August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DINOstruction - Evolution in a matter of seconds

by Tim Kaldor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rumor has it that the dinosaurs were wiped out by a asteroid, the truth is they were wiped out by time travelling future you! Can you repeat this epic feat now that they can produce offspring in ten seconds and evolve in an instant? (spoiler: no, no you cant, but please try)

Anyway, Enjoy!

My High Score: 3187

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#610Overall3.00
#633Humor2.11
#647Fun2.81
#650Graphics2.74
#656Theme3.07
#735Innovation2.74
#819Mood2.39

Comments

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Pretty cool game. Like your take on the theme. Get's a little repetitive after a while though and i think the character should move quicker.

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Controls feel a bit sticky because the guy doesn't move fluidly.

wtfrara says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Nice retro feel to it.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Controls like old GTA with the same flaws and it is repetitive but you know what, it's a solid game after 48 hours that used the theme well. I had a play through not touching any eggs which put a spin on it, shift sprint became required. Plus it has dinosaurs!

Tim Kaldor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Thanks for all the feedback, it is nice to have people actually playing the experimental games I make.

I was hoping to add a second parallel set of dinos that walked about randomly, so rather than just being able to run rings around them you would also have to dodge these other dinos. Plus it was going to evolve to shoot lasers out of its eyes when you were in line with it... I think it would have spiced it up a bit but thats the nature of the game, and it was good fun.

Whiteclaws says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

The game repetitive pretty fast , making it faster would make it better in my opinion , more eggs in less time and faster dinos from the start

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:13pm

497 :'(
Yeah, it would've felt better with less sticky controls, but the idea is nice!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I love the premise, murdering all the dinosaur eggs is kind of hilarious.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:45am

Cool interpretation of the theme, but yeah, it will be cool if the character move quicker ^^

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:48am

Great way to increase the difficulty on an 'endless' game. Wondering how far things go as I could only last until 3 stages of evolution.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:49am

Good game and well executed. If you have time to work on it more it would be nice to see some audio, and a win condition perhaps

Marcellus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

nice gameplay, nice theme use, high score make replayability, reminds me of snake on nokia phones, could totally play this game on my mobile in the train to try to beat my high score (2100) :) good job !

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:51am

I really like the idea of the enemy evolution mechanic. I just wish I lived long enough to see what was after dinosaur level 2.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]