August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BombUniverse

by Lidfrid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hard Entry as always!
You have to defuse a Bomb, no matter what. People count on you.

This game needs only a mouse, and stubbornness.. a lot of stubborness.

Ask me anything at @Lidfrid on Twitter :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#253Graphics3.44
#313Mood3.06
#323Audio2.95
#488Humor2.36
#596Overall3.02
#702Innovation2.77
#842Fun2.57
#851Theme2.82

Comments

Capro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13am

Pretty original. The "Trial & Error" mechanics are interesting.

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16am

I got it straight way? Woops. :P Pretty gradients.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

I like the audio, and the way that terminal responded to my actions, but I had a pretty hard time actually reading the text. Maybe it's just the sleepless night, but I think the text is too small there. Anyway, I like the concept and it reminded me of Papers, Please in a way.

netguy204 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40am

it was hard to see certain "controls" because of the lighting and i gave up before I discovered any sort of progress-toward-the-goal mechanic. Without having that mechanic, the game feels binary. Either you're perfect or your dead with no guidance towards how to be more perfect.

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Too frustrating with no feedback on what I did right or wrong.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I hate to say this... but the feedback is in the little display on the right... T_T

mboaj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

Really nice

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38am

I have been trying for 15 minutes. No clue... Need feedback or something.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53am

Great sound and great game. Best of the bomb defusing games I've played so far for this LD

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37am

indeed the best of the bomb defusing games this ld

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:25am

Takes some time to understand what to do, but then...oh, 5/5 man! Great game!)

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37am

loved the graphics and the thrilling atmosphere. managed to win but couldnt understand how :V

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51am

Okay i don't know how the game works even if i beat it somehow :D Like the "think outside the box" feeling of it, but a little more guidenance would be great. (E.g. after every 10 death the panel would be more and more helpful)

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:54am

Indeed Samuel, i wish i could spend more time on the little display on the right, i would use that to give some important hint to the player, instead of just putting random stupid sentences :)

Thanks all, i really appreciate :)

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05am

I didn't find out how to progress in the defusing, if it's in several steps or just a matter of finding the right action...
As said earlier, a bit of helpful feedback would be great.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23am

I will wait to rate your game because I want to try it more times. Promising!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38am

I have no idea how to win, but I did like the idea of the game, and those little comments on the control box are funny. I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:23pm

lol! that was silly!

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:26pm

I have a feeling I'm going to be playing hundreds of bomb diffuser games this LD.

The graphics however are very good, the way the screws and plates slide off the device is fantastic. The audio is good, though repetitive, but with a play cycle time of 10 seconds that's to be expected. I didn't manage to find the way to diffuse it. Different things worked at different times and I assume there is some big trick to it. Not bad overall, probably the best diffuser I'll play today.

Mythalore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Wow, very interesting art work! With very strong, if repetitive gameplay!

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Hey, besides the game, I want to compliment you for this great logo-idea! Nice one! :-)

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Cool idea, I just wish the feedback was a bit clearer to the player.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:44pm

GAHHH. A game of red herrings, despite a fun theme, is not a fun game. Can now reliably defuse the bomb, though I'm unsure how the solution is supposed to be logical ('genius'?) or enjoyable or even interesting. Not even sure how this game fits the theme of ten seconds... BEAUTIFUL setting, however, with very attractive graphics and animation - fast scene setting, very atmospheric. Sound is great too.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01pm

This was a very well-made game mechanically for me, but it just didn't click with me... great aesthetics, good sound effects, nice touch with the text... but I got frustrated before too long...

Still a solid entry :P good luck!

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Great game, but too damn hard! Especially because the "model" changes every time, and thus what didn't trigger the bomb last time, maybe does now..

ravine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Great idea, but I had no idea how I was supposed to be progressing.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Great job. Looked great and played well

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:08am

Strange, I don't think I quite understood how the game worked. I like the logo though, it's pretty sweet.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Cool. Love the graphics and atmosphere in this. Took me a while to figure out what to do, but it seems like there could have been a bit more to it. Nice logo too.

Lubial says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:00pm

get too long to go into game (xhat you say at first don't serve the game) and not quite obvious to understand the first mechanics. So the worst thing for a game, borring, sorry... But intentions are good, so, little points for that

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Really dig the style of this!

CarbonCoder says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Very difficult at first but once you figure it out you feel like a genius. Nice game!

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:00am

nailed mood. the rest of the game is really cool too. I like the concept a lot and probably would throw money at a bomb ops sim game.

nice work and a refreshing entry.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

Cool use of the theme. I only wish I could figure out a strategy on how to defuse the bombs. :)

timmahh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Quite challenging, I too wish I could find out the strategy to defuse the bomb but it is probably a game I would like to come back to when it has been touched up post LD! Great work keep it up!

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Awesome! I guess I will come back later and try to win this. Right now, I can't seem to find the solution or pattern to defuse it, it's pure brute force for me. Nice work!
PS. This game reminds me of Surgeon Simulator 2013 :)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

You got the feeling down with all the ambient going on at the scene. Didn't manage to diffuse the bomb, realize that it is random, but have no idea what type of clues I should be looking for. Only the model name gives me a hint, but no idea on how to use it. Really good game none the less, well done!

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

this is so stressful yet fun.the one flaw is that you don't know where the cursors exact spot is

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:51am

Nice graphics, but it's a static game, and easy to beat.

superfrog says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:47am

Really a good game :)

psychomonster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Okay 1000 tries... 1000 explosions... good enough :D Enjoyed!

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:10pm

i liked it a lot, it's kind of hard to understand at first but it's really well done :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Very neat! Once you've get the idea, the puzzle is really interesting. Plus cool sound: GG!

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Lighting does hide some of the controls. And is it not obvious that you need to turn the display on to see some feedback. I like the concept and the panel design. Sound is good too. I never beat it. Not stubborn enough.

Zap says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:57am

Didn't solve it - my dreams of being in the bomb disposal unit destroyed!
Really sweet presentation and mood.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:24am

okay i never solved it but i tried fifty times -- nice job

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I don't really get it. Is it just Trial And Error until I get it right? Tough game.

superfoonly says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:20am

I couldn't figure it out, I kept dying but it looks very nice

Blooperly says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:29am

Very polished, and actually pretty hard. Nice job.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:44pm

The lighting looks really cool, but for me it made it almost impossible to read the text on the little display.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I can't complete the game, but it looks great! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]