August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

INSTIGATION

by Steve Cochrane - 48 Hour Compo Entry

INSTIGATION is a match-three puzzle game and Space Invaders fan fiction. Find out why they invaded Earth!

CONTROLS:
- Left and right arrows: move left or right
- Z: shift the blocks in your column up by 1 (or hold the down arrow and press Z to shift down)
- X: lift the block you're standing on, press again to set it down
(If the controls are unresponsive at first, click on the game to give it focus)

OBJECTIVE:
Match the trash blocks sent by the humans to stay alive as long as possible. Falling blocks will stun you if you're hit. A horizontal bar of blocks will fall every 10 seconds, so watch out! If any blocks are sitting above the dotted line it's Game Over.

Good luck and thanks for playing!

Game programmed with Flixel - http://flixel.org
Audio programmed with Shaun Inman's TextMate MML Bundle - http://shauninman.com/archive/2010/02/13/an_mml_bundle_for_textmate/
Personal site: http://stevecochrane.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/stevecochrane/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#121Fun3.54
#150Audio3.30
#153Overall3.55
#189Innovation3.54
#333Mood3.04
#348Graphics3.26
#375Humor2.60
#1038Theme2.49

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

Nice idea! Haven't seen anything like it before.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Wow! Awesome game, great work. Very simple, easy to get a hang of, reminds me of a project I started a long time ago and never finished :) I might have to try and do something with it now.

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

It's a good game. I like it, Glad you can't die, that'd be not fun... Annnnnd I couldn't stop looking at the smileyface in the sand. :P

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

Nice music. Sounded like legit tracker music. I liked the concept. It was like a mix between bejeweled, tetris, and a platformer. I found it could have been a little more challenging in the starting levels or a faster ramp up would have been nice. A pleasant experience overall.

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15am

Great little puzzle game!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

Loved that it was B&W. Neat idea. Good game :)

Supercannon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17am

Unique, and fun. Great work.

Sinuath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18am

Your game rocked! Took me a minute to realize what was going on though, some in game instructions would have been awesome.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31am

Jesus the game feel is amazing. My only possible qualm is that the art style and gameplay are too minimalist, but so far this has been the most fun to play yet.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15am

funny little game :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14am

This one's a lot of fun, I really like the minimalist monochrome style you've got going on with this as well. It's not hard to imagine it as some rediscovered old classic handheld game or something. Simply a great little piece of work.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:16am

It's so retro; I love it! Can the introduction possibly be skipped, however?
The music is fantastic!

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17am

Wouuu! Thats a casual game at Ludum Dare style, yeah!
Overall, is a really good game with innovative gameplay and well done. The audio and graphics are engaging and fits at perfection. The bad part? Is a bit slow, but, nothing else.
Congratz for your game, and have fun!

--Error #3104: Theme relation not found--

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:50am

Casual game, I would like it a bit harder.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:23am

Overall a very solid and polished piece. Puzzle games aren't really my thing, but I see the effort, design and work put into it. I got up to I believe level 9 or 10. Audio is great too!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:07am

Some in-game instructions would've been nice.
The idea is very nice, and the graphics/audio complemented each other well. Good work!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:41pm

fun, simple, addictive, nice looking.
good work!

ps: theme?

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

cute game, and great controls! just as I was thinking it was too easy, the difficulty really picked up

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

Loads more fun than I expected, and I loved the black and white graphics style

netmute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Pretty cool little puzzler. Had a lot of fun with it! :)
One minor thing though: The positions of the Z and Y keys are switched on German keyboards, which made it a bit hard to press Z ;)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:33am

netmute: Interesting, that hadn't occurred to me! If I do a more polished version I'll include key config :)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:07am

Seems pretty original to me. I really liked playing this. Side scroller meets Dr. Mario :)

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

very enjoyable! and you really nailed the retro feel. good work :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:10pm

good job

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:36am

Awesome idea!

Eddy93 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Good game! This would be perfect for a arcade center, love the style of the graphics and the sound. well done

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:03am

Graphics caught my attention immediately, when I saw the screenshot on the entries page. :)
I'd rather have more brainy puzzle, but the game is enjoyable even so. :)
Music fit well the style.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:15am

Addictive game play once you get the hang of it.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Really nice game! Art and music suited it to the ground.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Eddy93: Interesting! That hadn't occurred to me, but yeah, an "arcade edition" with a high scores list and versus play might make for a nice little arcade game. Thanks for the idea!

alts says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:35am

Wonderful game. The graphics and audio are excellent. What really makes this game is the block cycling. Block lifting and cycling are both orthogonal actions that can combine in a really complex way to give some territory for mastery (similar to Lift & Kick in Wario's Woods).

The game is great as is. There are only a few recommendations I'd make. Combos (both in the sense of sequences greater than 3, and cascading matches) should provide some benefit. A combo mechanic that I really like is that of Kirby's Star Stacker, where temporary blocks fall after combos, allowing for greater chains, but then not persisting if there was no match. I'd also like unbounded movement speed. I felt like at times I couldn't escape from falling rows because I couldn't move fast enough.

Really nice game. Great work.

Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:42am

alts: Thanks so much! I would have loved to have had bonuses for sequences more than 3 and for combos but I couldn't get to it in time, though I might add that with a more polished version later. Wario's Woods was a definite inspiration but I haven't played Kirby's Star Stacker yet so I'll be sure to give that a try. Also I could try to add the ability to hold in a direction to move faster, maybe... it would be less precise but good for scooting out of the way of a falling row. Interesting idea.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:09pm

masterfully done. the concept and execution makes this one of the finest puzzle games i've played in a long time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]