August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Urvas

by mitkus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An epic roguelike game of tactical thinking and spells of mass destruction.

You are a mighty old wizard and have performed many great deeds and adventures during your life. Your greatest foe now is the time itself - you forgot almost all the spells you once knew and the hand of death is on your shoulder. But there is a way to step into existence beyond time! You gather your last strength and venture into the Cave of Power. The journey there cost you your last strength. In fact, you have precisely 10 seconds left to live. You stand at the entrance, gripping the Stone of Immortals, which sucks the lifeforce of fallen enemies and pushes your death away bit by bit.

Source code can be found at:
http://code.google.com/p/quibble

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#55Overall3.83
#88Fun3.61
#104Theme3.75
#154Innovation3.61
#313Mood3.06
#326Graphics3.29
#693Humor2.00
#986Audio1.21

Comments

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

Nice to see a Roguelike that is actually a Roguelike, and I love that you force people to use vi controls just like Rogue (being completely serious here!) Also cool that your game is under 1 MB. Keep up the great work!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31am

HJKL to move, are you mad?! Other than that, I couldn't figure out how to do anything other than bring up the spell menu. Moving didn't work; I really wanted to play it.

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37am

A very clever, elegant roguelike. Pretty fun when you figure out the strategy. I like this one.

shubshub says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32am

An Interesting Concept and was Fun and Innovative
Great try :)

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11am

Actually, either hjkl or arrows can be used! And if moving doesn't work, that's a bug. You control the white @ sign btw.

T1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33am

A simple screenshot doesn't do justice to how nice the graphics and effects look in-game. The readability and controls of the game are very crisp.

I like how important strategy is in this, and how balanced it feels. Making turns reminds me of playing chess.

Usually i can think of multiple suggestions on what to improve in a game, but this game is just so well thought-out and executed that i wouldn't change a thing!

Haven't finished the game yet, but for those that did, some extra challenges:
• Beat a room using melee only.
• Leave a clean room.

P.S. Had a level generated without the "@" once, crashed on trying to target a spell to figure out where i am!

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Quite nice,
but the controls are akward

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Perfect idea for the theme.

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

For a roguelike the graphics were very elegant and clean. I was a bit confused at first what to do, and it seems like you can just kill anything instantly with a fireball. Maybe I just need to go deeper?

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Any possibility you could publish a pre-compiled linux build?

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Nice and geeky, always wanted to play one of those ASCII roguelike games but never got the chance (I don't even know if Rogue was ASCII). Nice when someone does something for a niche audience.

Does it run in a terminal? (Playing this from OSX and I can't tell if that's the case)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40pm

I really enjoyed this game for multiple reasons. 1) It was polished, the controls did what they said, and it had good flow. 2) The spell effects did a lot to enhance typical ascii graphics. 3) Roguelike random, infinite playability, maximizing entertainment for a 48 hour scope.

It took me a minute to realize killing things gave you more time (duh) but after that it took off. Great work.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Super take on the theme! Lovely game. I enjoyed the graphics a lot. They remind me of dwarf fortress, just shiner.
The push 'animation' is awesome. Add some deep, caveish sounds and it is perfect :)

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Yeah, all enemies have 1 hp - this was a decision by me. And no, it doesn't run in a real terminal, I just draw all graphics using low-res bitmap font. I'll try to make precompiled linux build tomorrow!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I had a very difficult time understanding the mechanics of this one

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20pm

The visuals are very simple and you've pulled off a certain amount of polish.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Awesome! I played this for quite a while, really enjoyable, although be it a bit repetitive with having to press S each time for spells, but the theme was executed excellently

mitkus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:25am

Joxno - you can actually press the corresponding number for a spell without bringing up the spell menu!

kratorspore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Loved this a perfect working of the theme into a roguelike.

Kidney says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I found the pacing and challenge of the game to be great. It drew me and got me involved in the mechanics and strategy almost instantly. Very nice take on an acsii roguelike.

Erhune says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Very nice and strategic roguelike!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:21am

It took me a while to figure out that killing the Golems got you more time, but once I did, it because super fun! Bookmarking this one for later.

shard123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Simply amazing, loved the game play, one of the best I've played this compo!

foumart says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Really enjoyable roguelike! Planeshift left me with only 1 sec :o I like the "wait" ai rejection but maybe a "call" spell is needed (with casting time 1)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]