August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Tower Defense

by BenW - Jam Entry

You only have ten seconds to defend your base. Can you do it?

Click on tower location to build towers. Click on existing towers to upgrade them. Once everything is setup hit go!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Fun(Jam)3.14
#305Overall(Jam)3.09
#335Audio(Jam)2.67
#425Theme(Jam)2.82
#459Graphics(Jam)2.67
#518Innovation(Jam)2.33
#1906Coolness10%

Comments

jackw899 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59am

I really enjoy games like this, and this one is nearly very good.. however its a bit too hard and seems like each level requires the perfect combination of turrets to complete. If it was balanced a bit better I would love this game!

BenW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

Yeah, I decided to balance it on the more difficult side because there aren't many levels. I may have gone a bit too far.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38am

Good game but it's a bit too hard. Like the kind of hard where you blame the computer because it seems like there is only one way each level.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20am

Ahhh one of the LDTD games? heheh I actually really liked the visual style, really minimal good stuff though I suck at tower Defence I just tried to make a bunch of sniper towers X_X

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30am

Interesting idea, it really fits the theme. But it gets really hard, and it's hard to determine damage output between the different weapons so it's really hard to determine why one would be better than another. In the end it turned into more of a guessing game of trying different turrets in different spots without much strategy. The set up seems pretty much bug free other than sometimes turret selections not registering, but it kept my interesting for a while. Good job!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Apart from the last level, I find the other levels not that much hard. It is a simple and quite enjoyable game.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Wait, you actually made a #LDTD game? You're the first one I've seen... Difficult, but fun.

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Really fun game! Took a while to figure out some of the levels, but the fact that you needed to develop a strategy was really cool.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:13pm

definitely feels like more of a puzzle game than a traditional tower defense game.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

No win screen? :'(

Otherwise, very nice tower defense, which you had time to include an area damage thingy, and maybe some more feedback when something gets hurt.

Overall, enjoyable. Congrats on making it!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Will post video comment when ready.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Very enjoyable tower defense!

Fififox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Very good entry! Both fun, long and aesthetically pleasing.
I got far into the game using only quick turrets at max damage, but got stuck in the end at the 2-shaped level! (add a skip button maybe?)

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

That's a really interesting approach on the TD genre. Pretty difficult, too. Nice job!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:19am

Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2840450

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Very hard, but once I got some sniper towers, I liked the game. Nice job! I featured it in my Ludum dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp9ky-3J3J4

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]