August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Out Of Time

by spliter - Jam Entry

You're a top spy on a top secret top mission of top importance.
But you've ran out of time! You only have 10 seconds left before the world is destroyed and all human civilization wiped away by the ultra-nuclear fusion reactor of Dr.Bad , what will you do?

Arrow keys to move
z to interact
Enter to apply code (numpad enter doesn't work)
ESC exits the open item


Protip: Grab a pen and paper. You'll probably want to jolt down some notes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#115Theme(Jam)3.48
#246Innovation(Jam)3.07
#277Fun(Jam)2.97
#306Humor(Jam)2.36
#378Mood(Jam)2.67
#384Graphics(Jam)2.90
#401Overall(Jam)2.87

Comments

Roffe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02am

Cannot run :(
"libgcc_s_dw2.dll is missing"

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22am

Yup same as the previous commenter sadly. Can't run your game :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13am

I got "Webpage not available" ... Sorry

spliter says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43am

Sorry you can't run the game, I'll fix it as soon as I can (probaly when I return home from work)

spliter says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:09am

Ok, the game is supposedly fixed but I can't test it on other PCs.

Gear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39pm

I'm getting the same problem as the first 2 comments

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Good game, but no sound, only one level and debug functions still were shown. Also, the game didn't even start until I downloaded this DLL and placed it in the game's main directory - http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-files.shtml?libgcc_s_dw2-1

spliter says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Thanks a lot Gear and Kacperski (Esp kacperski) I've included the missing file, and it should be running now. As for the debug functions: I didn't have time to look for how to disable the console.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09am

Your update fixed it--works on my end. Just a note for the others: the Enter key on the number pad won't work for the door keypad.

I thought it was fun. I have a poor short-term memory so I had to write down the two number sequences. The animation when you lose is actually more fun than the victory screen. Collision with walls is a bit... generous. Good job overall.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

Somewhat short, but at least it didn't overstay its welcome :P decent use of the theme, and with good handling. Good job :)

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33am

It had a happy ending! It was fun to play, but too short, nice work!!

Beanalby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33am

Love it! perfect for the theme.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34am

Great job! 10 seconds is a BIT to short, I think 15 was better. Tooks me about 20 times to even get to the keypad. Overall pretty great. Awesome graphics, great use of the theme. Could have used some sound and or music, but oh well. (I can't add sound in SDL, so.) Keep it up!

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37am

Smart game, fun little puzzles!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:41am

A good use of the theme. The game was fun aswell, I like things with this sort of style. Good job.

Siegfur says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:21am

Good, except it was too short.

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:52pm

cool puzzle! =) good job )

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:54pm

No sound, but that was pretty cute. A few of my deaths felt like it was because lining myself up with things was a bit dodgy, but otherwise p. cool.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Really cool game. Felt really good to finish it. Nice work!

awppy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Took me a few tries to figure out what I was supposed to do, but it was pretty neat! Loved the idea of reversing time to achieve something that takes more than 10 seconds in 10 seconds

rpmoura says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Simple but fun!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Very good game, I really like the use of the theme.
The game is short, but it's worth it :)

BNeutral says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

Neat use of the theme.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

Cool little game and funny outro image :) Would like bigger game out of this

Niavlys says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:26am

Thanks Mental Atrophy, I hadn't seen the entire animation, it makes a lot of sense now! It's too bad that the game is so short, I would have liked to keep playing. One addition that would have been great would be to randomly generate new passwords and codes at each playthrough, in order to add some replay value to the game.

Toadpud says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:49pm

The website isn't loading.

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:02pm

I enjoyed this one. Short, fun and good use of the theme.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:30am

Very nice gameplay but I miss some sound. Cool entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]