August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Second that Motion

by BomberGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"I Second that Motion" is a card-based-strategy debate game.

Your goal is to convince the senators present to second your motion. To convince the senators, you must play to their state, religious, wing (left or right), and rhetorical preferences.

You can draw from your stack of notecards, which each have a unique set of biases. Green biases will appease senators who are of that opinion, red biases will dissuade senators who are of that opinion. Since only the State preferences are given, the rest must be determined from the green and red arrows which appear after a notecard is played - you can use the preference-chits to keep track of each senator's preferences. You are given 30 minutes each round, the round ends when you either run out time or yield the remainder of time (this awards a point bonus). Drawing a notecard takes 1 minute, playing a notecard takes 3 minutes (note that you may play a notecard with 1 minute left, you simply filibuster to -2 minutes, and will be given a minor point deduction).

There is an online high score table (and an offline high score table) please be aware that results are submitted automatically at the end of the game.


Tools Used:
Gamemaker Studio
Gimp
Gamemaker Highscores' example and server (http://www.gmhighscores.com/services.php)
SFXR
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#160Innovation3.60
#380Humor2.59
#489Overall3.12
#630Mood2.63
#666Audio2.33
#685Fun2.77
#735Graphics2.59
#921Theme2.71
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

The game made me thought of Papers, Please. Interesting gameplay, very different from the 10 seconds action game. Good work !

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Well that was a very weird way to make a debate game

smash ball says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:56am

I have no clue what this has to do with the theme, but I love it. I like the faces they make when they get extremely happy or mad.

BomberGames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:15am

@smash ball - it's supposed to be like "I second that motion" when you're in a group making a decision, and the last level requires ten "seconds". Does that help?

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

cool game, good concept. Good job

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

More bureaucracy sims please! Great concept and use of the theme :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Nice game, fine concept. Good job!

01rafael says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:35am

To hard for me :)
But nice work

MrBlade says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:00am

Nice work! I don't quite get how this fits the theme or really how to play. (I don't get the tracking of opinions.) Really nice sounds! Good work.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:26am

next time please use text instead of icons.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:23am

A very interesting concept, although I found it wasn't clear how to keep track of preferences and the like, so it mainly a game of chance for me.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:55am

Can't play windows games :-( Looks cool though!

Mekuri says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:08am

I liked the game, and really liked how they got happy or angry.. mostly angry :P
I failed to see the theme though - But great game!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:10pm

I like the idea, and the gameplay is probably really cool too, but I'm too dumb to get what you do. Reminded me of papers please though, which is a good thing!

One question: 10 seconds... how?

TeamQuadratic says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:24am

Really cool concept, but I personally thought it was hard to figure out what they liked and disliked, unless I'm missing something.

Jorqell says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Brilliant take on the theme - too brilliant apparently. Gets tricky really quickly.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]