August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Clear

by Foxtacy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi everyone

This is my entry for LD27, 10 Seconds to Clear

You must clear the screen in every stage in 10 seconds by clicking, and typing.

Feedbacks and comments are very welcome! :)

Big Thanks to Palada-san (from CogMonkeys) for the help with the art! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#274Theme3.47
#336Fun3.20
#339Humor2.65
#362Audio2.89
#397Innovation3.18
#417Mood2.90
#518Overall3.09
#965Graphics2.17

Comments

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Known issues are:

- Web version seems "laggy"


Improvements that will be made:

- Countdown or pause before starting

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Improvement that will be made:

- Improve graphics.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43am

Challenging game, even if a little too hard sometimes. Polished presentation. Only change I'd do is to use a different music style, maybe more of a lounge music style to relive the game's pressure.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31pm

It's a shame you have to start over from the beginning if you lose...
Nice game though!
I once managed to win and lose at the same time. That seemed kinda buggy...

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I agree with @pvwradtke I found it pretty damn difficult, and restarting form the beginning each time is a bit annoying. Implemented the theme well though and is :)

Tipyx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Very amusing !

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49pm

I won the whole game! I'm a regular on typeracer so I'm your target audience. I at first thought starting from the beginning again was a bad idea, but as there are so few levels it's probably for the best.

If you add more levels though you can change it so you just keep track of how many times they failed, and completing the game with the lowest amount of failures is the goal. That way we wouldn'thave to restart. Or maybe just have check points. Another thing is, you can't actually type when the sign says go. You have to wait until it disappears. I also came across the won and lost at the same time bug.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

^ that's the idea, Dream of Sleeping^ Since i want to work a little more on this game, i'll be adding A LOT more levels, and a LOT more challanges each stage! ^_^

And of course, i won't >Punish< the player so much on this new version :)

Thanks for your review! i'm going to take time to review your submission now :)

Thanks for your review

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

@Pvwradtke

Well, seems like i failed. I wanted to keep the player psyched, not pressured :C oh bummer.

@zedutchgandalf

You were not the first to notice this. Thanks for pointing that out :) i'll try to fix that.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Nice idea, the graphics are bad but I think if you improve them and add more levels it will be a cool game overall :)

lightsoda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Dang, not my usual cup o tea, but that was pretty fun. Good job on this.

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

A unique approach to the typing genre.

Paraknight says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Really fun although having to start from the beginning again every time you mess up can get a little frustrating for a slow typer like me. :P

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

@Paranight Fixed this

Also tried to correct the win/lose screen showing at the same time. Can someone try to replicate this bug? Thanks!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Nice idea, but.. Why you used small-resoulution images for big sized buttons? And why you didn't write the characters with a font, instead drawing? The graphic could be improved a lot!

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02pm

@infernet89

Yeah i'm aware of that, actually i'm not much of a 2d artist myself but anyways, yep i should have made the buttons on a higher resolution.

And yes, the characters are being drawn by font! what made you think that they weren't? =o

Thanks by the review!

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Oh my typing skills are so bad :D Sadly its impossible for me to play on a laptop as I am not fast enough with the trackpad... But still a good idea!

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

@kristof Hey thanks ^_^

Yes, a mouse is recommended to play this :)

Thanks for your review :)

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18am

That was awesome, I was laughing and screaming "Nuuuuuu!" throughout the whole thing.

Some of the mouse bits were really evil. Thank you for making this. :)

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27am

The fact that you mix keyboard typing and mouse clicking makes it quite challenging. Did you compose the music? It's pretty nice :)

feyleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44am

Wow, this was surprisingly immersive. I found myself getting frustrated but in a good way. Thanks

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

@LordHellMaX
Yep, it's my original composition! You can get it here:
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/530330

@Feyleaf

My day, is done! THANK YOU good sir! THANK YOU! ^_^

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12am

Pretty cool and fun, also challenging!
The music intensifies the tension and pressure vibe =)

I think that a graphic improvement would be great! (I know how sucks do 2D on Unity, pretty hard keep the sprites quality/scale).

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

^ AND I CAN'T DRAW PROPPERLY T^T ^

Need skillz.

evilentity says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Interesting concept. Quite hard.

HardScore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29pm

A very challenging game, good job!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Quite funny and quite challenging, but not too hard to finish. I liked it

gamepopper says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Not very good at typing games, but this one I had the most fun with.

Endurion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Nice game, nasty clickies in between :)

bigbadwofl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Very cool idea. I'm impressed.

davisan says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

Good game! A bit short, but liked the music and the idea. Maybe if you integrate somehow the music with the buttons or letters, will be pretty cool.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:11am

good job

fgielow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Nice concept. A kind difficult for my skills, trading mouse for keyboard, but well made for a ludum dare.
Like the sounds to.

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Thank you everyone~ this motivates me to keep working on this :3

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:16am

I like it! It's simple, challenging, fun. Perhaps some auditive feedback when you press something wrong would be good. Alternating between mouse and keyboard is a bit of a flow-breaker but I guess it adds to the challenge. Totally enjoyed it though!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:17am

Pretty fun game , and nice music too.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:24am

Short but pretty well done. The pace of the levels is quite good.

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:29am

@ConflictiveLabs Thanks for pointing that out, did it give you any problems?

@Raiyumi Thanks :)

@kirbytails7 Thank you, and i thought i hadn't thought well about that. hahaha :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:49am

Problems? not at all. I managed to beat the game with ease (only failed a couple of times) so it's not like the issue broke the game for me.

But when a game requires you to use both hands on the keyboard and then asks you to click on something on screen it certainly breaks the experience a bit. It takes you out of the immersion as it forces you to take one hand out of the keyboard to reach the mouse, locate the cursor on screen and perform the required action and then back to the keyboard.

That's a mistake I've seen an AWFUL lot in LD entries over the years.

If a game mixes keyboard and mouse input it should be done in such a way that both devices can be comfortably operated with one hand each.

Since your game requires the player to do some fast typing it hardly can be played with just one hand on the keyboard. You would be "wasting" the other hand on the mouse waiting for the occasional mouse input.

Having said that... in your game at least it helps to increase the tension. It doesn't feel broken but you should be careful when designing the control scheme for your games so it doesn't require to swap devices or reach for other things in the middle of the game ;)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:55am

Oh god.. typing game with mouse clicks!
Very very challenging!
Awesome job but I'm really terrible at this :c

rzfmzn says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:16pm

hahaha loved it

rodrigomotta says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Great idea. I think you must evolve the concept. Congrats.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Lool, thats funny. Thought this would be some normal typing game. But it's not, it's funny. :D I just didn't like pixelated graphics, would be much better with better.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Nice short little game, I found it really fun. Great Job!
I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 23, 2013 @ 2:16am

@Jupiter_Hadley WHOA.

Thank you VERY much! :)

I mean, whoa. i never thought i'd end up on a youtube show like this! :'D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]