August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DecBin

by DanteZack93 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare and i had lots of fun doing this game, i used Game Maker for the first time.
Hope you enjoy it ^^


Instructions:

In this game, you have to survive for 10 seconds. If you manage to survive the level will change and will be harder, if you want to win you have to survive the three levels available.
You are the little triangle and will die in just 1 one shot, avoid the circles and the squares! You have to kill at least something every 2 seconds if you don't want to lose.

On the left you there is a Dec counter, it's a timer about how long you survived in the level.

On the right there is a Bin counter, it's a timer and it last 2 seconds, you will see it in binary so:
0 = 00
1 = 01
2 = 10

The bin counter should not be 10->2 seconds because you will lose, to restart the timer just kill something.


To move use WASD and to shoot use the mouse :)
You can download the file, even if you are not registered, by pressing CTRL+S (or File menu up-left)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#634Audio2.40
#666Theme3.06
#893Mood2.27
#915Overall2.67
#927Humor1.53
#929Fun2.44
#1000Innovation2.28
#1051Graphics2.00

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07am

Google wants me to register for the download, sorry.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

You can download the file, even if you are not registered, by pressing CTRL+S (or File menu up-left)

Capro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Nice :)

DanteZack93 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08am

Thanks ^^

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Not a bad game here. Quite difficult though, or maybe I'm just bad at it. :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Weird, this time Google didn't want me to register.

Nice little game, nothing ground breaking though. Death does come fast ;)

Crashed on exit.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Hardy hardy hard.. Tried to win gazillion times it is not for me I guess ;) Good entry anyways. You should change download provider if you want to get more ratings (IMO). Best of luck with ratings!

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Thanks :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Challenging, but not very varied levels. Smooth controls though, and some nice, fast-paced gameplay!

NiallM says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:50pm

A decent arena shooter. Feel like the collision detection could be a bit more forgiving though; quite a few times I died when I thought I'd just scraped past an enemy.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:03pm

This is pretty hard! Clever use of the 10 sec in binary :)

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:12pm

i'm glad you guys like it ^^
this is my first game for the Ludum dare and my first game with Game Maker too so i didn't expect to make something that could be actually enjoyable :D

Bernhard says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Whoa it's hard >_< But feels very complete, well done!

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:18pm

The graphics could be better as they are quite harsh when seen all together. It would also be nice to have the different enemies have different behaviors, instead of just chasing you.

I like the game overall though. It's simple and could do with more but a very good first effort.

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Okay game, but the download was a bit of a hassle :P

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:51pm

A nice little game, although quite hard. Almost managed to finish the third level, but died anyway :-( Congratulations!
Maybe doing a smoother transition from one level to another would be helpful ; also, the player does not continue shooting even it it was shooting before changing levels. That made me die a lot of time.

Kurisu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:44pm

The game felt more like a puzzle game because of the difficulty. I was not able to finish map two and it was a bit annoying to do the first one over and over again when I had already found the solution. A "try again" button would have been nice.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Hard game .... but I like hard games ... but you could turn it down a notch

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Really nice, really fast paced and really hard. Pretty much forces you to quickly become the same skill level as the developer but was still pretty enjoyable. Maybe let the player have some rest, and make the current version some sort of hard mode or something. Other than that, nice job.

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:33am

I agree with Kurisu and Jellycakes.

I really liked the music at first but the game is so hard and you die so fast that you're constantly hearing the level one and menu music starting one after the other, and it makes them get old.

The gameplay is too hard but it's addictive and fun at the core. Unfortunately, for me, the game crashes. Twice, each time after a few minutes of play.

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:00pm

@Jedi it's strange, no one told me about crashes so i tough it was pretty rock solid. Now it's kind of too late to fix it, but i'd like to know what OS are you using and your pc specs :)

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

cute

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:03pm

another TDGame, but too hard thogh
I like everything in this game except hardness ((

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Nice and unique mood. Love the art style!

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Yeah, sorry, I should have told you before.
The weirdest thing about my system is that I'm running Windows server 2008 (it's kinda vista-y, and I'd get rid of it if I could).
Also I have 8g Ram, intel chipset and nvidia card.

Buuut if I had to guess, other testers may just not have played it enough. I spend a lot more time than average on each game I play. I was able to reproduce the problem a third time, but only by dying and restarting a bunch on purpose. When it happens, it happens right after I die.

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

...And I'm just telling you for academic sake. Don't go fixing it just for my sake :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]