August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Trench Coat Tunes

by zkenshin - Jam Entry

* Edit: Added a lower quality web version in case the game is laggy for anyone. Only change is removal of simulated plants *

* Note, we did not have a Mac or Linux machine available yet for testing the related downloads, so they are untested for now. We apologize for any roughness in the game, as we worked right up to the deadline and did not have time to give it the polish we would have liked.*

You are C.T Plaear, a fashionable music connoisseur. It is rumoured the Make Play (MP) business building is harbouring a device capable of storing ten times the amount of audio than your current cassette player.

Each of your song abilities last 10 seconds, and your music player rewinds for 10 seconds before you can play another song.

Using your connoisseur stealth, avoid and subdue the building's guards and retrieve the hi-tech music player.


Controls:

- WASD to move.
- Spacebar to jump.
- P to pause.
- Number keys to select unlocked abilities.
- Mouse click to use selected ability. (Having an ability selected/ready is indicated by glowing particles on the player character) Some abilities need aimed with the cursor, others affect the player, etc. Song titles displayed when used will hint about what the ability does.



This competition we focused mostly on interaction with the play environment.


* Features break dancing guards *



*edit 2:*
Each of your song abilities last 10 seconds, and your music player rewinds for 10 seconds before you can play another song.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#341Audio(Jam)2.65
#356Humor(Jam)2.16
#445Mood(Jam)2.46
#516Graphics(Jam)2.43
#518Innovation(Jam)2.33
#552Fun(Jam)2.14
#564Overall(Jam)2.45
#591Theme(Jam)1.76

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49am

Difficult to figure out whats supposed to be happening, no quest log so if I miss something, its gone forever...
Audio and Video are both really good!

autlos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I love the music, and the art is right.

BUT, I miss a nice quest log or something. And I don't see nothing related to the theme "10 seconds".

Btw good game, cheers!

hypp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Nice graphics, but I didn't quite get how it relates to the theme?

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Sorry, we never got around to mentioning in the game that since your are using a cassette player, you can only hold 10 second segments of the magical song abilities. Description above has been changed to include this.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54pm

So fun! I thought it would be limited by the locked rotation, but it works well. The physics are an added bonus, so funny to knock over the desks.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Oh my goodness why is the character so damn slow? The only way I could stand moving around was jumping constantly. I like the idea behind the music mechanic, but the game really suffered from the short development period. If you had more time, I bet this could be fleshed out into something interesting and fun!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Nice music.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I'm not sure how to play this. ;-)

Kidney says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:31pm

This game was neat and innovative, but I could not stand playing it for very long because I found the controls cumbersome. Too long to get up to speed, too slow max speed, and too restricting when hitting (getting caught in) piles of other physics objects.

(Also, I played the web version, but I tried both versions and the speeds were the same for me in each so I do not think the issue was hardware/software; just the player :P)

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:26pm

good concept =]
If you can fix the camera and the character move (maybe you've used Rigidbodies instead character controller) makes the diference in the gameplay.
I'm stuck in 2nd stage because the guards are very fast and they dont sleep with the first hability

jay griffin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Would like to see where you could take this given a little more time, some interesting stuff going on there.

01010111 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:42am

This game could use some TLC, but it has all the elements there to make it amazing! I hope you polish it up, great work!

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:51pm

The physics simulation in this is fantastic, very well done :) I think it definitely would've been better to have a rotatable camera because seeing through the walls is somewhat impossible in places. Other than that, very impressive!

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I didn't get it at all, I got through the first door but couldn't work out the next after exploring a while. Visuals and audio were kinda cringe

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Great job.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:33am

I think the idea is interesting, but i can't really play the game because of the "too slow" bug (i'm stuck as soon as the second floor so i prefer not to vote). And i can't jump over the desks to escape the guard like in your blog post, it's a little bit frustrating 'cause it seemed to be quite fun. :p

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:02am

This might sound weird but this game actually gains from the short period for development because glitches become a part in the game and strengthen it's aesthetics, although sometimes they are a bit of a bother.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]