August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Squishy Panic

by domrein - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hungry Squishy Panic is the story of a hungry squishy thing trying to eat some dots. Yeah... Anyways, fling him around the screen using your finger or mouse and eat up the dots before he shrivels away! Written using html5 and coffeescript. Load it up on your phone and have some finger fun!

UPDATE: Fixed last level (one of the pieces of food was commented out)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#404Fun3.10
#702Innovation2.77
#724Overall2.90
#735Graphics2.59
#848Mood2.33
#1132Theme2.11

Comments

Orava says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

Doesn't seem to load on Firefox (20.0). Might want to mention compatibility somewhere.

vazor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22am

Nice work! Smooth and fun.

domrein says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Doh. Sorry it didn't load for you. It uses the requestAnimation API, so if it doesn't load, that's probably why. Why are you using an old version of Firefox?

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Cute little game with pool-type mechanics. Well done. Not sure about the 10 seconds theme though...

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

good game cute well done

larb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:24am

Really fun game. Wish there was more. This game is better than many mobile games I have played. It kind of reminds me of some sort of mini putt golf game or something.

The mouse controls seem backwards to me. (Or is my brain backwards?) Either way, it was easy to reverse my brain.

Some sound effects would make it cooler.

Also confused how it fits the theme.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:26am

Nice, clean and simple game. It took me some time to figure out how the controls worked, a short explanation would have helped. ;)

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Works very smooth, good game. It may be even better on tablet or a phone.

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

Simple and fun, nice clean graphics. Good work!

sims11tz says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:10pm

sweeeet, this would be fun on a phone

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Oh man, I love mini-golf games... Especially futuristic pac-man mini-golf games. I felt like it was missing a "power bar" though to get a sense of how far you were shootin'. Also, sounds. NEVER leave them out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy0aCDmgnxg ;)

rick_phillips says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I'm a friend of Domrein's (the author of this mini-game) so you might think I am forced to say something nice about it. That's not true, however. I'm a bit of a jerk.

Instead I'll write what I see as the truth. This is the start of a pretty darned addictive game. I'd really like to see it fleshed-out to its full potential. But man, what he wrote in just 48 hours is really amazing.

Well done!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Great use of the theme, very cute addicting game that gets harder fast. I love it. I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:24pm

pretty fun -- nice idea and execution -- good effort

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Cool game. I like the artwork and the take on the theme is well done. I wish there was an indicator to see the angle and the power of your fling. Also, there's some collision issues on level 6, I managed to fling my character into the top left corner and he went out of the map. Great job!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Controls were a bit difficult but overall, good game! :D

djbriandamage says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:41pm

A very cool core mechanic with striking graphics. I like the physics. It's like snake meets minigolf.

It's tough having to restart every 10 seconds. I wish something else happened every 10 seconds instead - maybe reposition the dots or add one more at a random location.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:47pm

It's a cool little game, a clever idea having only 10 seconds of movement (it took me a moment to realise that).

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:48am

Simple and fun! Great work!

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I was tapping/clicking like a stupid until I found that you should "tap/click and drag", also called "swipe". After I found that, it was a pretty funny game.

There is a little bug: sometimes the character falls off the maze :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]