August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cubic Escape

by vitou3d - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Description:
Save this guy from destruction. Solve 12 short challenging puzzles to help him get away safely.

Detail:
- Unity (Game Engine)
- Art (Gimp)
- Sound Effect (SFXR)
- Music (Organ)

Instruction:
- Use Spacebar to Jump
(More instruction will be provided in game)

- For PC : 1280 x 720 is recommended

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#433Theme3.30
#710Audio2.24
#795Fun2.65
#915Overall2.67
#924Mood2.21
#1051Graphics2.00
#1089Innovation2.09
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43am

Very relaxing game. :)

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22am

Good way of tackling the theme. I like the difficulty progression. Even though there was only a tiny amount of music it was pleasant enough not to get repetitive. Good fun.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30am

Not a bad challenge! Two things that frustrated a bit were a) having to change to my mouse to select next level or retry - it's a small thing but it gets annoying after a while (especially if you die a lot!!)
And b) If I shrank on the moving platform I'd sink into them a bit so that I couldn't jump immediately when I wanted to.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33am

Very calm, simple platforming with no real bugs that I can see.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40am

Fun and fair levels with a nice difficulty curve. I also liked how polite the square was.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Interesting concept!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03am

I didn't see any reason to not stay shrunk the entire time. There is no downside to it, right?

vitou3d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03am

@Sebastian, yeah that moving platform cause a bug there. I tried to fix it; unfortunately, I ran out of time a bit. I'll fix it including the mouse as well in the polish version.

vitou3d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

@kirbytails7, no there is no downside to it. Look like someone figured it out. haha

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:38pm

+1 good difficulty progression. The gui interface items confused me at first (the next level and replay buttons).

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:15am

very nice level progression. I like the 10-second levels!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:22am

The shrink ability is cute :]
Apparently moving platforms stops all player control except jump... This doesn't have to be the case, and it's worth the extra effort to allow movement on moving platforms which is more intuitive.
Other than that, everything is great! Well done!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Cool game. I beat it and it is very well done! :D

I noticed there was a glitch when you land a jump you might stop moving so in case you want to make the game complete, I definitely suggest fixing that. Also, I found that sometimes if you spawned at the right time, the smashing things would never be able to get you. One more thing, I found no reason to stay big, which makes it so you should always stay small, making there less challenge. I suggest making it so you can't jump when you are small or something so it makes it so you have to be big sometimes.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]