August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Tile

by Mythalore - Jam Entry

A game made in only 24 hours after I gave up on my first jam game.

You play as a troubled blue square who is trying to decipher the riddles that plague his mind, using his powers to slowdown time but only for TEN SECONDS maximum. Mr cube hopes to strive for this in such a way that I will lead him to his ultimate goal; To dodge as many evil orange squares as possible. Before uploading how many seconds he survived for to an online global scoreboard so that he can compete with his friends. Made in unity.

The instructions are within the scrolling text, please read fully before playing.

NOTE: The delayed input is there as a deliberate limitation to stop the player just careening around the grid, try holding down the keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#283Audio(Jam)2.86
#406Innovation(Jam)2.68
#443Graphics(Jam)2.71
#447Humor(Jam)1.75
#452Fun(Jam)2.50
#482Mood(Jam)2.32
#530Overall(Jam)2.53
#563Theme(Jam)2.21
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Neat but a rather loose interpretation of the theme

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Looks nice despite being very minimal. Well done getting something completed in a day after the first one not working out :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Clever! I think maybe some sound effects or a life meter for when you take damage would be really cool. Apart from that it's a cool prototype - I could easily imagine this with various colors, powerups, blocked spaces. A good groundwork to build from!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Good idea, cool game. The theme is a little tacked one, but that's no problem. What is a problem are the controls. I don't know if it's just me, but the arrow-key presses were only recognized around 30% of the time. Also, the textbox could be bigger for easier reading. The highscorelist is a good motivation.

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08am

Pretty good for 24 hours! I'd like to see the cube move a bit more fluent. Sometimes it seems it's stuck or something. I like how you visualized the slowdown timer in the background. Very cool!

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16am

I like the style, and the delayed input is fine for the challenge :) A graphical/audio hint to know when you can move again would be nice!

As BenWhi said, this could work with powerups and so

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Cool concept but really lacking some feedbacks...
Would be great to know when you're stunned, if there is a square on your cell or not etc. Basically to have a better idea of what's going on :)
There is definitely some potential here, good job for doing this in only a day!

Tipyx says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Very hard control, but I like the idea :)

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:22pm

awkward control system unfortunately :(

bisk8s says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44pm

It's heavy for the minimal that it is. 40mb? maybe unity wa not the best choice for this one.

Agreed with 01101101

Despite this, well done!

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

The game's style is nice and the music (though repetitive) is ok, and I like the game's 'story' :) The awkward controls and lack of any real challenge let the gameplay down though, and the theme feels tacked on since the slowdown feature feels completely unnecessary. Good work for a single day, though, and thanks for including a downloadable version even if it is massive. :)

Sayaer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Clever, liked the color palette alot.

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:45am

I didn't really feel like the theme was in this actually and it became a little boring after a while honestly, I think you could spice it with others events happening.
But yeah for 24h, it's good.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28am

Cool game and music! But I found the key repetition too slow...

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

Cool idea, I'd like it to be a tiny bit faster, but that's only a small issue.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I didn't really understand what was going on

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:07pm

good but the controls were very un-responsive -- nice effort

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

I love the leaderboard that you have working. The game is a little finicky though. Holding down a key makes your movements quicker, but it seemed like changing direction was very slow.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]