August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Detective Awesomepants

by xel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Experience the epic adventure of Detective Awesomepants as he tackles difficult cases assigned to him by the world police! Travel to exotic locations. Meet unique characters. Put bad guys in jail! All in a days work for the greatest detective around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
Humor4.38
#7Overall4.20
#16Theme4.14
#19Fun3.97
#43Graphics4.15
#45Mood3.78
#93Innovation3.77
#161Audio3.27

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28am

That was awesome. Finalist material in my opinion!

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

Excellent job, one of the most creative and theme-focused I've seen so far.

douglasv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

Awesome game dude

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

I love murdur mysteries! Love this game man, best I have found thus far!

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

Some seriously awesome pants.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53am

That was amazing, I think his pants were somewhat awesome though..

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

wonderful. what a great experience and presentation. well done!

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

Awesome game!

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:55am

Really great submission!

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34am

Everything about this is wonderful.

RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41am

haha... vintage dagger- I immediately said "where's the hipster?"

Funny game. Very easy of course, but looks good, sounds good, tastes good.

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39am

That was a very well polished game, and you are a great sprite artist :-)

The game was funny, although I couldn't quite make the reasoning for some of the puzzle solutions.

Here is my playthrough on this game, as you requested! (sorry for the sound quality!) http://youtu.be/qbbJssZ8WMY

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53am

haha, awesome

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:02pm

'RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41am

haha... vintage dagger- I immediately said "where's the hipster?"'

That's exactly what I thought too!

This game really is excellent.

small trouble says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Awesome game, Captain Awesomepants would be proud.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

This was really pleasant. I love the graphics.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Oh my, were to begin! The amazing pixel art? The stylish choice of font in the funny titles? The dialogue? The humourous sitatutations? The riddle solving, sometimes just really funny and sometimes you have to think a little? I really don't know - I love everything.

All the riddles made perfect sense for me - except the beach. What's the reasoning there?

The only thing I'm not too sure about is the music. I'd suggest you give http://abundant-music.com a try - in my opionion, it's vastly superior to autotracker.

You did a really good job there, and I'm rooting for you to be in a top 3 list! Justice always wins!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Awesome game! Really great use of the 10 seconds theme. Always love a good murder mystery! :)

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

@TobiasW :"All the riddles made perfect sense for me - except the beach. What's the reasoning there?" There's a shoe next to the corpse and the murderer is missing one.

Awesome game. I played it a few times to make sure I understood every case. You did an amazing job! (Overall 5/5)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

@Ludipe: Oh! I just played it again, and it says "a bloody boot". I, erm, thought it said "a bloody boat". Like a toy boat or something. Please excuse me, I'll be busy sitting in the corner feeling stupid.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Awesome in pretty much every respect. Clever little puzzles although I did just click them all for the dojo guys :S but come up with more of these scenes and I'm pretty sure you've got a hit on your hands

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

That's really funny and amazing I love it reminds me of old days riddles in mickey magazine :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Fantastic. This is a really great game idea. I only wish there was more!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13am

Nicely polished quick style detective game

BNeutral says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:03am

Just lovely.

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39am

Just 2 words : AWESOME and PANTS!

bombjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56am

Very fun, great job!

Sos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23am

Haha! Amazing! I'm the best detective!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56pm

This game was brilliant. It could have been longer, but who am I to talk. I only made 8 levels in my entry. I found my self laughing out loud. 5/5 overall.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Really fun and original :D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Best game I've played so far...

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

Wow! I liked how the mysteries were generally complex enough to take some serious thought, yet straight-forward enough that you had a fair shot at getting them on your first try.

I didn't figure out the reasoning in the sumo wrestler one though, just randomly picked the right guy. The rest were all very satisfying to solve though.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23am

Very funny. With five suspects it'll be perfect. :)

Oxydam says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42am

One of my favorite entries so far. Very original use of the theme and great realisation.
I want more case.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Awesome ;)

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:30pm

hehehe, very mcpixely :3

chambers says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:58am

Great idea, I had a great time playing it, this is the best game I've seen so far. Please make more levels, this game deserves to have TONS of them :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:13am

Ha, this is great! love the pixel-style and the hover-texts. The story is great too.

And the title just makes it brilliant :D

canvapps says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:48pm

graphical adventure! I was missing some of them!
Great work!

Antidote says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:08pm

I enjoyed playing this so much. Nice humor and interesting gameplay. I think it has potential to develop further, looking forward to play it post-jam :)

zkenshin says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:57am

Would make a fun mobile game. Well done. :)

23 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:54am

That was fun! Very polished.

I played this in a pub in Tokyo with some friends, and one thing that was immediately obvious to me but not to some older people / long time expats was the guy behind the forest murder. While I had an easy time tying "going to Starbucks, impatient" to "vintage dagger" and then laughing about the Instagram reference, that sort of stereotype just wasn't on the radar at all for some people.

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Really funny, good job. Great art too.

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Awesome game!
Very funny and polished!

I specially liked the second case, haha
Nice job!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:17am

This was funny, and fun to play. I got them all right on the first pass. I must be wearing awesomepants!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:40am

Well realized. I like how easy but not obvious the cases are.
The case of forest fiend is hilarious.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:54am

Very funny adventure

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

Haha this was awesome and it just worked perfectly! 10 seconds are just enough to solve the mystery!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Great game, really a lot of fun.
But somebody please tell me about those sumo wrestlers, I didn't get that one... :(

SneManden says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Really great and fun! Quite humurous and really liked the artwork. Only thing I found a tad odd, was that a few elements didn't fit the art style ("Pick the Culpit" font, an arrow, etc.). However, a fantastic entry.

Volute says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Great idea, great game !

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Refreshing take on the theme... great job! Nice pixel art and the song worked well with the game. Some of the puzzles were a bit easy but for 10 seconds, what else could I expect? Some of the scenarios were pretty funny, too.

megashroom says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:17am

Perfectly executed.
The graphics were amazing, the gameplay was enjoyable, and the dialogue was hilarious.
One qualm, the culprit of the first murder didn't align to any clues, but the rest did.

Zccc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Amazing, very well done :D

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:19pm

everything is awesome. except maybe that i can't figure out what the logic behind the sumo wrestler case was.

GarethIW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Those are some awesome pants!

ashdnazg says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Conan Doyle is rolling in his grave...

Anyway, I enjoyed this game, and the cases were good.
However, I kinda can't stand auto-tracker anymore.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:59pm

so so good, great work. Every scenario was funny, required a bit of quick thought and looked lovely

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Great game, I love the graphics too.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:10pm

"Sure! Blame the foreign" hHAHAHAHA amazing game

ratking says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:45am

I love the settings and the characters. Hilarious!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Autotracker music :D
Pixelart was ok, the puzzles were mostly fair.

Cosr says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 12:27am

Good game, good pixels, good sense of humour throughout. Decent polish and feels nicely complete.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 12:34pm

The game is good and funny! I would have loved to play more difficult levels! Will you make some more ?
The music was a bit boring in the end.

tigerj says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:33am

Really awesome, really pants. nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]