August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10Seconds Racer

by orangepascal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You got 10 seconds to race as far as possible ! Grab nitro's, or time power-ups to increase your distance... try to avoid other traffic ;)

Game was done in only 5 hours, had a very late start, but it's fully playable, sound, "music", and graphics are all there..

lots of idea's for improvements.. but only so much you can do in 5 hours :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Fun3.67
#105Graphics3.86
#115Theme3.73
#153Overall3.55
#399Audio2.81
#470Mood2.83
#622Humor2.13
#906Innovation2.47
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

Thomas Ingham says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:36pm

This is so simple and perfect! Great job!

tinykidtoo says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Good job

Calahagus says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:44pm

This is so much fun! 157 is my highscore!

Longarmx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:00am

Cool game. Amazing job to get this done in only 5 hours!

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03am

Love the simplicity and graphics style!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

A superb runner

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42am

Simple is always good in my book. Great job for 5 hours. The powerups appear a bit too fast for my eyes and I have a hard time collecting them but that's just me :)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49am

Woah. Even for a 48 hour game this would be a real accomplishment. In 5 hours?! Brilliant. I mean...skid marks? You had time for details like that in 5 hours?! Amazing.

rot13 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49am

That's really awesome, especially given that you made it in only 5 hours. I'd like to see a post-compo version of it.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49am

Like that the time powerup just freeze time instead of adding, gives more of an urgency that way. Great art, sound and polish, especially for only 5 hours.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50am

Woah. Even for a 48 hour game this would be a real accomplishment. In 5 hours?! Brilliant. I mean...skid marks? You had time for details like that in 5 hours?! Amazing.

High Score 261.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51am

It's almost annoying you did that in 5 hours. :-) Great Job! Really fun and the feel of the collisions with other cars is spot on. I would play this on my iphone for an embarrassingly long time. I would say it is too hard but for a 10 second game I would say it ramps up perfectly.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58am

Awesome game, simple, fun and very very addictive. It's hard to get the power-ups so I guess I'll have to keep training.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:44am

Staggering work considering it was made in five hours. Looks great and controls really well, with a nice degree of polish to everything involved.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55am

Wow that's extremely fun, well done on completing this in such a small timeframe! My highscore was 318.

bitowl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08am

really love how this voice says "time","nitro","game over" :D
would love an option to mute that background music/noise thing, though ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

Love it. Simple and fun. I'll be back to play this. I like the graphics, the sound the gameplay, everything. One thing though, does it not save your high score? I couldn't see it if it did. Well done.

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27am

Very fun little game. It invokes the "just one more try" syndrome that makes you spend far more time playing than you planned.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

@DreamofSleeping : it really needs high-scores, or at least your personal best, but didn't find time to add that .. maybe in a post-compo version

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Looks good, it's fun to play and play again. And in 5 hours!

Atsiitech says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Got 245. Addictive gameplay and nice graphics.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I like this a lot! Very polished and well done. Fun. I tried many games in a row. Good stuff!

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Good job! love the pixel art :)

mairazl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11pm

It's really cool! I was so happy when I got more than 200 score!! :D
One doubt: is the speed a vector of the direction (x+y)? Or is the vertical speed always the same???

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Really nice work for 5 hours!

Grabbing the powerups was really hard though, they move pretty darn fast.

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

That's nice game but needs some work on the enemies generation and may be if I have more view to plan where to go :) but for 5 hours that game is amazing :) Good Job as usual ;)

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00am

Nice quick racer...neat time extension and nitro powerups.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Great game, love the artwork and the controls. Awesome job!

markusfisch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:41pm

That was more fun than I had thought! Well done for just 5 hours!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

Nice little racer!

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Simple and fun little game. :)

I managed to get 279 points. :D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

simple funny little racer... cool soundtrack... nitro is way to fast for my fingers to react :D Enjoyed it ^^

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Good entry for only 5 hour development time, like the graphics very much

GarethIW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Only 5 hours? Great effort!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:13am

Simple rules, great gameplay!
Really love graphics, too. :)
377 my best score!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]