August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hurry Up Fool

by jijaweb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control two characters. But, HURRY UP FOOL!

A,W,D and arrow keys to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#225Audio3.14
#318Graphics3.30
#359Innovation3.24
#401Overall3.21
#466Fun3.03
#582Humor2.19
#612Mood2.65
#870Theme2.80
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

You forgot to mention the controls for the second character. Other wise it was a cool idea. It was really hard though got through a couple levels. Wish there was a checkpoint system, Also could have done a little more with the theme. :) The sprite work was awesome though and good music sfx. :D

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41am

Awesome gameboy graphics. Clever idea. Extremely difficult. Good to see more and more HTML 5 games!

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11am

Nice! really-really hard! but fun! And a nice idea!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

I love the concept. Jumping was hard to get right, but a lot of retro games have that kind of jumping, so it's just me.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

that was quite interesting game, but you should mention what the things on screen do and about controls

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Finally some game with nice music (or with music at all) :) Hard game, the idea is somewhat innovate, at least for me.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

I really had fun with this, but it is really hard. Also, is it just me, or is there no way to restart without refreshing the page?

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I completed it. Nice game with solid platform mechanics and good graphics. I'd like to see more levels! I first thought you had to control both characters at once to complete a level within the time limit, but it was in every case possible to control the top character first, then the bottom one. How about creating more incentive to control both characters at once?

Dell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Great game :) It took me a few seconds to realise the reason I was dying was due to the other players negative clocks (it seems obvious now to look at them), but once I'd sussed that it was a lot of fun :) Clever idea!

The pixel art and chip tune effects are nicely done too. Good job!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Nice! I like the graphics and I hope there will be more levels to play after compo.. :)

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice game. Completed it with out realising what the clocks for bottom character do. x)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Nice game concept, and actually executed very neatly. I would have liked more levels like the last one where it was important to avoid the black clocks, since that level was awesome.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Is there any way to restart without refreshing? the graphics and sound are great, but the gameplay is so difficult having to refresh the page every time gets tedious fast.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48pm

really enjoyed the idea. at first it was a bit tricky, then i applied the chess mentality : white always starts first xD it's a shame that there are so few levels. also good job with the graphics and the music. I'd really like to see a deeper development of this game :)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:18am

A nice short platformer. Would probably have been better without the time mechanic.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:58am

Really like the look of this one, the Gameboy-inspired style works well with the concept. Holy moly it's hard though. Really fun game all the same, nicely done!

jijaweb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53am

Press enter twice to restart level.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Ooh I like this concept

tchem says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Incredible graphics and atmosphere,,, i love it,, nice gameplay, simple and fun, great work

PaulSB says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Solid little game but pretty unforgiving. Really would appreciate a bit of tolerance on the spikes considering they end you instantly. But nice effort, just a bit too tough for me to really get into.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Don't really like the gameboy colors on such a large canvas, but the sprites were good. Didn't get too far with the hard jumps, but nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]