August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You Missed A Spot

by john_conder9 - Jam Entry

You Missed A Spot is an enchanting little game where you go to work at a Dry Cleaning Store cleaning shirts. Long story short: you are going to miss a spot.

Control Scheme:

Click on a dirty shirt as it passes by on the zip line to get it on the table. Then left-click the appropriate cleaner, and proceed to left-click on each stain to remove them. To put a cleaner down, use the right click. To put the shirt back onto a hanger when it's clean, hit the red button.

Thanks to Mark 'WhenPeonsAttack' Ben for the amazingly awesome and funky 15(!) minute song!

Troubleshooting tips: If the game won't run, you are probably missing the runtime files. I've included an installer named "vcredist_x86.exe" - generally installing that will fix it (they are the standard MSVS 2012 SP1 v3 runtime files.)

Theme justification: Since the game isn't super transparent about it, shirts spawn every 10 seconds. HOWEVER, there is a slight bug where the timer counts down during the dialog active screen, so if you keep one open for 10 seconds right after a shirt just spawned, then you'll end up with two shirts. Or 100 seconds. It will only at most spawn one additional shirt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Humor(Jam)2.79
#332Audio(Jam)2.68
#397Mood(Jam)2.62
#440Fun(Jam)2.54
#441Innovation(Jam)2.58
#484Overall(Jam)2.67
#573Graphics(Jam)2.04
#575Theme(Jam)2.11
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Didn't take long for me to miss a spot. :)

I was kinda lost until I lost the first shirt. THEN I learned that I have to take the shirt first, and only after that clean it.

Fun game, creative idea.

soulrot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23am

Like Diogo Muller said, I only found out how to play the game after 'losing' the first time. Overall the game is amazingly enough quite entertaining despite the simple gameplay mechanic.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49am

Very entertaining. I liked how the comments helped me remember which tool matched up with each stain. Nice music too! My best score was 2250.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Simple, funny, I like it :D Didn't notice any time that I missed a spot :)

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Cute little game. It's pretty unforgiving when it comes to clicking and really needs a tutorial / explanation. At the very least put the controls and basics in the description on this page - that might help :)

The music was great and the different stains and cleaners were cool. Perhaps putting the different cleaners on the number keys would have allowed easier swapping too.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Simple, funny, I like it :D Didn't notice any time that I missed a spot :)

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Also 2500 - not bad I hope :)

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Starspell: That's a great idea, putting the controls and basics in the description! I wanted to do more of a tutorial but I just didn't have the time, I really should have stuck it in the description in the first place - thanks! Using key binds is another great suggestion, if I ever make a more interesting version of the game I'll have to keep that in mind :D Also, 2500 is not bad at all, it's meant to be hard to serve as a twitch-reflex type of game (similar to reflex te, if you've ever heard of it.)

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I don't normaly keep playing the same game for more the 3 minute but I played your for courter of an hour ..meaning ... great game

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:08am

Nice game! Very hard keeping up and remembering what can clean what color, but that's a nice challenge. Nice music also!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Really was excited to play this game, but MSVCP11.dll error..

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Like it! I suck at it, but I like it nonetheless! Very stressful! Very funny! Very good!

gmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:21am

so cute! =) nice game! good job! )

Mekuri says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:35am

Nice idea. Took me a little while to realize I had to push the red button.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:53pm

It gets undoable a bit too quickly, also, the first time I played it the game said I didn't clean all the ketchup stains, when they are in fact really hard to miss, I think that's a bug.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]