August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Heart of Scrap

by mr_tag - Jam Entry

You are a Scrap Pilot, competing in a strange spaceship battle where you have to plan each round (10 seconds) in advance. And the only thing you can do while the battle is raging is watch! (and hope that your settings and assumptions were correct :)

In between rounds you can buy upgrademodules for your ship and plan what the modules should do for the next round.

Heart of Scrap is a strategic 2 player hotseat game (players take turns planning their rounds). But you can also play it against yourself and try crazy builds!

Controls are explained in the intro (you only need the keys 1-4, spacebar and the mouse).
EDIT: it seems like there is some more explaining neccessary :)
I'll explain it with an example: if you want to place a thruster, you press '4' on your keyboard, move your mouse to your ship and place the module with the left mousebutton. ESC cancels the buying mode again. To configure your thruster, simply click on it, hold the mousebutton and drag it in the direction in which you want the thruster to point. (the same goes for the guns!) Without this configuration your thrusters and guns won't do anything!!

Heart of Scrap was done by:
Patrick (Graphics and Music) and Dominik (Programming) from Chasing Carrots ( www.chasing-carrots.com )

Tools used:
Flashpunk ( http://useflashpunk.net/ )
Box2DFlash ( http://www.box2dflash.org/ )
Flashdevelop
3D Studio MAX
Photoshop
Bosca Ceoil ( http://distractionware.com/blog/2013/08/bosca-ceoil/ )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#85Innovation(Jam)3.53
#126Graphics(Jam)3.89
#269Overall(Jam)3.16
#328Fun(Jam)2.84
#414Theme(Jam)2.84
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

immanuela says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Graphics are great! I realy like this hotseat idea. The only problem is, I can't seem to work out how to buy the items! I've clicked and spacebar-ed but nothing purchases for me. Still, the idea is so good (I've not come across it before) that you get a good rating from me for the concept.

mr_tag says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54am

you select the item with the number keys (on your keyboard :) the items and their prices are shown ingame in the lower right corner.
after you pressed a number key you can place the module with the mouse next to your ship (player1 left, player2 right)

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Like the idea a lot. Too bad I can't play this with some friends at the moment :(

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:54am

Really cool idea, I had trouble clicking on the modules to change course/etc., but figured I could do it after placing them all. Nice work!

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Liked the idea a lot, a bit less the execution... These games need AI to work in a competition where most judges are 4everalone (like yours truly :P) and can't play with another person... Anyways, good visuals and solid idea! Good work! (If you made it so that you only get 10 seconds to buy stuff for your ship, you would have gotten higher on theme as well :P)

mr_tag says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:44am

@01010111: thanks! you can cancel the buy mode with the ESC key... we forgot to mention that in the ingame instructions, but it is an important key :)

@esayitch: thanks! we tried to limit the buy mode to 10 seconds in the beginning but it was too frenetic and random for my taste...
and yeah, ai would have been very nice. unfortunately we didn't have time for it. you can try doing your own challenges in singleplayer though: only reinforce player2 with armor every turn (maybe only one armormodule every turn?) or something like that :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Very fun with two players, but matches can be a bit long.

We were confused at the beginning but then realised what we had to do.

Antidote says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:29am

This idea alone has some great potential! Unfortunately, it's a huge advantage to player 2 right now, who can plan their strategy because they get to see what player 1 tries to do.

I think this would best be executed with online play where the players simultaneously take their turns, but can't see what the other is doing, or just single player against enemy AI (wouldn't even have to be another ship, could just be enemies with varying behaviour).

Either way, the graphics are beautiful! :)

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Really liked this, a lot more tactical than I first thought.

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:58am

veyr great idea !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]