August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Platformer Roulette

by Phobos001 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made in Construct 2 and uses WebGL. If you're playing in a browser, I highly recommend using Chrome!


Platformer Roulette is a semi-permadeath platformer, in which you must avoid dying in the game or risk getting shot (Digitally) in the face. You must also make sure you finish the level in under ten seconds, or else you will also risk getting shot (Still digitally) in the face.

There are 8 levels of play. You can navigate/impale-yourself-on-spikes these by using the arrow keys to jump/move around.

The music was randomly generated from wolfram-something which generates MIDIs of a certain style. This was before I found www.abundant-music.com, which is awesome.

I'm aware of the weird collision detection on the blimp enemies. It's actually better this way and I can't necessarily fix it, so deal.

I also have a feeling my dropbox account is going to be destroyed, due to the large 30MB zips and lots of people downloading and stuff. If it comes to this, I will upload files to a different host. :D

Remember to rate the game and leave feedback! If you want to play some other games I made (Some good, some bad) you can go to my GameJolt account: http://gamejolt.com/profile/phobos001/8100/

Linux-64 bit download (Ran out of slots): https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21499454/WIP/LD27/EXE1/pr_lin64_v1.zip

Timelapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8P_TgWPPR5w&feature=youtu.be

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Theme3.73
#141Humor3.24
#174Mood3.33
#224Overall3.43
#225Fun3.36
#247Audio3.10
#265Innovation3.39
#344Graphics3.27
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

Great use of WebGL effects, currently the best use of the 10 second theme so far. I really loved playing this. =D

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29am

Hahaha, I wasn't sure what was going on. Just a neat little platformer, good graphics and control etc etc and then I heard the click and bang I was dead. Took me completely by surprise.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03am

Oh man that was an excellent idea! Your number of lives are completely random, I love it! I kind of wish the controls handled a bit better, but wow nicely done with the concept! Laughed out loud the first time I was shot XD

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:01am

Liked it. The roulette portion is a great idea.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13am

What a great idea for the game. Nice use of the theme! It always kept me on my toes.

I shouted many profanities during the playing of this game. Seriously fsck that revolver... I don't like guns pointed at me, PERIOD! I was always hoping that the damned thing failed to shoot me.

All in all, music is good, tho a bit repetitive. So you've done a great job on the audio department.

Graphic-wise, nice use of the "CRT filter". It gives the game a retro feel.

8/10 will play again.

EggPlant <3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

I never noticed the gun at the top when I first played this game; but the concept of being held at gun point whilst playing a platformer is a funny and creative one.

NgonGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

The roulette mechanic is a lot of fun. Adds a nice little level of stress to the game. Clicky clicky!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12am

Very innovative, the held hostage to new gaming style with revolver thingy!
Had me cringing there several times everytime I died or time ran out, and even banged my knee on the table after surviving the trigger too much. Fun game! x)

zakchaos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26am

I enjoye it, and it got addictive and frustrating quickly :) great use of the theme, the russian roulette, was a very interesting touch!

Sinuath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

I really liked the sound and graphics, but i think the game may have been a little too unforgiving, and i wasn't sure whether that cloud thing was me winning or me dying. But it was pretty fun.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34am

Fun game, interesting take on the theme.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:12am

That was wonderful! I got really nervous every time I died. When I actually got shot, I flipped out.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Super fun and really hard.
The physics where great, the level design was fun and the difficulty curve felt pretty natural. The sound was fitting and I loved the gun noises. Made everything feel quite tense.

Awesome game, good work!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

That was great! The scan lines were a bit annoying. I really loved how you used the 10 second theme. The controls were solid.

Per says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48am

Fun platformer with nice visuals.
A little frustrating at times but overall a very good entry.

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Very much liked the idea. I also liked the happy mood of the game compared to the sinister nature of the gun being held to your head. Good job!

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

Great use of the theme and fantastic concept! I love how instead of having the gun point at the in game character you point it at the player themselves, so meta haha! Great graphical style and the scan line with the music really add to the arcade feel. Great job!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Not sure, being randoml shot in the face wasn't really fun, and the platforming was rather hard... still fun! :)

immanuela says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

This was fun! The speed is so fast, definitely adds to the difficulty.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:41am

Solid platformer! the gun was a bit unsettling. You know, like guns tend to be.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Pretty neat use of Russian roulette. I liked the arcade feel of the visuals as well. :)

dekart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I do like the sound and effect, but I don't think that limiting gameplay session to just 6 rounds is a good idea since it limits the player's progression. I didn't manage to even complete level 2.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]