August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

90 Degrees

by HD408 - Jam Entry

This is a very short non-arcade [hyper-]text game without sounds, sprites and much text so far, pretending to have some deep message in it; but I guess it doesn't. Somehow, I've ended up (a bit obsessively) making a HTML+JS engine from scratch for almost the whole time of LD, plus even the Jam time.

I'm rather weak with the JS, but I've had so much fun developing the engine that I just didn't have much actual game content to add in the end. So let's call this a nice weekend, and "90 Degrees" is the first game made for my brand new engine. Will definitely continue to work on it (the engine; the game is, really, finished).

Instruments used: ...hm... Opera 12 browser?

Note: You can get bonus time (or lose it) from certain elements. It's much of a random chance, though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#225Innovation(Jam)3.12
#238Theme(Jam)3.22
#351Mood(Jam)2.74
#478Humor(Jam)1.53
#516Overall(Jam)2.57
#519Audio(Jam)1.29
#567Fun(Jam)2.07
#599Graphics(Jam)1.71

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

Definitely a different game than most. I was trying to get a deep message out of it, but the timer doesn't let you really think about each phrase because it's fast paced.

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00am

Thanks for your comment! I've appended this to the description:

"Note: You can get bonus time. It's much of a random change, though."

TheDreik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49am

Very suddenly see text html quest for LD. It's original!

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

I like Interactive Fiction games. It's cool to see one taking advantage of more modern technology as this one does.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Lacks some sounds but a nice experience, thx you and good job !!

Kohijin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:43am

Interesting approach, but I would incorporate at least some js libaries for dom manipulation, animation and sound... that's just a recommendation, if you're eager to code everything yourself, i'll respect that :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54am

A great idea. Text-based games with a time limit is something you do not see often. I really feel there is something to be explored further here, and your game is a great proof of concept!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:58am

The jam definitely needs more interactive fiction, kudos to you!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54pm

I love this game! The messages were awesome!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56pm

This seems timeless...
love it!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Text-based game with timer? Yeah, this is something new for LD here.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Ha, I like how you say this pretends to have some deep message. Interesting idea, though and it actually does a pretty fair job of pretending. ;)

The countdown also made me read a little more frantically. That was a nice moment.

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

You actually have to pay attention and read to know what you should do which is neat, but it could use some sound effects and maybe some more animation to it.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:31pm

I enjoyed this one, but it felt like it needed SOMETHING. Not necessarily sound, but I would love to see this expanded upon.

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:37pm

I didn't expect suchlike new style game. Good atmosphere.

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Thanks, everyone, I'll definitely expand the engine, and probably make a sequel of this, with more interactive things and graphics. Didn't use sounds because can't rely on different browsers supporting different formats, and don't want to deal with them separately. Maybe next time I'll offer the user to loop the specific music file (made by me) on his/her own.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Some more interesting art and sounds would have gone a long way towards making this more atmospheric but I'm really glad I played it nonetheless. It's nicely written and plotted. The ending made me smile and has genuinely brightened my day. Thank you!

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:07pm

You're welcome.

Michcioperz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Not bad, pretty interesting experience.

Dotanukii says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Interesting idea, I didn't get much out of what it was saying but i liked the mood!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:14pm

interesting experience. the use of the timer is actually very good despite making you feel like you must hurry on with the reading, and not stop to think for a sec. and i think the random bonus time add to this, it makes you more alert of what's actually happening. good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]