of money bag in the station and looked for a new dialogue option. Didn't come - and I didn't know that sometimes dialogue options can be made out of different clues, I thought the option would just come later. Didn't happen though, obviously!

Looking back, everything in the game made sense - but back then not everything did. In the end that doesn't matter though, because this was still a VERY enjoyable experience, well written, visually pleasing and it had me on the edge while I tried to think think think because I wanted to live. Great stuff!

Diptoman says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Wow, this was pretty overwhelming. Got 2 of the endings after a lot of retries. But I must say, I felt that the 10 second time limit was pretty incompatible with this type of game. But yeah, really good replay value; and the watercolour style graphics are pretty cool.

Larzan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Wow, awesome idea, very thrilling gameplay, and effing hard man, love it!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:50pm

a little overwhelming at first -- and always very hectic -- but that's part of the feeling, and it fits the theme nicely. interesting, good writing and atmosphere.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:07pm

AWESOME idea and great interpretation of the theme. Really tense moments, especially after you get into the plot of it all and things start to unwind. I managed to get SSS rank without any help. Great experience!

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:12pm

That was a really intense experience. Made you think on your feet as if you really were in that kind of situation. The dialogue was good and the story was perfectly bled out over the period of discovering the extra dialogue. Really nice job. Nice one.

blackotus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I really like the concept!

The mechanic to unlock new answers is pretty cool, and having 9 endings is an impressive feature in any game, specially a compo game!

Great work!

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:14pm

This was amazing. It took a lot of tries for me to get to S, but it was definitely worth it. The feeling of dread is really masterfully done.

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Great use of the theme, really intense! My best score is SSS, but I can't find the sequence find the good ending. Really exist a good end?
When I discovered that you need to talk to reset the time I was impressed, very smart!
Only two cons: the need to press F5 to replay it and, I missed a subtle music to add more tense.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very interesting concept, but really hard. I liked the switching between thinking and talking mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]