August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mage Run: The Short Quest For The Legendary Yellow Cheese

by Jens Nolte - Jam Entry

Requirements:
DirectX 11
.NET 4.5

Gamepad controls:
A: Hover
X: Shoot a fireball
Y: Reset

Keyboard controls:
W/Up: Hover
D/Right/Space: Shoot

Basic keyboard controls:
F5: Fullscreen
Alt+F4: Exit ;)

A game by
@jens_n (programming)
@urahziel (artist, level design)
eckenpeppy (artist)
ro (artist)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#173Graphics(Jam)3.70
#421Mood(Jam)2.53
#463Overall(Jam)2.71
#487Innovation(Jam)2.43
#493Theme(Jam)2.62
#526Fun(Jam)2.26
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

I'm afraid that no keyboard control makes this unplayable. Probably my bad for not reading the directions before playing...

Jens Nolte says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

Keyboard controls will be patched as soon as I get some sleep... Sorry for the inconvenience!

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Based on bit trip runner, splendid looks, the hovering needs a tad of balancing, great, quick hard, ppl need to rate it more :)

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Great.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I like the game! (but is too fast for me xD)

some music would be cool too ;-)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:21am

Graphics are decent. Game is a bit too fast and the shooting has issues - you need to be able to have multiple fireballs on screen at once, because at the moment tapping the shoot button just resets the fireball position over and over - kind of awkward. Some sound would have been good too. Otherwise not a bad effort.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:26am

pretty cool, though shooting is rather difficult and timing everything is really hard.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Didn't launch on NV 9800gt, needs dx10.1. Does LD game really need DX10.0? Launched it on ntb with DX11 AMD and got this monster... http://puu.sh/4gNfd Also, deug information on release version? http://puu.sh/4gNfA Can't vote...

Skye says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:13pm

very intersting

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:56am

controls make it unplayable -- nice effort

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:51pm

trippy graphics. Like it!

drawm says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Jump could be higher (or move obvious? it look like the jump is 10px high :s ). Still nice entry, keep it up :)

Jens Nolte says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:56am

Thanks for the amazing feedback! We are aware about the problems with the fireball, but when the Ludum Dare clock reaches zero you have to release the game.

We lost quite a bit of time when teaching eckenpeppy and ro the basics of modeling (both of them started from zero) so I hope it is ok the gameplay is missing some polish.

@Brejlounek: I wrote the deferred lighting in the first 24 hours and wound up in using DirectX 10.1 features. Sorry about that - I hope I can reduce the requirement to DirectX 10.0 in the future.
About the attached screenshot - you are missing the d3dx11_43.dll. Can you try to (re-)install the DirectX Runtime (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35) and report the results?

@drawm:
It's not a jump, it's a hover - try holding the button down and you should be able to float above the small obstacles ;)

whiteravens says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Looks good from the preview, but sadly I can't play since I only have Direct 10.0. :(

Tanser says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Love the atmosphere.

Jens Nolte says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Due to popular demand I have reduced the requirements to DirectX 10.0 level hardware :)

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:18pm

so, most of you think it's too fast - for me it's too slow, but that's my computer's fault. it looks great though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]