August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mocap Guy

by lekochen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a Mocap Guy. The director asks you to do a 10 seconds furious kung-fu moves. Challenge accepted!

Tool: HaxeFlixel (first time use)
Art: GraphicsGale
Sound: Autotracker, Bfxr

* This game is finishable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#217Humor2.97
#309Fun3.25
#459Audio2.72
#474Innovation3.07
#529Overall3.08
#641Mood2.62
#700Theme3.00
#900Graphics2.30

Comments

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Quite fun! It bothered me that the after 10 seconds the game just stopped instead of the nodes seizing. However it was quite fun and difficult!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

It's funny, but a bit simple...

bnhw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Really liked the poses of the Mocap Guy. I enjoyed the music, but I kept wishing there were audio cues for the timing of the punches and kicks.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

hahahahaha fun!

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Awesome game, I'll agree that it might be more fluid if the notes stopped shooting after 10 seconds and audio cues would be rad. Also, I feel like a scoring system like other rhythm games would be better than one miss and you have to redo everything. All in all though I think this is a great idea and awesome entry, well done!

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41am

Simple but funny.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

This had me cracking up. I thought it was fun, too. I really struggled on the later levels. Good artstyle and music. Crazy bass.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42am

haha.. enjoyed it! i kept playing and playing.. just slammin' those keys performing all sorts of moves.. "i know kungfu" - keanies

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Haha this is cool! It hurt my brain to play but it was fun!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12pm

KIAAA!! Cool, cool, cool. Really original take on the theme yet so nostalgic of my old Spectrum games, nice work. My fingers feel all warmed up ready for the next lot of rating! ;-)

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13pm

That's really fun and challenging :)

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

After a little while, I got the hang of it. Good job!

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Haha, awesome! This game should be called "Kung-fu Hero". ;D

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:11am

This was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed it... a lot more than I would have guessed. Really nice work.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13am

Ha! This was pretty hard, mostly because I kept forgetting which hand was which. All I really needed was some kind of natural mapping for left and right hands. Liked the player silhouette doing the moves in particular :)

Zccc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:37am

I thought it was very original! Great game, I loved the ending xD

zn01wr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25am

Simple but funny ! The controls were a bit unintuitive, maybe because my keyboard is an azerty

ezolotko says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Fun game, good audio

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Nice DDR style game, but I had to horribly contort my wrists to play it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Got to "Harder Better Faster Stronger". :D Then it got too fast and I lost my motivation.. Funny idea though!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I like how you construct a whole story around your gameplay, and the end is good/funny.
At the beginning, I was thinking that the keys configuration was quiet strange, but finally it really helps when moves have to be really fast.
One thing, the green screen suits perfectly with the movie set, but it's killing my eyes.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:37pm

simple, but great concept and good execution. hard and fun.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:38am

Well done. Simple but challenging. And once again I just realized that I suck at these kind of games...

raincole says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:03am

Exciting game with a very funny ending.

biscuitdough says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

The control bindings felt a little random, but still a good rhythm-type game.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

Not a bad idea, but the UJM keys were really awkward for me. I wanted to put my left hand on RFV (which was fine), but putting my right on UJM got very uncomfortable quickly

jrbitt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

Fun, creative but very hard when mix punches and kickes ;-)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

Not a bad idea, but the UJM keys were really awkward for me. I wanted to put my left hand on RFV (which was fine), but putting my right on UJM got very uncomfortable quickly.

Also Red=Punch, Blue=Kick feels pretty ambiguous and not easy to remember.

I didn't understand why sometimes it went longer than 10 seconds and sometimes the balls went past me and sometimes I saw the little clapboard.

Still, the core mechanics seemed solid.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Good base here, and I really enjoyed the core mechanics, but the controls were difficult. RFV-UJM requires twisting at least one hand around in a really weird position. Maybe a more horizontal layout would be good; something like QWE-POI?

dancingflame says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

The idea is hilarious! lol~ I love this green screen and moCap setup. The gameplay is a little bit hard that I can't controll my finger. If you could put more musical element in it,it will be a great game :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

good job

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:04am

very original. Good Job!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:15am

Haha, nice! Could be a really cool beat-rhythm game. :)

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:15pm

nice concept!
but no obvious goals for playing more than 1-2 min
music is annoying a little bit

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]