August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

House Of Wolves

by albertelwin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

House Of Wolves was an experiment of mine to see if it was possible to create a game rendered using ray tracing techniques. It's built on top of NativeClient/OpenGLES so must be installed on Chrome to play. Takes a bit of time for the shaders to compile when you first load it up.

In the game you must pass through a gate within at least 10 seconds otherwise you will lose.

Warning: Graphically Intensive!!

Tested On: AMD Radeon 7970, Nvidia GTX 560 Ti, Intel HD Graphics 4000

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#193Graphics3.57
#847Innovation2.57
#924Humor1.55
#960Audio1.32
#964Mood2.12
#1003Overall2.55
#1111Fun2.00
#1114Theme2.23

Comments

tower07 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

It won't run. When it says "Click to start", nothing happens.

albertelwin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03am

doesn't work on some graphics card, but takes a minute or two to load up anyway :)

NorthernCrux says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

Neat game. Reminds me of playing Star Fox and a bit of Battletoads.

albertelwin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06am

thanks was inspired by Star Fox, had a much more complete game in mind when I started out but had some set backs :( there's always next time!

Baknik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

Loved the ground animation.

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

Definitely like Star Fox training mode. :)

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17am

I like the crazy optical illusion the ground makes when you're speeding really fast. Looks nice, although it's a really basic concept. I wanted a bit more of a challenge.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17am

I get that there's a missing plugin. Not sure what it is (x-nacl?).

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

Very nice looking!

albertelwin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

x-nacl is Native Client, it's built into Chrome so not sure why it's saying it's missing :( Windows/OSX/Linux?

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

Looks really nice.

wbobeirne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

Great looking game, but definitely more tech demo than game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10am

Took few seconds to load, remind me of Star Fox too ! Nice idea to use the NativeClient/OpenGLES.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39pm

When I 'click to start' mouse disappears but game wont run

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

This looks interesting. It doesn't run very well on my computer, but my computer doesn't have a lot of graphics power. The game itself is pretty simple, but not too bad.

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00pm

It ran quite slowly on my PC but it does look quite pretty.

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Very nice aesthetic, it can get pretty trippy at times. Decent game overall.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

I would suggest to fix the lag and have faster movement.

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

Nifty - I really start losing perspective of how fast I'm going after a while, but I like the effect. Shaders are like black magic to me - I have no understanding of how they work, just that they do cool things.

albertelwin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

Only possible way to fix the lag is to buy a better graphics card I'm afraid :(

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13am

This game was a pretty neat idea. This version definitely needs some work but if you work on this for a larger project, I can see this having a lot of potential.

albertelwin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

Thanks :) With such a short amount of time I had to make a lot of trade-offs with the gameplay, hopefully I'll get to come back to it sometime and make something more complete!

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Just to give you feedback, it worked super slow on my Mac (it could be probably my computer, but just in case...). Anyway love the Starwing kind of game and it looks really promising. Good entry!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Nice entry and I have to say, my first google chrome game ever! :) nice work

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Didn't realise I was playing at the start, but I soon figured it out :)

I loved the way the ground blocks changed to black when you die :) very nice

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:43pm

I really really liked the graphics. the pulsating ground, and the shadows and changing colour really made the game come alive :D But the gameplay was a bit bland imo, I found the ship moved so slowly it was difficult to hit or avoid gates by choice :/

aldian says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Its a very cool concept, graphics are nice and i had a good 5 minutes playing thsi :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Nice and trippy, but more of a technical feat than a really engaging game in my opinion. The visuals were pretty neat though, and innovative rendering technique!

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Nice idea. Impressed with the delivery as a Chrom app :-)

soerensen3 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

"I get that there's a missing plugin. Not sure what it is (x-nacl?)."

I get the same error. I use comodo which is a special version of chrome. I'm on windows 7.

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Inspired by Iñigo Quilez?
Beautiful work, there are some artifacts but your renderer it's impressive nonetheless.

albertelwin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Ahh, I assume comodo doesn't have Native Client, try installing a normal version of Chrome and it should work :)

albertelwin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Sure is! He pioneered the ray marching technique which I'm using for my renderer :)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

The animation is very well done and runs very smoothly but there is not much gameplay.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:11am

My graphics card can't quite keep up. It looks pretty cool, though.

myachin says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:26am

cant start((

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]