August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum Dare

by Dir3kt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A true story, kind of.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#20Humor4.02
#42Theme3.96
#79Innovation3.81
#187Fun3.42
#246Overall3.40
#323Mood3.05
#442Audio2.74
#664Graphics2.71

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

Ohh, self-referential. Nice idea!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38am

Ludumtastic !
The idea is neat and evolution of the presentation along the points give some dynamism.
Also I like the way choices interact with votes.

I guess this game is my only opportunity to win a LD :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01pm

The best game I've tried so far, man!

Afal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

the only way to win is not to play

link2x101 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

The hectic nature of Ludum Dare in a nutshell.
Fun, and funny, you've managed a nice blend of minimalism and evolution alongside the theme.

That, and 10 seconds remaining is a feel I can relate to.

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I can never break past the top 100 in anything, but theme. Hey, I'll take what I can get. The concept of this game seems perfect for a mobile title.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I wasn't expecting this. I also was kinda confused because of the screen shoot.

Turns out this is, albeit simple, quite nice. :)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Now I understand why!

goyal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27am

Haha. If you always select 'yes' to everything the result is NO and if you always select 'no' to everything the result is still again NO. I guess that makes sense. Thats a life lesson right there.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

Cool Idea! I played it and feel as I really work on ludumdare. There is no time to think. Make games on just reflexes =)

LemonTree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Wow! Really great!

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

yeah man, nice one ! At least i tried :D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:19pm

hehe... i don't get it... my games in this game sucks ^^ Cool idea...

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Pressing the left mouse button really destroys the quality of my entry. ;-)

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I noticed to left a comment on my post, I recognize your profile image from other sites... You have an OUYA, correct? Also, very cool game! I am going to have a couple beers because my game doesn't have any humor :)

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Great concept. Nice use of the theme man.
Very well executed for 48 hours.
Good work =)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Good game, nice graphics...
This was actually fun, and educational... I shouldn't drink those beers! :)
Maybe I'll score somewhere decent one day! :P NO!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

Neat Ludum Dare simulator. I didn't understand why it asks the questions without the meter at first, and then with the meter after. My best results were: #1 Theme #1 Fun #1 Mood #1 Overall #23 Audio #152 Graphics #206 Innovation #451 Humor

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Ludum Dare in a nutshell.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

Good sense of humor, enjoyed it.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Ahahaha, really good idea, but 10 second it's a bit short.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Amaaaaazing.

The presentation getting better is a great touch.

HD408 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Cool game, I like how the graphics switch as you progress.

Somehow, I've got "#0" for Innovation with 4.29.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Genius! Too bad thats in real life my IDE may launch longer than 10 seconds. X)

Sestren says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Great take on the theme, and nice use of meta. You've captured the stress and silliness of the jam very well, here.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:08pm

10 seconds is too short but cool game

lightsoda says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Hah, cool idea. I'm sure we can all relate ;)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Inconsequential, but good-looking and polished, and kept me entertained for some time. The only technical problem I could find was that sometimes the music (which is good, by the way) seemed to start up at random.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:26am

Meta humor is the BEST kind of humor. It's pretty short, but I quite like it. The upgrading of the UI is a nice touch.

The only thing that I didn't like was that voting "No" on negative things didn't do anything at all. It makes sense, but you are really unlucky if you get a streak of negative things as it gives you no way to improve the result. Apart from that, it's a reaction game, but that introduces an unnecessary portion of luck.

PS: "#1 Innovation - at least you tried." Yeah, I'd be pretty sad too.

Pacaco says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:55am

Hi Di3kt, Make a game Game creator here :)
Thanks for the comment. I came to check out your game, it actually is similar :D
I think yours is much more polished, the game looks really good, and your method of increasing each category is much more fun and humorous than mine :)
Good work!

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Interesting game. Although I doubt I would be able to finish a game for the LD in 10 seconds.

Laelien says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I AM SO NUMBER 1 IN THEME.
I lol'd, like, really. This is both stupid and excellent. Great job !

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:44am

Ludumtastiiiic!! It doesn't matter if a game has poor graphics, the sound sucks, is shorter than a blink, the text has much as 6 mistakes per sentence, if it is original and stands as something unique there is always place for it in the community, that's my reading of the game, it captures a lot the spirit of the event.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Familiar

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Nice work! We have all been there man. Haha. Glad to see you pulled through and at least made something! Nice sounds, good graphics, solid take on the theme. Keep it up! 8/10.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Number one in 4 categories! I finally did it!
What? Only a simulation?

Darn.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]