August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mirror's Face

by OrangeeZ - Jam Entry

About the game:

Mirror's Face is a small game inspired by Mirror's Edge,
where you can climb, wallrun and even jump.


Controls:

WASD for movement
Space for jump

If you run along the wall press Space again to perform Wall Run

During the wall run you can perform Wall Jump by hitting Space

Mash Space to grab the ledge in air

Press T to restart the game

Good luck running!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#193Graphics(Jam)3.63
#423Overall(Jam)2.80
#558Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1806Coolness17%

Comments

Kurisu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56am

The controls felt clumsy. The theme was used in a too generic way for my taste.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

Controls are very sluggish

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14am

Good prototype for an extreme running game.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33am

it is hard to get the idea !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48am

You know what's the difference between a weak game and a game that has strength? A weak game you can play and still fap, a game that has strength you play and gamecoder's idea just absorbs all the space in your brain, and all the possible thoughts are "Oh God, Oh God, 10/10, Oh God dammit".

Outstanding.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Yes the controls are sluggish but nice work mate.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Your right it really does feel like mirrors edge! I like the blur effect, controls are ok for me.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08pm

I saw a countdown at the beginning, but it disappeared and it never seemed to come up again. What was it for?

I was very confused when gravity shifted without warning. I fell off the building and had to start all over again! If you're going to introduce a mechanic like that, create a signal of some sort and put it near the beginning. It looks like the red edges indicated that I could walk around the edge and shift gravity, so it would have helped to put something like that at the base of a wall and let me walk up it near the start.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:45am

Not exactly sure how the theme fit into this, but maybe I didn't get far enough along into it.
Found the controls extremely frustrating.
Map design was nice.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Motion blur + graphics were pretty sweet, controls could use some tightening though! Good job!

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Physics on this are bonkers!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]