Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Power Struggle

by TomSmizzle - Jam Entry

Your battery only lasts for 10 seconds!
Hurry up and grab another one!
Art, Design, Code by Tom "@TomSmizzle" Smith
Music, Sound by Martin "@BionicSheep" Falder

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Theme(Jam)3.50
#173Overall(Jam)3.38
#207Fun(Jam)3.12
#251Innovation(Jam)3.06
#463Graphics(Jam)2.65
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12am

I love the drumloop for the timer, and the violent shaking for whenever you recharge. It took me a while to process that R reset you from a checkpoint (And it's a bit too far from the Z key if you were using that to jump), but once I did the game became a whole lot more fun. It became almost rhythm game-esque in parts which was really rad.

TomSmizzle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

yeah the controls only got put at the start at the very last minute, this kinda got rushed out the door, haha

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16am

Oh man, I really liked this, and I normally hate twitchy/timed games. The music and the beat made it waaay easier once I got the rhythm down.

Overkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20am

I really enjoyed this game. I didn't play all the way through -- I gave up once the timing got a little too difficult for me right now. But I got a good feeling playing it, and really liked the fight against the clock and rhythm beep-boop laser evasion level design. Good job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I really enjoyed it!
I loved that the music tied in with the battery meter and the turning on and off of the lasers. The little things like the screen shake and the platforms changing colors were great as well!
The graphics were a bit messy, but they worked.
The platforming controls also felt a little bit off, particularly with the way the character jumped, but I was able to manage. Great job!

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I loved the way the audio ties in with the gameplay. In fact, every aspect of this meshes together beautifully. I really enjoyed playing it.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I love the way the music is tied into the level design, and the level design into the theme. The controls are a little frustrating for as challenging as some of the platforming got, though.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:27am

Cute! Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

My dad's an electrician! I'll try to get his opinion, but I like it!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Really nice way to integrate gameplay and soundtrack. Sometimes this game gets a bit frustrating, but it's a really nice game overall.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:43pm

This game is great! I love the trippy visuals and the sound design. The way you time game elements with the music to create a rhythm to the platforming is fascinating. Really cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]