August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital Brothers

by ezolotko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a commander of space biology exploration expedition, sent to a distant planetary system. The subject of your research is highly unusual - a life form like no other known in the galaxy - the rocketoids.

This game was made using MonoGame, Visual Studio, Paint.NET, Bfxr, and GarageBand.

EDIT: uploaded a post-compo bugfix build which resolves speed and resolution issues, and fixes other bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#594Audio2.47
#726Graphics2.60
#730Humor1.97
#745Mood2.49
#752Fun2.69
#895Innovation2.49
#929Overall2.65
#1146Theme1.98

Comments

Radnen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

The scrolling gets nauseating, lol. Collecting the enemy is an interesting concept nevertheless.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37am

Nauseating - yeah, reminds me of getting home really drunk. Everything orbits around :D

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Interesting feel, how did you achieve the scrolling effect?

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Nice game, I like the idea of grabbing things and destroying others.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:00pm

@Kwrky - the idea was to have an "orbiting" feel, so I use polar coordinate system and then translate it to cartesian viewport.

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15pm

A little bit to fast I think,
or Im just bad :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

I like the little green aliens. Its funny to see them drifting along seemingly unaware of the hazards. Its quite fast paced maybe try and slow it down a bit.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Hi guys, I suspect that game pace depends on screen resolution somehow (lower = faster), so I will try to fix that sometime

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Even if the game says it's uses a lot of 10s I don't really see any of it in the game. The game feels also kinda stale.
Cool scrolling effect though.

leparlon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Fun game, liked the audio .
There is a bug, you can lose 2 hearths at once if you hit another enemy while dying.

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Another nice shooter :)

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

The story on the intro screen sounds interesting. But the game did not fullfill what I imagined

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Awesome game, a little bit too fast for me, but still really like it! :)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19pm

LOVE THEM ORB BROS

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Cool stuff, quite well balanced as well I think. I quite liked the scroll effect, gave a unique feel to it.

The randomness of when the species appeared was a turn-off though, since it made it more luck based.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52pm

@ZeppelinCaptain Thanks for the warm words!

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Interesting idea using the tractor beam to pull the aliens closer, but perhaps the instructions should be a little clearer, as there is no description of things shooting at you and that they are in fact not the things you are trying to collect.

I might not have understood what was going on, but the ship seems to spin around very slowly so ends up pointing more to the left rather than towards the enemies.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

@johnl this is because the ship is orbiting!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Interesting idea to fly and shoot while trying to capture creatures, the game's pretty rough around the edges though. It wasn't clear in game that you need to capture the green creatures, and sometimes when level started enemies spawned right on me hurting me.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Love the radial scrolling, although it's feeling uncanny somehow.

The 10 second theme seems shoehorned in, but it's a solid game.
Little problem, the player ship can move outside the screen (bottom).

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

good job

ezolotko says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:48pm

@Endurion actually, I left the ability to move out of the screen intentionally, I liked the idea of having more maneuver space

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:55pm

I get dizzy from the scrolling. The rest of the game seems nice.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:22am

Guys, I actually like you are getting dizzy, because on the first day of development I had a hard hangover. It means I succeeded in passing my feelings to you!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Dat scrolling effect ^_^ The enemy grabbing is really cool!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:43pm

The game is too fast, it's almost impossible to avoid the enemies coming down, and it took me some time to figure out that the green aliens were the ones i had to take with me.
Otherwise, nice game and good concept!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:45pm

I like the idea, and I really like the graphics, especially for the reocketoids. The spinning was nauseating though, so I wasn't able to play for too long before I had to stop. The theme is a bit vague though, but apart from getting nauseated, I liked your game.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Thank you guys all for the responses!

Jeremias says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

The enemies appear damn fast, making it harder to dogde their ships than their bullets ^^ If you make a post-compo version, I would focus more on the beam feature, letting the player move the alien step by step closer to him while dodging the asteroids.

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

This game was fun. :) The first round I wasn't really sure how to use the beam, but then I got the hang on it. :)

It was a bit confusing that you could leave the screen with the ship, but it was also my best avoid enemies trick as they didn't seem to kill me out there. :D

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Woah i feel dizzy :P Pretty fun, but also a bit too fast for me.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Pretty good arcade game with a tractor beam twist. I liked the how fast-paced it was, but you need to add some boundaries so your player can't go off the screen like that.

ezolotko says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Hi guys, finally found some time to make a bugfix build - made the game to be slower, display resolution independent, and fixed some other bugs.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]