August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten 10-Second Seconds

by Chrixeleon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 second-chance lives at defeating the boss, where each life only lasts 10 seconds!

Movement: Arrow keys
Slow down time: X
Speed up time: Z

Note: The game starts immediately because I didn't have time to implement a main menu. Also, there's a fun bug at the end where all the sound effects play at once forever if you win. Sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#730Theme2.97
#734Audio2.21
#820Fun2.61
#850Overall2.75
#954Innovation2.39
#964Mood2.12
#1016Graphics2.10

Comments

Diventurer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Could have had more to it, but it was enjoyable.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I thought it was pretty cool. The graphics look simple, but they make sense for the game. Controls felt responsive, good collision, well done.
Sadly, I was unable to beat it, haha

Tetha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I like it. There is very little perception of progress though. I suppose the bar on top is the overall progress? It would be nice if this was a bit clearer.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Always great to see a shooter represented in LD! Lots of fun to play, strangely alluring layout of shapes and colors!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:38pm

That's a very simplistic game, but I actually really enjoyed it :-)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Jumped right into the game, the audio was kind of loud and a bit annoying. The game was harder than I thought but very fun, played a few times before beating the boss ahah

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:52pm

pretty straight, but it would be nice if there were some level before the boss fight. even though i did not manage to kill the current boss xD liked the minimalism

Darien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I like the minimalist graphics a lot. Main menu or no, I think it would be nice if the game didn't begin until it received input, since the applet didn't have focus when it first loaded and I lost my first life before I could even act. :-)

flarb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:13am

5* for the graphics, of course. Screen shake FTW! :)

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

It feels a bit redundant in it's current incarnation to die every 10 seconds, since as far as I can tell you can't beat him in any less than just under 80 seconds of straight fire on it.

But, it's a cool little mini-bullet hell and those are always fun, and I did replay it until I beat it, so, you did a good job with the allure of the challenge. The bug at the end with the sound going wonky was kind of funny as well lol

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:15am

Managed to capture the essential experience of a shoot 'em up. Quite hypnotic and really addictive.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Very simple but hard game. Great job! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]