August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rabbits and spaceships !

by rianoto - Jam Entry

A small game I made.

Every 10 seconds, the number of rabbits increases. But in your spaceship, they drink all your water reserve!

You have to get rid of rabbits.

In your spaceship, you have 4 destinations (these may be ice planets (+water), mining planets(+oil), agricultural planets(-rabbits) or developped planets(+crew));

Your crew can eat rabbits or burn them with oil.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#319Innovation(Jam)2.92
#546Mood(Jam)1.81
#581Theme(Jam)1.96
#604Fun(Jam)1.56
#612Overall(Jam)1.85
#614Graphics(Jam)1.32
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17am

Initially there's a lot going on here, but I played with it for a bit and started to figure it out. I did notice my rabbit value could go negative, so I think I had unlimited food? I think if you added some visuals, you could have something pretty neat.

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22am

I had a bit of trouble understanding what to do. I think it's a survival type game but not sure. Some instructions would surely help :)

rianoto says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I added some instructions immanuela, sorry, I was very tired when I finish the game, so I decided to add them later.
Drachlen, I fixed the bug of the negatives rabbits.

Thanks to have play my game :)

Mago says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Interesting idea, as some mentioned above it would be nice to add some visuals and descriptions in game. Nevertheless it was interesting to experiment and figure how things works.

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:51pm

It was a little hard to figure out exactly how often you could eat or use oil. Once I got the rhythm figured out, though, the game became quite fun. For a small game it plays quite well. Good job. My only suggestion would be to add timers or indicators of how long it is until an action completes or can be done again. Good job.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:08am

I won, but I'm really not sure why :D Anyway, congrats for writing all the JS yourself and not using an engine!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:18am

I won, but I'm not really sure how. Seems like it would be an interesting balancing act game, but I couldn't quite figure it out.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice idea but I second the suggestion of having indicators of some sort to show how long things are taking.

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:13am

very unique entry. I like the premise and the style of your game. thanks.

hypp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:59am

I didn't quite understand what to do?

Zap says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:11am

I also won without knowing what I was doing. I felt like I was just randomly clicking and everything I clicked on told me to wait.
It's a very cool premise though- reminds me of the spectacular game 'Candy box !', and could really be something with a bit more work and clarity of instructions.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]