August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Count2Ten

by mboaj - Jam Entry

How long do ten seconds last? This is exactly the goal of this very very simple game: to understand how much time there is in 10 seconds.

The game is very simple and needs to be played with friends for the maximum fun. Select the number of players, agree to the honor code (YES WE HAVE AN HONOR CODE :) and read the instructions (or don't read them since it is very simple).

Every player is identified by a color and a key he/she needs to keep pressed (yes! keep it pressed when you lift the finger your game ends :). After a short count down (keep the keys pressed!) the game starts.

The goal is very simple: WHEN YOU FEEL THAT 10 SECONDS HAVE PASSED LIFT THE FINGER. At the end, when all the players have lifed their fingers or 20 seconds have passed the game end. The player who gave the best guess wins.

But ... you might get distracted ... by your friends ... or ...

As I said, it is a very very simple game :) but I had a lot of fun playtesting it with friends. I hope you will enjoy it as well.

Sounds are all from http://www.freesfx.co.uk

The font is Lato from www.latofonts.com/

The only "character" around is a free download from http://tooncharacters.com/

***NOTE*** the maximum number of players depend on the number of pressed keys the keyboard can recognize: on Mac it recognizes 6 so you can have the maximum fun; on windows, some players could try it only up to four players.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.23
Coolness53%
#256Overall(Jam)3.19
#256Humor(Jam)2.53
#267Innovation(Jam)3.03
#272Graphics(Jam)3.32
#302Mood(Jam)2.88
#318Fun(Jam)2.87
#428Audio(Jam)2.29

Comments

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21am

Fun little game; the art style makes me feel warm and fuzzy. If you unzip the .html and .unity3d files into the 'Public' DropBox folder, then right click the .html and select 'Copy public link' and put that in the web field for your page, then people can play the game in their browser instead of having to download it.

mboaj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45am

Thank you! Yesterday night I rushed submission and I actually did not know anything about the Public folder. Just changed!

teamenschede says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:53am

Clicked on web, but I only see the title. Nothing happens...

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01am

Mannn i have the same gameplay in my game ! Check it out :p
Had the idea too make it multiplayer too but didn't have the time, had the idea to implement deconcentrating features like yours too !

I liked it ! Really polish and simple ! Great job ! :))

mboaj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08am

Sorry! :) now it should be working it was when I replied to Anachron :)

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

nice interface! With more distraction it could improve the gameplay, just saying though! :)

mboaj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30am

yup more distractions were planned but I did not have much time and implemented everything yesterday two hours before deadline :) more are coming though :)

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11pm

What a great idea for a game. I only played it with two people but I could see with four or six that it would be great fun indeed.

The aesthetics are fantastic and everything is well polished. Nicely done!

timujin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Well, that's a theme bullseye. Finished product, with nothing to add, remove or fix. It's nice to test one's time-tracking abilities. 5-star overall.

sev_inf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Funny simple game, brilliant idea, theme is fully covered! UI is very ergonomic and nice-looking. Great entry :)

Shmarah says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:50am

The simplistic design is just lovely!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:54am

Fun game, much more interesting as a party game compared on single player. Even then though it seems a bit too simple. A little bit of ambient music could be interesting, or party music, could switch it up to throw people off. Even so I liked the art and distractions. Overall it was a fun time killer.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:01am

Clean design. Simple concept whit a good execution.
Nice Idea, it dont fit for one player, but for a competition its very nice. Its well worked. Guess could be more fuzzy when the time counts.

mboaj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:57am

@Bearbotnik thank you for the suggestion. The single player was just for test although there is a easter egg in it. If you press the numbers from 1-8 while having the space-bar pressed it shows all the implemented distractions. As I said, the one-player is mainly for testing.

OddballDave says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

This is very similar in concept to my entry. One suggestion to allow having more simultaneous key presses is to use the mouse buttons as well.

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

@OddballDave are you sure you can catch up up to 26 keys? On the mac I was able to use 4 letters/numbers and then special keys (controls etc.) but on windows keyboard no more than 4! :( at least this experienced the people who playtested the game.

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Nice little game. The graphics are simple, but very clean and looks good!

Reyn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Well done, we also have a guess 10 seconds game, multiplayer made it.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice use of theme, and great clean UI. Good job! :)

Joror says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Simple little eyeopener. Only tested with one, but imagine it is more fun with more. :)

autlos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Really nice game to play with friends/family.

The graphics/visual effects are perfect. I love the font and mood of this game.

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Nice presentation, and a surprisingly fun idea!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:18pm

The link to the Linux version is dead. If you want me to play your game, drop me a note (@tinyworlds), when the download is online again ;)

mboaj says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Fixed! Sorry. Linux version is now live.

kristof says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Cool idea! I really like the clean art style.

Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I got 9.920. Cool game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]