August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PAC MANy

by namuol - Jam Entry

**NOTE: There are some issues running in FireFox and IE9.**
I'm working on getting this fixed, but in the mean time if you have Chrome installed, it should work there. Thanks!

---

- Q to open pause menu
- X to select menu items
- Arrow Keys to move
- R to reset the level
- Hold SHIFT to speed up time

---

Wanted to make this for the 48H compo, but I started a day late and just couldn't cut it. Still, the game is missing a lot; most notably, it only has 4 levels to play.

As usual I plan to continue working on it once I recover from the burnout...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Fun(Jam)3.27
#183Overall(Jam)3.36
#202Innovation(Jam)3.18
#213Theme(Jam)3.27
#218Humor(Jam)2.73
#356Graphics(Jam)3.00
#357Audio(Jam)2.60
#392Mood(Jam)2.63
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46am

Hey! Was real fun! Enjoyed it a lot.. great job with it! especially enjoyed having my clones run around helping me nom.. id play this over and over.. but getting tired now..

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14am

Nice twist. Very juicy.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:15am

A lovely little entry :) A nice variation on the pacman theme.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19am

A very funny little game. I liked when i had many pack mans on the field =) more levels please!

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Very well polished, and a very neat core concept. Glad to hear you're planning on carrying on working on this game!

Kad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I tried playing your game, but both firefox and Iexplorer only show a black screen. Maybe something broke...

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:04pm

couldn't load it using firefox

namuol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37pm

@Kad & @Glockenspiel

Thanks, guys. It uses a pre-alpha version of my own game framework and I haven't tested it on anything but Chrome recently. I'll try to figure out what's breaking!

Baknik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Interesting concept. The animations are very clean, and the audio is fitting. You should definitely make some more levels.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:05am

haha this owns! Looking forward to seeing an expanded version.

Diamonde says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:34am

Very innovative gameplay! I like this game alot, but it wouldn't hurt to have some other sound that's nicer to the ears :)
Very nice theme take.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:15am

Everyone loves pac man! And this was a very nice take on it. Had quite a bit of fun playing this. Good work!

namuol says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:31am

@Everyone:
Thanks for the kind words!

I think I've fixed the issue with FireFox now, but it only works with WebGL (the Canvas implementation is busted still, I think). Let me know if you have issues with FireFox.

Still haven't had a chance to try it out in IE9/10 but I'll get to that next. Thanks!

garygreen says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I really liked your take on the original game, especially the multiple pacmen.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]