August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The GOSH signal

by tompudding - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Do you love digital signal processing? How about number transcription? Badly emulated UNIX prompts? Terrible voice acting?

If any of the above catch your fancy, you might like "The GOSH signal", the latest techno-noir thriller game from the author of such previous classics as "Dinosaurs must Die!!!" and "Cancel Christmas!"

Please note, when you get to the Lab area, the signal analysis is not a joke. To progress you really will have to bust out a calculator (or a computer program) and get solving. If anyone does this I will be astonished!

For Mac and Linux, you can run the source directly if you install pygame and pyopengl (on Ubuntu install packages python-pygame and python-opengl).

Edit : Updated to reduce the texture size to hopefully work on older cards

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Audio3.59
#184Humor3.06
#325Innovation3.30
#417Mood2.90
#518Overall3.09
#766Fun2.68
#789Graphics2.50
#1060Theme2.44
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

itamarcu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:38am

Both the BAT file and the EXE file don't seem to work for me - After opening them, the game window will shop up for about half a second and then crash (?). I am using the Windows version (I have Windows XP).

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52am

Worked fine here (Windows too). I gave up on the analysis part. I actually already had to cheat to get the password for the diary (is it in the game somewhere too? directly I mean, not the little hint you have there)

tompudding says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28am

itamarcu: if you could post the errorlog.log file that should be created when it fails to launch that would be immensely helpful.

Endurion: Yes the password can be found just by using that computer (though it kind of assumes a little UNIX / coding experience). Thanks for giving it a go!

Lo-X says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Nice ideas, it was a little bit hard for me too but I assume you can take that idea to do a game that would be accessible to (almost) anyone.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Was quite amusing and loved the voice over track!
Had no issues with it. Got lost a bit sometimes though.
Especially with the commands on computer, i got ls and cd but had issues opening files? echoing? printing? editing? not sure what it was for that

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Couldn't run it

drilltail says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

Certainly one of the nerdiest games that I've ever played. That in itself isn't a bad thing, but it definitely limits the game's playing demographic, and even makes it potentially really frustrating. But I assume that you already realize this.

Personally, I enjoyed this game; it was definitely something different.

However, I couldn't guess the diary password so I, like Endurion, had to look in the game files to find it.

I managed to legitimately complete the rest of the game; the way to log into the next computer was pretty hilarious.

I wrote a little program (like you suggested) to make doing the signal math considerably less painful. I don't think I've ever done that for a video game before...

A question, though: is there an error on the whiteboard that tells you how to read the signal? In the example, s and c(t) are both negative, yet s / c(t) is also negative? That threw me off a bit.

Also, voice acting! Nice!

tompudding says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:54am

Woohoo, I'm super impressed that you decoded the signal! Especially with the silly mistake on the whiteboard (I can't believe I missed that, the value of s should be positive, good catch!).

It certainly wasn't my intention to be frustrating. My original plan had been for the lab computer to be some kind of guided program to help decode the signal (with a cool low-res style graph), but I ran out of time.

For the first computer I forgot to put the commands you could run into /bin to give a hint, so that's ended up harder than I'd planned too :( If anyone reads this far, they are: cat, cd, pwd, ls, strings and file. I think next time I'll still make a ridiculous niche game about some geeky topic, but I'll make sure I put some kind of hinting system in to prevent actively annoying people.

Thanks for the feedback!

drilltail says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:54am

Those plans sounded cool! I'll be sure to check out what you make next time. I really appreciate super niche games that have a lot of thought put into them.

Oh, and I forgot to ask: what exactly was "6209" in the first computer, when you use the ls command?

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15am

Just love this game, does that say anything about me? The voice was really well done and the "puzzles" are really great.
Although I'm stuck after decoding the message, I don't know what to do with it. Help?

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:36am

I love games like this. Remind me of those early Interplay games like Wasteland and Fountain of Dreams. Excellent Job!

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Cool concept, but I really couldn't get very far into it..

reheated says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Nice! Good puzzles and I thought your voice acting was great. I really like the idea of making the player solve problems with a calculator/computer, and we're just about the best audience for that.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Well, it got me to look up linux commands, so I guess I've learned something :P Interesting game, but too hard for me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]