Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SMS Racing - hlink - Jam Entry

Please give me feedback on Steam Greenlight! http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=174330379

---

SMS Racing is a time trial arcade racer that captures the thrill of texting and driving.



More info, including a list of available versions / downloads:
http://holdenlink.com/project/sms-racing/

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w59lfV_000A

This was built on top of the stock Unity racing game demo, which can be downloaded from the Unity Asset Store.

View hlink's journal. | View all entries by hlink

Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.37
Theme(Jam)4.22
Innovation(Jam)4.44
#11Overall(Jam)4.05
#14Fun(Jam)3.89
#68Mood(Jam)3.62
#141Audio(Jam)3.30
#218Graphics(Jam)3.55
#1806Coolness17%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50am

Your game is really funny ! Innovative hilarious concept and so true, if you dont respond in 10 secs you are judged lol. Nice one !

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38am

I love it so much. What a great idea.

vids says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26am

Great idea!

In real life, when you're trying to text while driving, you don't look away from the road but bring the phone to a height where you can move your eyes between the road and the phone. Well at least that's how I do it in real life and it's great fun imo. Try having both things available at the same time so it's no more a game about just driving and messaging speed but also how the player decides to switch between the two.

deepnight says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Excellent take over the theme! :) I laughed continuously watching the gameplay video.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Enjoyed it, really fun interpretation of the theme.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Ingenius!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Wow, really nice game.

quill18 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Brilliant concept!

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37pm

That was hilarious! I found myself groaning when I had to type out more than 3 letters (something something disrespectful generation) and the landscape was fun to look at, I mean, when I didn't have to respond to a text of course. My biggest had to be the lack of reverse indicators, and I found myself going backwards more than once. But overall this was fun and hilarious, well done!

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

When I hit 'send', my message disappears from the text field and it doesn't send. I'm playing the OS X version. Am I doing something wrong?

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Crashed after a while for me, while I was driving around with no friends. Here's the crash report folder if you can make use of it: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/127476718/Etc/2013-08-26_161556.zip

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Easily the funniest game I've played so far. Well done. xD

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Absolute genius. I totally love the concept.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Wow! I was working literally on this idea with somebody several years ago. We even had the same camera angle. We were focusing more on the texting than the driving though, I think you made the better call.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10pm

This is a pretty interesting game.

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Fun idea!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Fantastic... just... fantast.. oops I crashed.

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Very funny entry! I love it!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54pm

That's a crazy and genius idea! Game crashed on me but I guess I just died while texting... :) Good job!

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50am

YES. 1000x YES. Stay in school.

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Very fun idea. Original exploitation of the theme.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Had fun, but it crashed on my computer as I (believe I) was approaching the finish line.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

The car controls are shitty, but I guess that's not what the game is about. Hilarious idea!

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Good idea

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Awesome game, and super funny.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:27am

Very funny idea, way harder than real life

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52am

Neat concept. Really kept me busy responding to text messages.

daOyster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:02am

Awesome and fun use of the theme. I can already see the news networks using this as a basis for what it's like to text and drive. But in real life I believe it's a little easier and you have a tad more situation awareness then in this. Overall, good execution of the idea, saved it to play later after the rating period is over too.

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:11am

fantastic. great take on the theme!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:42am

OOOOOOOOO DEAAAR! LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!! I .. this game is amazing. Literally. my mind is amaze right now. Excellent and political and just plain awesome. Please rate my game. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

hlink says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:49am

Thanks for all the feedback, everyone!

Added a Unity Web Player version and fixed the crash that a few people reported with the Windows version.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Great idea! Lessons learned: Do not respond message while driving. lol~

euske says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:40pm

This game should be used in a driving school.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Hilarious! Glad you're getting some press for this. At first I was like...

lekochen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:20pm

AWESOME.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Amazing idea, great execution. Id be surprised if this didnt win!

sittaman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:12am

Very creative!

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I love this game!!!
It looks and sounds great, and its really unusual!

Also, I laughed out loud when I failed to reply the first time :P

Great work!

Zuige says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Brilliant game! Found you on Nerdcubed's channel! :)

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:49am

Amazing. That's all I can say about this.

g_o says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Pretty neat game.

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:51pm

This game has taught me that having no friends feels awesome. Nice work!

lesterpig says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:09am

Did you use unity packages for graphics environment & collisions ? Nice concept.

Split82 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Idea is really nice :)

Mekuri says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:12pm

haha, very funny idea!! Personally I would've liked if the cell phone were in view of the road when typing, so you ad least had a chance to drive :P
Really great idea!!!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Fantastic! Love the racer itself, but the SMS made me smile and grimace at the same time, and that countdown is really pressurizing. The text to speech lady is also hilarious.

You probably already know this, but OfficialNerdCubed, my favourite youtuber featured your game in his video "3 Free Games Friday 40" :D so congratulations, that's been my dream.

nilo says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:37am

Since it's based on a demo, I find it hard to rate the graphics and sound, since most of it probably comes from the demo itself. However, great and fun idea! really innovative.

hlink says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:07am

@lesterpig - it was built using the Unity Racing Tutorial which you can get on the asset store. It's more of a mod than an original work, to be sure.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]