August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Graveyard Shift

by Kortuga - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here we have it, after 40+ hours of work, my very first Unity game... Graveyard Shift.

Play as Clive Hedgerton, the undertaker who has locked himself into his own graveyard on the night of the apocalypse. Fend off the baddies and buy tons of upgrades as you keep from being overrun by zombies, skeletons, and demon bosses. Out of curiosity, comment below if you found the hidden past of Clive Hedgerton.

FEATURES
FPS Mechanics
3D Graphics
6 Enemy types
9 Boss Enemies
Upgrades
A Dark And Brooding Past
Gloominess

HEY! OVER HERE!

HOW TO PLAY

WASD to move
Mouse 1 to fire
Mouse 2 to melee
Space to jump
E to interact with graves
Upgrades are located on certain tombstones! Try and find them all while fending off the hordes!
Your health is in the bottom left.
Your XP is above your health.
Your ammo is in the bottom right.
When a boss appears, its health is located in the lower center.
The Kill Timer is located in the top center.
The Kill Requirement to reset the timer is located below the timer. (Value is represented as "current kills / Need this many to reset the timer")

Thanks everyone for the feedback so far, and for those of you wondering how it fits the theme, you have to kill certain amounts of enemies before the 10-second timer runs out to reset it, or else you die; the number of enemies you have to kill to reset the timer increases as you play.


Thanks a ton for playing my game. If you liked it, please rate it! A good rating makes you feel good and boosts my self-esteem! Also, take a gander at N427's game, located here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=7563

Happy Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Graphics4.12
#85Mood3.58
#289Overall3.34
#318Humor2.68
#343Audio2.92
#432Fun3.07
#946Innovation2.40
#1073Theme2.41

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Really impressed with the graphics on this one. I really like the style, like Minecraft Plus.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Very moody. Not sure how the theme plays in? Also not sure what to do when ammo runs out. Great graphics though. Mouse cursor should be hidden/locked while playing.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46am

loved your art and the idea is good, I would give more ammo at the start since you get out of it really fast

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48am

Solid game, very clever. The number of dudes escalated pretty quickly, I would have liked more time to look at the gravestones.

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50am

Can't figure out how to get upgrades.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

Hey everybody! Seems there's a bit of a problem with upgrades! HINT: They're on the tombstones! You gotta look around for them. There's only 7, though. Not all the tombstones are interactable.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

This game is very interesting. The gameplay is pretty fun, and the artstyle is pleasant to look at.

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59am

I'm very confused how this fits with the theme?

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00am

Nice graphics. It ran pretty slow on my system at times. Also, the creatures keep getting up inside my head—suddenly they've snuck up and they're inside me. That's not real fun.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00am

Solid shooter! I really like that the gun doesn't auto-fire :)

A tiny bit rough around the edges. Without the gun-clipping and with the gameplay a bit more streamlined this could be even better :)

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00am

Cool, it feel like Minecraft has finally met Doom. Glad that I stayed up a little more to play it.

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02am

This was cool! I'm not a big fan of Minecraft, but here, the Minecraft-esque look really worked. Also, killing zombies is fun, good job here! :)

12323op says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03am

Loved it!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08am

Great mood. I had trouble with the melee. Every time I used it I'd lose a 15% of my health bar or so. This is even when nobody's near me. Hrm! I'll stick with guns...

DaleP says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11am

The graphical style was well executed. Mood was well done. However, enemies sort of clipped through me when they got close enough, and the mouse was too sensitive to aim effectively (though that's something I've noticed on a lot of Unity games for some reason).

Kortuga says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22am

Thanks everyone for the feedback! I'll try and fix some of the common problems and reupload a post-compo version, so check back later if you're interested!

Kortuga says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

Additionally, has anyone uncovered Clive's dark past yet? I'm curious to find out if someone has.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27am

Those graphics are really top notch - I love the monster skins! The graveyard mood is great too.. Well done! :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52am

Pretty good! Killing undead is always fun!

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11am

The audio and graphics in this work together to create a great atmosphere.

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48am

A decent game. The monsters were a bit hard to see. I didn't like that my mouse cursor was going across the screen, instead of being locked in. I didn't know how to reload :O and that kind of screwed me over. I thought the graphics were quite good.

TheHermit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54am

Nice! I appreciate the little touches like the plot summary (though its kind of hidden in the tutorial) and the text on the gravestones.

One odd thing: I don't know why, but the mouse controls were really sensitive - I'd move the mouse a centimeter and my view would spin halfway around.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15am

I love the visuals of the game! The audio is good, as well.
The difficulty could be balanced better, though.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38am

Pretty awsome!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Loved the character design. It escalated a bit too fast for my taste. But overall a nice little fps game!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Great work!! And nice graphics :)

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

nice art style and atmosphere, controls feel okay too, and the mechanic is a proven fun one. It's a bit confusing with the ammo/power system and the theme (10 seconds) kinda feels hidden here.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Good game, got mobbed pretty quick!

Capro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Cute graphics and the game is good. You need to improve controls.

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I felt looking around was too responsive, but that may be just me, I don't play a lot of shooters. Other than that it was really nice. Nice style!

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Great art! I liked the gravestones as a store!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Really nice graphic but the game did not locked my mouse in webplayer so it was pretty hard to play.

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Very moody. Not sure how the theme plays in? Also not sure what to do when ammo runs out. Great graphics though. Mouse cursor should be hidden/locked while playing.

I agree with this.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Mouse should be catched in a game like this...
Other than that, these are some really neat graphics and the game's very moody! :)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

nice graphics and visuals, very moody!

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Interesting game! Mouse sensitivity was way too high though, and I couldnt find more ammo.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Really liked it, control are kinda weird (mouse sensitivity mainly) but really fun and really gorgeous. Nice work.

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Loved the graphical style, good job broiv!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

I like the characters and the game is fun, but I'm not sure how if fits the theme.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11am

Thanks everyone for the feedback so far, and for those of you wondering how it fits the theme, you have to kill certain amounts of enemies before the 10-second timer runs out to reset it; the number of enemies you have to kill to reset the timer increases over time.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

Nice graphics and sound effects! Neat idea, although once enemies start piling up there's little you can do to prevent dying. Still, really good!

DWallin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25am

Slightly more time before I'm swarmed by monsters and a gentler ramp up would do wonders for player engagement and setting the mood. Monsters are much scarier when they can surprise you, like when you hear a monster in a cave in minecraft but you can't see it. Too many monsters at first takes away from the eeriness of being alone in a dark abandoned cemetery.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:40am

Wow. You're a great artist! I would have liked if the ten second timer was a bit more obvious and the enemies didn't crowd you as close. I assume the backstory you spoke of was the one in the instructions? Overall, pretty good!

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

nice! love the foggy effects and overall look of it

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

The graphics were great. Your game was aesthetically incredible. It was pretty tough too. Good job.

Gus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51am

Unexpectedly moody, didn't even got to the first boss (my current pc is kinda of shitty), but really liked the experience.
The game is simple, but I noticed your effort in there, it's impressive how you managed to create something solid and in 3D at the same time in only 48 hours, good job.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:55am

Spooky but somehow also cute graphics. Fun game!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59am

Fun graphics. Idea reminds me our game) Great job.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32am

pretty cool :)
I love the graphics :D

-ENDESGA

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08am

Was very amusing, liked it a lot!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58am

Really cool graphics! I loved them.. and i felt so bad when i ran out of ammo.. Upgrades were a little hidden.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Cute art, nicely done. :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I got overwhelmed very quickly. Quite frustrating after a short time to play.
But a solid game with good graphics and sound

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44am

great mood and presentation! I love the idea of putting the upgrades in tombstones

ramoncb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

I like the game! just the mouse here was a little sensitive

sorry my bad english! xD

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Really nice graphics and mood, and great audio but I thought the upgrades were a bit difficult to figure out and ammo was a bit hard to come by (only minor issues)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Wow excellent !

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Simple and effective graphics.
I like the survival premise, and think this game can evolve beyond the LD.

Keep working on it!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:57am

I love minecraft, this game has very simular graphic - it is cool!

Codexus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:55am

Pretty nice game. I like the minecraft-style enemies they are quite cute. The difficulty was bit brutal, my games lasted about 10s.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]