August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Elvenglade

by AlexFili - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The elves of Elvenglade are at war with the dwarves of Dwarvesdale. The dwarves were too eager to cut down trees to fuel their furnaces and as such, the forest is in danger. It's up to you as commander of the elven army to stop the dwarves and show them who's boss!

Due to the limited number of dwarven banks that haven't been affected by the great drought of the Fifth Age, they can only afford to send units for a period of 10 seconds. After that the dwarves must economise for 15 seconds before continuing the attack.

Click on the empty plots to hire Elf units for 75z. You can upgrade Elf units for 125z by clicking them again which will increase their firing speed and arrow damage.

You can sell units by activating Selling Mode by clicking the green icon. Enter Purchase Mode again by clicking the red icon.

You can pause the game by pressing the pause button on the top right of the game screen. Unpause by clicking the 'unpause' icon which will appear when paused.

Try to last as long as you can. Your castle can withstand 10 hits before it is destroyed. See how long you can last!

Note: Offline copy may or may not work, as it is not intended for offline distribution, in which case I recommend the web link. Firefox/Chrome recommended.

Report bugs to @AlexFiliUK on Twitter. Thanks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#701Audio2.26
#795Fun2.65
#864Humor1.71
#906Overall2.68
#996Mood2.04
#1016Graphics2.10
#1128Theme2.14
#1162Innovation1.83
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

Nice little defense game. I would suggest changing the difficulty icons, an arrow down or a minus means less difficult to me. Construct 2, yeah!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14am

Fun, but tough :0) Well done.

mysticstv says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40am

Cool game. Seems to go on forever when you die with no death screen/restart option

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

Nice game but it started of too slowly. The beginning has to be more active. There should also be more strategy. By the way, *cyber-five* for also making a tower defense. :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21am

the offline mode doesnt work after downloading

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24am

Not bad, not bad. It would have been nice to have a bit of variation - either in direction of movement or defense.

A pretty cool little game. Nice work.

FanFan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17am

Not exactly strong use of the 10 second theme, but it's fun!

bombjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:45am

Very fun!

emveyh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Simple but fun game. I think it would work great on touch devices :)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Nice - but elfs die way too fast :( Would be great to have a functionality like Plants vs Zombies where the Zombies need some time to eat the Plants. But overall very cool :)

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16pm

kind of fun... played several times. be good to see it with upgraded graphics and further elf upgrades. good work (especially in the 48hr solo compo)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:17am

Good fun, could get pretty tough in some parts!

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:34am

I really enjoyed this refreshing entry. nice job.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:02am

I got to wave 18. Everything before that seemed pretty easy but that one just annihilated me. Decent game, could use a bit of balancing and polish but other than that pretty fun. Could have used a couple of unit types to mix it up a bit. Reminds me a lot of Plants vs Zombies. Also, Elves!? I wanted to play the Dwarves!! :P

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:19am

Gets tough fast. Needs a bit more variety but was a good defense game. The theme wasn't used in the most creative way though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]