August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time and Time Again

by BrothersT - Jam Entry

This is a cryptic first person puzzle/adventure game, where you are stuck in a 10 second time loop. You are a thief trying to steal an experimental time manipulation device, but all goes horrible wrong and you have to figure a way out of your predicament!

IMPORTANT: We didn't get round to putting in a good visual indicator of this but the device creates a time bubble inside the lab that's 10 seconds in the past. It might be handy to fully get your head around that if you want to complete the game (or understand how it works if you just happened upon the answer).

No sound or music, and we were just seconds away from having a proper ending, honestly ;P

We hope you like it (What we got done, anyway)!

Controls:

WASD/Arrows to move
Left mouse button to interact
Esc to stop interacting
F4 to quit game
Ctrl to crouch
F7 = Invert camera X
F8 = Invert camera Y

Disclaimer: Just a bit past the deadline with the working upload, so sorry about that to everyone who made it on time!

[UPDATE] Fixed an error which makes one of the puzzles unnecessary.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#100Theme(Jam)3.52
#118Graphics(Jam)3.92
#177Innovation(Jam)3.24
#224Fun(Jam)3.08
#230Overall(Jam)3.24
#257Mood(Jam)3.00
#322Humor(Jam)2.29

Comments

BrothersT says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

DONE! Hope it works. Enjoy!

Vnator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06am

Any hints for the anagram?

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:28am

Very cool :)

-ENDESGA

BrothersT says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:24am

ENDESGA - Thanks! :)

Vnator - if you look at the scrawls on the desk you might see that the security guard who operates that terminal harbours a bit of a hate boner for a certain something. Thinking about that with the letters you've got should help you a bit hopefully. Each letter is only used once.

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Very, very good. Great graphics, unfortunately no audio.. but a really well-executed game.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20pm

@MvdLaar - Cheers! Yeah, audio certainly would add to the experience :( I think you can rate our entry more effectively if you pretend that you've been struck with sudden deafness ;)

Vnator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Ok, thanks. I'll think about it some more.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Oooh, liked the graphics a lot. Great game!

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Very cool, love the clean graphical style. Just needs some moody music!

imef says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Good game! I love every little detail in it. ;)

Vnator says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

My little brother ended up figuring out the anagram before me. Now I just can't find the disk. Every puzzle solved makes the game more fun. Once again, nice job!

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Probably I'm just a dope, but I got absolutely *nowhere.* Lack of an "invert Y axis" option doesn't help; since time is so sharply limited, mousing the wrong way gets extra frustrating.

Also: your .zip file contains the executable with a .txt extension. Is that by design?

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

sorry about that. We honestly had no idea anyone played with inverted mouse controls.

Let's see if you find it a bit easier with your preferred control scheme :) f7 and f8 are now invert x and y axis respectively.

Also .txt file was my fault :P (Rob, the artist)

Vnator - Thank you! Glad you like the game enough to come back to it! Thanks for playing!

Thanks everyone!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Starting the .exe I got a System Error (missing libvorbisfile.dll, libvorbis.dll, freeglut.dll). Downloaded the first 2 of them, couldn't find freeglut.dll after a quick search. Abandoned.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Very nice game.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

@LordHellMaX - You must have managed to download the file in the few minutes that we mistakenly uploaded a file containing just the executable. The download link now contains all the required files, as before.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Sorry about that LordHellMax, they should all be in there now. I may have been screwing with the files while you were downloading.

skywing says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Amazing, one of the most interesting games I've played so far. Time loops are just great.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Hmm, not working for me. It crashes right at the start. =(
Here's the log file: http://pastebin.com/1wNXai22

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Great theme, graphics and design. It'd be awesome with some audio.

Problem is I have not a clue how to solve it, and I certainly don't have the patience to keep banging my head at this for hours. What am I meant to use for this anagram? The IOU message? The scratchings on the desk? The "test_" text on the other computer?

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Sorry about that Legacy. Our resident code monkey will have a look at that soon.

BlackBulletIV - Haha. Hmm, I guess this kind of game is not for you :) Thanks for the kind comments!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Don't work for me :(

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Any details ellipticaldoor?

Nick Cash says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Interesting concept. Like everyone else said, needs some music but otherwise appears to be well executed. However, I couldn't get very far even with the hints here.

Also, is the loop supposed to instantly reset when I hit the G key? Because it is, and since it isn't listed in your controls I figure it might be a testing thing :P

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:44am

I am getting an "APPCRASH" on my windows 8 laptop when I try to run this.. The console thing manages to run, it goes fullscreen with a white blank game area for a few seconds and crashes.

Nick Cash says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:12am

Came back after a clue from my friend and we worked it out together. Very clever little game you've got here! :)

gmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:35pm

:-) cool game! good job sir!

tamat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:12pm

I have an strange dejavu with my website intro when playing your game: http://tamats.com
good work!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Cool concept, feel stupid though. Got the password, but couldn't find the disk.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:53pm

The camera movements give me headaches but the concept is very cool. There is a bug that makes the game go back to the begining after writing "killing" on the computer.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I won! Took me forever to realize how to get the floppy from the floor.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:58pm

@BNeutral - Congrats! I think you might be the first to do so!

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:33am

Had to n/a this one... only brought me a black screen on startup. =(

BrothersT says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:19am

@Lokarunith - Seems I left "G" bound to reset the environment. Just don't press G :) And what is it about the camera movement that gives you headaches? I'd like to avoid that in the future.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I want a mac build so desperately.

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:43pm

One of the best looking-games I've seen so far.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]