August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Checkpoint

by barcode - Jam Entry

CHECKPOINT Final Version for LD27

It's a race against time to stay in the game and on the course in CHECKPOINT. As soon as you start time starts counting down from 10 seconds. You must collect more 'time orbs' so you can stay in the game for 10 more seconds! Run out of time or fall off the path and the game resets. Look out for invisible floors that appear when you approach and be careful to jump over gaps in the orange track!

There is no win condition in Checkpoint but see if you can complete the loop and figure out the tricks to accumulate more than 10 seconds of time!

CONTROLS:
* Basic Mouse/WASD controls (default Unity controls)
* SPACE BAR to jump

MECHANICS:
* Countdown timer starting from 10 seconds.
* Energy orbs that add 10 seconds when picked up.
* Hidden Floor tile that only appear when you are near them.
* Message displaying when times up + resets level.
* Level design with basic navigation/platforming that spaces out energy orbs approximately 10 seconds apart.
* Title screen (with countdown timer).

- SFX were created with BFXR.
- Music by Kevin MacLeod/Incompetech.com : Modern Jazz Samba
- Setup up game logic with Playmaker.
- Unity plugin required to view in web player.

Wishlist Features (maybe will have time to implement after LD?):
* An actual win condition
* Hidden time orbs and secret pathways
* Perhaps an intro cutscene?
* Ambient scene lighting will darken as timer goes to 0.
* Music that increase (or decreases) in volume as timer goes to 0.

-Previous WIP Versions-
*v04 has tuning of the first section based on player feedback, a few bug fixes and sfx for the hidden tiles
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7329888/LD27-Checkpoint/wip/LD27_Checkpoint_Barcode_v04.html

*Version03 uploaded - this one has a simple obstacle course with checkpoints at each +10s powerups. See if you can complete the loop and figure out the tricks to accumulate more than 10 seconds of time!
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7329888/LD27-Checkpoint/wip/LD27_Checkpoint_Barcode_v03.html

*Version02 uploaded - this one has a simple obstacle course with checkpoints at each +10s powerups. Currently unfinished, will see if I can wrap it up before the jam deadline.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7329888/LD27-Checkpoint/wip/LD27_Checkpoint_Barcode_v02.html

*Version01 uploaded - this one is a placeholder scene to test out the mechanics with a basic collectible and a timer.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7329888/LD27-Checkpoint/wip/LD27_Checkpoint_Barcode_v01.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#258Audio(Jam)2.94
#353Theme(Jam)2.94
#394Graphics(Jam)2.88
#400Mood(Jam)2.61
#447Humor(Jam)1.75
#450Overall(Jam)2.74
#477Fun(Jam)2.44
#531Innovation(Jam)2.30
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

Ice says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:03pm

As a Unity experiment is well done =D

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59am

I love the look and feel of this game.

This game could be exponentially more satisfying after doing some iterations for balance: It took me 3 or 4 tries just to get the first checkpoint (the falling one) - trying to figure out what I'm looking at and why the jump wasn't working.

Once hitting the ground, the game is pretty unforgiving for those of us slow with wasd 3d controls. Having the first few checkpoints (while the player is still figuring out the game) closer together would be super good.

Overall a really cool little experience.

barcode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

thanks for the feedback evilDan - I'm definitely going to do a pass to make that beginning section more clear and forgiving (and also make the timer more clear and sphere harder to miss.

Also thanks for the encouragement Ice - helped me actually get it finished before the end of the Jam!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57am

It could definitely use a little more in the way of feedback and instruction, especially at the start, but you've definitely got the start of something interesting here. Nicely done!

moonmagic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58am

I like the sense of speed in this game, and the sounds were squiggly and functional. The music makes me feel like I have the wind in my hair and I don't have any responsibilities. The whip-fast mouselook takes both of these nice feelings and tries to make me forget that I'm having them; the game becomes, "try not to move the mouse too much". Lowering the sensitivity of the mouse would feel more inertial, too; I think it would contribute to the feeling of speed, which is what I want this game to be about.

Tiago says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01am

Cool experiment, a little bit hard to get the hang of it though an what a nice soothing music! good job!

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

I think the mouse is a bit too sensitive, and the fall at the beginning is unnecessary, make it slower to retry after dying.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Very difficult to play with touchpad, but the game is good for 10 seconds

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Cool music, the blue city looks pretty damn awesome too.

barcode says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I added a youtube video for one loop of the course: http://www.youtube.com/edit?video_id=9SYzlOx5RNs&o=U&ns=1

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40am

Interesting concept, felt like the start of some kind of parkour game. The implementation is a little lacking in my opinion however. The camera went behind walls a little to often, obstructing the view, and the mouse cursor was always visible. Some elements were rendered always on top which felt confusing.
But you managed to build up a pretty cool and relaxing atmosphere, it felt like I was running in a city by the water, at night. :)

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:06am

With a bit of tweaking this could be awesome. Felt a little bit slippy sometimes but loads of potential.

blackotus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Nice work on the environment.
The music is really good!

Nice entry :)

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Beautiful, visually and sonically. Great entry!

lesterpig says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Good first unity game :)
Death is really frustrating.

sittaman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:01am

Loved the music. Great take on the theme and nice platformer. The control should be disabled on the start to prevent you from miss the first checkpoint. The camera movement could be smoother to handle the direction changes. But its a good game!

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:48am

Very good, bit frustrating because there are some unfair parts, but overall very nice and cool :)

DissidentDan says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I like the visual and sound aesthetics. I don't like falling for 10 seconds every time that I respawn. I didn't get the purple tiles that start out invisible. Why are they invisible? They seemed finicky. I kept falling through.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]