August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unreliable Robots

by UntitledQ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the only employee who hasn't quit yet and need to program robots to replace your colleagues!
While the robots were cheap, they'll also not work for more than 10 seconds and easily blow up...

Please refrain from bumping the walls too much, the collision reaction code is a bit flaky (this is the last time I'm writing my own collision code, I swear!). Keep in mind, it was either this way or simply letting robots blow up immediately on collision detection...

You might need:
- Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable
x86: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555
x64: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=14632
- DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010)
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109

________________________

The post compo version contains ~4-5 additional hours of work done a few days after the compo. It does not alter gameplay or add content, but instead aims at fixing the most glaring usability problem and improving the tutorials. The changes are:
- Replaced my collision code with Box2D. Physics of movement are exactly the same, but collisions are now crisp and reliable.
- Now fast forwards the time you'd otherwise have to wait idly at 5x speed when you click a robot.
- Made the tutorial text clearer and added a hint for when you can press a button or pick something up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#61Innovation3.88
#115Theme3.73
#296Fun3.26
#508Humor2.29
#548Overall3.06
#589Graphics2.82
#913Mood2.23
#937Audio1.44

Comments

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Had fun driving around and interacting with myself! Nice mechanic for puzzling. :) I am sure I make a teapot lover somewhere happy.

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

I couldnt manage to get the controls to work properly. But other than that it is a good concept.

small trouble says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Really fun idea, quite different from the other games I've played so far.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Cool idea. Reminds me a little bit of Ratchet and Clank Crack in Time. I can clip through any walls btw.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very nice mechanic, and I love the use of ten seconds!

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I love the idea of programming robots just by driving them in stead of let them make the calculations, i cant pass the first level, it's a bit difficult for me but it is cool, it reminds me of RoboCode, the maker was in my college teaching us about robots AI. Cool. Thanks for the code!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Interesting idea, but the game itself is confusing at best and tedious at worst. I also have to wonder why it was 3D instead of 2D.

UntitledQ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Thanks for all the comments!

I'm very sad the collision mechanics turned out as terrible as they did. They worked pretty well when I first wrote them (you certainly couldn't just go through walls at a 90° angle...), but then I had to tweak some acceleration values to balance a level and it all crumbled.
I'll probably look into integrating a proper engine like Box2D into this game as an exercise.

@Kyle Mac:
I chose 3D over 2D because I'm a terrible artist and I prefer the look I'm getting from defining some shapes in 3D space and putting on some simple textures. It also works quite nicely during recording, better than I'd imagine it being in 2D, although it's true that the gameplay ended up taking place in a plane only.
I'm not sure why you found the game confusing, but I can see what aspect could be tedious: something I definitely would have wanted to add in retrospect is an option to fast forward the simulation so one could begin recording immediately, without waiting for the cycle to end.

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Its a cool concept and quite a fun game.

I found it incredibly confusing to start with, as the instructions are not particularly clear. I spent a few cycles at first just clicking the robot and nothing happened so I clicked it again etc and so your tutorial/instruction screen didn't show up. Then once it did I spent a few cycles moving the robot round with no idea what I was trying to do. I took quite a while to work out that I needed to press space when the robot is somewhere near, but not too near the teapot to pick it up without exploding it. Once all these realisations had happened it all seemed more obvious, but it certainly wasn't clear from the in game instructions how to proceed (or perhaps I just missed something).

teamenschede says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05pm

this game is awesome. Once you get the hang of it. It's hard to figure out the order of things sometimes, but that's the game. What I really would like is a reset button, now I have to replay bots to do nothing, so it doesn't mess up the setup of other bots.

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23pm

That was pretty original and really good. I loved it.

Norgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Utah Teapot nostalgia.

rejome says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:31pm

One of the most complete game I ever played on this contest. Interesting concept, nicely executed. Bugs and approximative gameplay make it difficult to feel all the fun it could give. Also we miss sound! Good job anyway.

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nice game! The concept is a bit similar to mine (yours might be easier to handle ;) )!

sergilazaro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I loved it! I think I would have liked it more if it wasn't first person control, but that's alright. Also awesome that you use the famous Teapot! :D

mutilator says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:18am

At first I found the game quite confusing. It seems like a fun idea/concept and with a few tweaks would be a great game.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:27am

Nice mechanic. It's a bit slow with having to wait a cycle before switching robots.

crazyrems says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:04am

A pretty good entry. Well made, smooth to play. Very good tutorial.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]