August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DEZ

by azurenimbus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10 seconds of doing... nothing. Sometimes that's the hardest thing there is.

Made in 24h, as I had to scrap my first two game ideas. This was a surprisingly chill LD! And it feels good to put make another game after so long.

Used Stencyl, Illustrator and GarageBand (no loops).

Any feedback is always appreciated. Hope you enjoy it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.61
#11Overall4.13
#11Fun4.04
#12Innovation4.23
#62Audio3.61
#72Mood3.65
#348Graphics3.26
#677Humor2.04
#1970Coolness0%

Comments

siat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

I really enjoyed playing this, I want more levels! I never saw the level in the screenshot, it seemed to loop back to an early level and keep replaying that one.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

This. Is. Amazing.

Seriously, this is the best take on "10 secs" I've seen so far.

The idea is great, lends itself to many puzzles. Love the simple artstyle, and the music is cool too.

The the idea of "Do Nothing for 10 second!" is just /diabolical/ :P

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44am

A good and simple idea! I felt the sphere might be a bit too fast, I would have enjoyed a slower pace, which wouldn't have made the game easier. It's rare to ask for a slower pace in a video game, so I guess it's a good sign :)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

Pretty good concept! I love the music and the minimalistic graphics. My favorite entry so far (ok, I only played 5 or so yet).

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25am

Nice game ! Enjoyed playing it a lot, isn't it the ultimate goal?

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Woooow that's really incredible game :) I love I shall get it feature on indiegames ;)

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

As others have said, this is a really neat concept and a great use of the theme. I could see the being expanded into a full game.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19am

I liked it a lot. Clever use of the theme. I imagine that with more time you would give more visual differences to the enemies. The controls are pretty good, maybe a bit fast? Awesome game though.

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53am

Amazing game! I loved the gameplay concept. It was really challenging. I also liked the fact that the timer was on a tempo rather than on a clock A LOT

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12am

Hey man, I don't remember giving anyone this many stars. This is just perfect. You nailed everything. Minimalism is really your thing. Absolutely amazing. Great job.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23am

Great concept dude.

kantieno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Interesting concept.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Fantastic, definitely one of the best games of this jam.

Sooo nice with a break from "something new happens every 10 sec" or timer-based games (which I am sadly a victim of as well, albeit with a unique twist).

And on top of that, some eminently crafted levels. Last two especially were frustratingly great.

This is also the first game that has made me check out more of the creator's games (and follow him/her on twitter!). I like Linescape a lot :D

And all of that in TWENTYFOUR HOURS? Insane.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:18am

Really cool concept! I think you should do a post compo version and add walls or something. A maze would be cool to have to run away while pausing it.
Overall pretty fun!

TravisChen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Great work! Best interpretation of theme I've played yet.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Amazing work as usual my friend! Love this idea, it's definitely in need of more levels for me to play! Loved it.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Nice use of the theme. The music started to get a bit annoying near the end though.

Anachron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:05am

Fantastic game! Would be lots of fun with mouse/touch control too; good for tablets.

rylgh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Very nice, elegant concept!

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Really neat idea and graphics.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Very clever game mechanic, I liked it a lot

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Wow, very very addictive, and an excelent take on the 10 seconds theme.

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Awesome idea! Nice minimalistic design. Enjoyed very much!

netgrind says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:35am

Wow, another stellar game. I had a blast timing my stops to when the counter went up. Great use of the theme!

codifeye says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

Wow, I loved this, great minimalist style and music. Really interesting take on the theme, congrats for a great job in 24 hours!

Anoarith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Amazing innovative and addictive game :D

Capro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:35am

Great idea! This game has awesome mechanics.

Photon says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Cool concept. Its defintely a nice take on the theme, and you threw in a couple twists here and there (the exit's moving!). It got a little stale, but overall it was a good game to play.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Very good concept, the music is great. The increasing difficulty is really great.

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:53am

Really exciting game, and a great application of the theme. I was surprised at how much depth could be achieved just by varying the speeds of different objects.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]