August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gas and Air!

by tripleVisionGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have only 10 seconds of fuel left, use it carefully.

PRO TIP: the further the mouse from the balloon, the faster it moves...

Intended as a more sedate endless runner, with moments that require careful control and a bit of forward thinking.

I'll be updating with more content after I've played and voted on all of your games! Be sure to leave me a comment or message me @triplevisgames with a link to your entry :)

Please don't uprate the sound score for the awesome music (but do if you like the sounds - I made those) as it's taken from the royalty free website: incompetech.com as I ran out of time D:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Graphics4.54
#33Audio3.77
#72Mood3.65
#79Overall3.72
#326Fun3.22
#436Humor2.45
#639Theme3.09
#683Innovation2.79

Comments

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:05am

Love it. Really soothing and looks fantastic.

Cherno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:18am

The graphics for this are seriously amazing! I think I may try a hand-drawn sketch look for my next Ludum Dare, it looks awesome! :)

Quite a hard game as well. Not sure about the replay value. Maybe if the map had more variation / random generation or something. But hey, that graphics make it impossible to criticize.

Delta Square says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26am

Good graphics, good audio. A suggested improvement would be to let the player control the speed a bit more. Accelerating forward increases the general environment speed, which enables you to skip the empty portions.

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28am

I love the look, and the game is suitably frustrating - picking up oil is a bit like playing an endless runner version of Lunar Lander :)

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:29am

I love the graphics :)

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:35am

Wow, this game is very good looking. It's very fun, too, but somewhat frustrating.

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46am

Great music, gorgeous graphics. Really nice style to it, and it's fun too.

dingotime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:49am

Impressive visual style and animations!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01am

Awesome. I LOVE the graphical style and music. Pretty fun to play.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31am

Excellent job. The visuals are spot on for my tastes! Had some real rage inducing balloon rides where I just missed some oil barrels. Well done :0)

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

I love the feel of this game. All the elements of the game merge together very nicely.

DavidBittner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

Fantastic game! Really great sound, and I loved the art style. Although, I sometimes found the camera to move a little slowly.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

Graphics and audio were the best part of this game. Wasn't really that fun to play but I loved the style! (maybe cause I'm a sucker for steampunk or 1910s games)

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

Interesting twist on lunar lander that fits perfectly with the theme. The rough hand-drawn artwork actually works well with this game giving it an 1800's type of adventure feel.

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20am

Those are some impressive graphics and audio. I'm a little curious as to why I lose speed when I accelerate in an up/forward direction.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52am

Looks beautiful, especially the explosion!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39am

Feels good. So so good. I always love a mouse-only based game.

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05am

I don't always leave comments, but when i do... That's really-really stylish. Good work.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43am

Really nice and efficient graphic identity.
Took me some time to understand control.

YopSolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48am

really nice !

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

Hard! But every death is enjoyable :)
The game has a great mood but I don't know how to rate this since the mood can be conveyed by the music...

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05am

Overall: amazing! I assume maximum 1 hour of gameplay, but after that, it may be boring. Perfect for an LD48 game anyway! 4/5
Innovation: runner game with limited resources. Not that limited usually, but concept is pretty simple. 2/5
Fun: Absolute joy, but exponentially decreasing by the time. Keeps me playing anyway. 3/5 (but 4 also wouldn't be too much)
Theme: perfectly covers the first thought of people about "10 seconds". 5/5
Graphics: no way to give less than the max! This pencildrawn-style is perfectly awesome no matter that either if you actually did it by hand or in computers. I loved it even in Machinarium. 5/5
Audio: no matter where did you get it, still fits to the game. Other sounds are also good. No reason to give less than the max. 5/5
Humor: I can't see any of them in it. 1/5
Mood: steampunk. With pencil graphics and violin music. No need to say anything else. 5/5

hughsk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:20am

Amazing job with the art in this one :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

Thanks everyone! I'm due home tonight so I'll get playing your entries then. There's some cool looking games out there :D

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

Great graphics. The little details like the reflection do matter.

wallmasterr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:04pm

I realy like hand drawn games :D, nice explosions and good music that set the mood

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Best looking game I've played so far for sure. And pretty difficult too!

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Love the graphics and simplicity of this

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Very pretty and my new favourite take on free runners. Once you learn to plan ahead, take things slow and remain nice and level; this becomes an incredibly relaxing free runner.

Regardless of the music source, the sound effects were chunky and satisfying, the game has a fairly strict difficulty cliff and, once figured out, doesn't get much harder. Perhaps more variety.

None the less, beautiful game, very relaxing, if developed further I would love to play this on a phone, I'd buy the finished version of this. It's a great 5 minute time killer.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Awesome grafics, i love it!

bufbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Very very nice ! I like everything, specially the music and the graphics, fantastic !

Slader16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Awesome, I got to 2000 feet!

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I know the music fits, but it's still unfair to those who create their music themself. Frankly, since you used incompetech, IMO you should have entered this entry as Jam version :P
my audio score is therefore only based on the sounds
the graphics are great though

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Wow. That SPLODIN' animation !!

This looks gorgeous. The balloon feels nice. Understandable lack of variation in the terrain, given the time restraints. Actually think this might be more fun as a vertical Balloon Trip / Lunar Lander hybrid? Go higher and higher, see weird Laputa-type things, collect hard to reach fuel?

Would have enjoyed the bombast of the music a bit more if the song would have started over when setting out, and if there was a nice, chill "you're planning your expedition" song, or a "wow that didn't work out" song inbetween trips.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Nice, I really love the pace of the game and the hand drawn artwork. I got 822ft, but that's only 'cause there are so many to rate, will come back later. :-)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Wow, I love the artwork.

justi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Good work, simple and amazing graphics. Flash rulez!

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Thats really cool, love the art, really well done! a lot of fun too!

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Unbelievable! Nicely done and fun.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I feel like this game would make an amazing android... The game is brilliant. I love it.

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nicely done, the graphics are very simple and cute. I found it hard to play though and I think it`s an obvious application of the theme 10 seconds...

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Looks really great.
Sounds really great.
Plays really great.

I hope you continue to develop it in the October Challenge

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Gorgeous graphics and fun gameplay. Nice job

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Great game!

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Fantastic art and audio! Incredible! Pretty fun too, but takes awhile to warm up to the mechanics.

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04pm

A maser piece :D

samgj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15pm

This is my favorite game so far. Too bad I can't vote.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15pm

The art style is simply amazing. I love the sketched feel. The game required thought and the level of creativity shows. Nicely done!

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

This is beautiful visually and auditorily great job :D

bombjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Great graphics !

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

You are not allowed to use music somebody else made in the 48 contest :/

But it's still a great game, love the graphics!

bukt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Nothing special, but very beatiful. You're pretty good :) Hope to see your next game :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

2396 ft. in the first play.. then I've dozens where I didn't made even one thousand :D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32pm

This is a fantastic game. fits perfect.

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Outstanding!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04pm

awesome visual style

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15pm

The graphics are so awesome, I love the style. Love it.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Very stylish... nicely drawn explosion.

Ninquo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:16pm

for me the best looking game so far, hands down ;)

bobylito says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49pm

The textured paper is really a nice touch.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Fantastic aesthetics - so much attention to detail. Would give more feedback but I have to go play it some more.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

8546ft! Beautiful looking and sounding game! Love the style!

The gameplay itself is pretty bland though. game proceeds slow, and the only obstacles are icebergs. The game is stunning visually, but needs much more objects and hazards to stay interesting to play.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Thanks for the comments everyone! I'm want to play, rate and comment at least 500 games this year, then I'll start working on a more interesting version of this after the voting has finished - I spent most of the time getting the feel right on the balloon and polishing once I'd got the basic gameplay in, then I ran out of time!

Also PRO TIP #2 = remember you can still move back if you overshoot slightly. Just make sure the mouse is all the way left to get the most sideways movement that way!

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

*FANTASTIC* visuals, think it's the best visual implementation of the hand-scribbled style I've ever seen.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Amazing graphics, simple but good gameplay, didn't get the theme though..

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:16am

Aw man, this looks amazing. The gameplay is basic but personally I enjoy that, plus for the vibe of the game it really fits.

igleyy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:15am

Simple and amazing!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:25pm

5/5 for the audio. The game use simple mechanics but it's very addictive.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Such a happy, great-looking game :D

The difficulty curve was, well, more like a difficulty very-high-step-and-then-just-flat-ground since after I managed to grab the first oil drum I could pretty much keep going as far as I wanted.

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:29pm

That was great, really like the artistic style.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:48am

Great sound, graphics, gameplay, all great. Had a hard time getting oil, but I guess this is a good thing =)

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:32am

the aesthetic and atmosphere were superb. awesome music, too!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

Nice artstyle and game-idea!

And I wondered if that was a KevinMcLeod-track :P

deathray says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:15am

5 stars for graphics and mood!

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:15pm

great graphics great music

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

good job

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:23am

Graphics are nice and music is fitting, even though it's not yours.

flavio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

Really beautiful, but really hard too ! I think that when you raise the graphics quality like you did, you need to make the game easier ! I would have love to go further, but getting only one of the oil barrel is so damn hard ! In the end, I felt a little frustrated because it is lovely and I can get further !

rpmoura says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:01am

I liked the graphics, sound and gameplay, but it's not very original...

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:16am

Just wow!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:12am

I love the sketchy art style and the background music :)

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Very nice presentation!
A little too hard to refuel, I think.

Nice work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:54pm

This game impression me a lot! Epic sound! Graphic is pretty cool too! Good luck!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:39pm

just fantastic graphics but very had to control -- nice effort

Sascha says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Wonderful entry. Love the style, hand-drawn art, and the simple but challenging gameplay!

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Good work! great graphics

netmute says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:04pm

I loved the art, really nicely drawn.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:14pm

To call this game "polished" would be an insult. This game is a masterpiece! The art is beyond words! It is so simple yet so great. I can't get the stupid oil though. Music was amazing, collision detection was spot on. Amazing work for such a small amount of time. Keep it up! 9.5/10

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Very cool visuals but the game begins to get boring after a while.

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Very nice hand-drawn art!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]