Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Sketch Racer - mollymus - Jam Entry

You have one objective! Complete the levels in less than 10 seconds each to advance in this sketchbook runner!

The html5 version lags when played in firefox. For best experience use Google Chrome for the web version. For the ultimate experience, use the jar file!

Made by Dagger - http://www.dagger.se
https://twitter.com/daggergamedev

If you would like to cheat and skip a level, you can press "h". If you would like to go back and play a previous level again, press "j".

The game is powered by libGDX, the most awesome framework ever!

View mollymus's journal. | View all entries by mollymus

Ratings

Coolness100%
#32Overall(Jam)3.86
#42Fun(Jam)3.64
#47Graphics(Jam)4.29
#63Innovation(Jam)3.60
#102Audio(Jam)3.46
#110Mood(Jam)3.43
#133Theme(Jam)3.45
#289Humor(Jam)2.41

Comments

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Nice, I love how it looks :)

everblind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32am

Very nice game!, congrats :)

blopit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36am

Wow! that was very cool! Though levels just got frustrating at one point

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50am

Visual style and music were excellent! I'm really quite impressed by it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

Very keen on the visual style. I had a crash when time ran out and I was w'ing into the finish line. Good job!

5outh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

Wow, that is a really fun game! Everything about it was awesome. I like how it kind of combines a puzzle game with a racer, that's something I've never seen before.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53am

Wow. I love the design! The graphics are minimal yet well done. Great mechanics. Good job on the controls.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

Very nice idea, kinda reminds me of Proun, well executed. Kudos for graphics and music. Well done.

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58am

Very fun and really beautiful. Good use of the 10 second theme - whenever I lost the finish line was just barely out of reach. Good level design. Pretty tough.

Vico says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58am

Speechless.... outstanding!

Komradus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

Amazing graphics. Love me a tunnel racer, though it gets quite challenging in some levels.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

That was so awesome. The fun factor is high: levels were complex and hard at the end but still kept me playing. The music made it all the more glorious

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38am

Great game, reminds me of Skyroads =D

eskivor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:09am

Artistic direction and music are very pretty, but without colors feedbacks are less effective, dmg

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07am

Nice work! Great concept, music is awesome, difficulty scales nicely. Glad this isn't in the 48 hour competition, I couldn't compete with it :P

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Very nice to look at, though some splashes of colour, might have done a bit more. Nice music track too, well done.

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Great game. The level design was mind bending and very creative. Some of the levels had camera issues. Sometimes it was too hard to see upcoming obstacles until you've already crashed into them.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:07pm

one word: AMAZING! Man, I just loved it!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Amazing visuals and tight controls. Good job, very solid entry!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Really awesome music and art style, rated highly. :)

valgriz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Great game!

mochalematazi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

The graphics were very beautiful! I loved the levels, although some of them frustrated me (the ones with ramps, space, and then a barrier). It moved a little bit too slow for my pace, especially since the music was faster paced. Overall, I enjoyed it.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Beautiful look to it.

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

I love the art style and the creative level design.
Good work with the sound too!
Congratulations on a welldone game!

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Man was this a visually impressive entry. Pretty great art and visual style went into this, really great job on that. The gameplay itself was enjoyable too. It was great running through and figuring everything out while playing levels. Lets see one of my main complaints about the game, which is easily solvable is that the alarm ring when you time out is pretty jarring, didn't like that sound very much.

Oh and there was a level that I couldn't get past... Don't quite know how to explain it. It basically had a wall with four other wall pieces jutting towards the player, didn't really see a way around it. I though jumping up one of the ramp things before would hop over, but didn't seem to work.

Either way, really nice game you guys have here. Good job.

-Dylan Gallardo

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23pm

AWESOME

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Nice look, loved the "yahoo" :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29pm

A kind of proun with paper assets. It's nice game.

Antidote says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Very fun, one of the best jam entries I've played so far :) the level design is really visually pleasing and inspiring!

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Doodle doodle doodle.... Love.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:08am

Wow, all the elements put together added up to quite a unique experience! I think the combination of the level design and art style made it so. The monotone-ness of the art was just hard enough to parse that it made things interesting. Very cool.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:16am

Love the game mechanic. The graphics were nice and trippy but they could have used some colors. I also experienced some pretty bad FPS issues. But overall a solid game :)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:30am

Very nice graphics and levels were very well designed, good job!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Awesome, very polished. Graphics, gameplay and sounds fit together very well. I think there is nothing I can complain about.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:14pm

good job

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Awesome game! Great graphics and sounds!
I stuck in block at the beginning of 5th or 6th level but I can't repeat this bug. Nevermind, actually well done!

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Fun game! Visual style is absolutely awesome.

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Not just a techdemo, but enough content to stay entertaining for quite a while - which is a rarity. Well done!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:23am

Awesome visuals, very fun!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:38am

Great level design and lovely graphics!

hipgnose says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

Really great game!

I was so sad for the lack of the source code, you did a lot of things that I want to learn :/

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

Quite nice looking game and music!

Would have liked a jump sound.

and maybe a way to slow/speed up player at least a little bit for certain parts.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Great work. I love the graphics !

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

The layout of some levels was slightly confusing (to my eyes, at least) but I was just happy soaking up the visuals. Great style and concept.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:23pm

This game's amazing! So cool and innovative!

Zener says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Awesome game! I like the art style very much, great work!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Amazing 3D! Love the art style... :D

Diptoman says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Props for innovation and visual style; gameplay-wise the learning curve is very steep, which is off-putting somewhat. Loved the turning mechanics however! Great work overall!

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Absolutly awesome entry!! Impressive graphics.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:20pm

The visual style is very cool!
And terrific concept! What if you developed this as a mobile game utilizing gyros for controls? Seems like the perfect game for mobile phones!
Great work!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Absolutely beautiful!!!
It got a little sluggish after the 3rd level, but it's fun and looks amazing!! Top marks!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:57am

Awesome game. It looks and sounds great. However, it lagged a lot for me, but it might just be my computer. Also, I couldn't really see how the theme was used. It was very fun and had an interesting art style. Nice entry!

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Wow. This was awesome! Beautiful art and moody sound. I loved the combination of puzzles and racing.

01rafael says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:25am

I have a lot of bugs when driving on the coils ..But graphics is great)

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:02am

Reminds a lot of skyroads, really fun game. I did get some huge lag spikes during the 3rd level.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:10pm

real good graphics.. like this look.. doodle time!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Nice entry! It remembered a bit Proun, to me. In the third level my ship is hidden until the end, i didn't liked that.. And i woul prefer a digital countdown, instead the analogic clock..

Infin8 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Cool Entry, but the 3rd stage with all the block chunks are too hard to navigate, esp when u dont see your ship. Lagged on my web version

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Like the white&black art!
Some levels really are hard!

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Nice visual style. Fun gameplay. Congrats.

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Victoly!(ending typo :p) Cool game, very addictive liked the mechanics. However the physics could use an upgrade as I did get stuck into the wall a few times...
That final level really got to me haha.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Pretty surreal. Feels quite shoddily programmed, lags with a reasonable amount of obstacles and there's those things like the level slowly building itself every time. Some of those details add to the weirdness I guess, but it still feels dangerously "Unity factory presets" to me.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Wait what am I saying, it's not Unity. But anyway it feels quite strange to control.

kraj0t says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Awesome art style. Certainly, it keeps things simple and elegant. Good work.

mollymus says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Hi Jiggawatt! The game lags when played in firefox, and there's unfortunately not much we can do about that. Try downloading the jar or running the html5 version in chrome(as suggested in the description)!

As for the slow building of levels, that is fully intentional! We tried to visualize how the level is being sketched - and if you have sound enabled you should be able to hear that!:)

emveyh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Awesome game :D i really like the art style. Would be great if you could provide the source code

Antidote says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:43pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5OmlMLiEKU - My first impressions of the game ^^

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:22pm

You got me fooled for a second there, very nice job on the graphics!

Exergy says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Nice one! Really liked it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]