August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CUTIE ADVENTURE WORLD X

by Overkill - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CUTIE ADVENTURE WORLD X
by Andrew G. Crowell / Overkill

Enter - Hug
Arrows - Move
Escape - Quit

Hug everyone. The world changes every 10 seconds.

Other:

* Uses Plum, a 2D game engine I wrote, which you can find here - https://github.com/Bananattack/Plum
* The Lua game source is included with the game.
* The art was made in Paint Shop Pro 7.
* The maps were made in Tiled and exported as a Lua table literal.
* The sounds are recorded from my Korg Microstation via Sound Recorder, and then dumped.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Mood4.00
#46Graphics4.13
#264Overall3.38
#309Fun3.25
#316Innovation3.31
#404Audio2.80
#548Theme3.19
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28am

It's like you're poisoned or dying or going insane and you know it but you must dispense all your hugs with your very last breath!

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

Now I want a hug. :(
Loved the art style.
It could've used some music though.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I like the glitchy art style! Some of them make it pretty hard to read the text though. It's probably intentional, but, uh, I'd like to read the text. I mean exploring the world (good level design!) is nice and all, but the interactions are more interesting for me!

Arrow keys and Enter is a bit awkward. How about WASD/Space, or Arrows/X?

Missing music, minimal audio.

The changing window title as a timer (seemingly doubling as version counter) is nice touch :D

Is the end just a loop of "You made everyone feel better"?

netgrind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17am

That got really tough when the arrow keys got messed around. I like how the world got more glitched every 10 seconds. Also the changing colors was nice.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:39am

I'm getting a "Failed to create OpenGL 3.2 context" error, I'm afraid. I assume I'm missing something on my end?

Overkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Thanks for the feedback from everyone who's played so far! I'm glad you had fun.

And argh, sorry to everyone who can't run this.

Known issues:

* Doesn't run on Windows XP, because I built Plum on Visual Studio 2012 and forgot to jump through the magic hoops to allow backwards compatibility with XP.
* Requires a video card that handles OpenGL 3.2 or better -- I'm going to try and lower the requirements, maybe even have a fallback if the machine doesn't have shaders, so my netbook from 2008 can run this.
* I need to port this to Mac/Linux someday.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28pm

HUG MEEEE! The world glitching idea was great!

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

I'm confused and intrigued at the same time, I really like the mix of sprite/ascii-ish art

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

The glitchy artstyle looks great, but there isn't really anything else to the game. Just wandering around. Giving hugs is nice but they don't show and failing gives irritating sound effect. Background music would ease the pain of wandering a lot.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Lovely world, I like how dynamic it is as time flows. I like the characters and the fact that each has their own personality. Mad props on using your own engine too!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

DEAR GAMES INDUSTRY: MORE GAMES WITH HUGGING AS THE PRIMARY MECHANIC PLEASE

donfabio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

I'm getting an "APPCRASH" error. No message box, nothing in the console... :/
I'm on Window 8 Professional 64 Bit. My graphics card supports OpenGL 4.3. I also have the Visual C++ 2012 runtime installed.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

such a wonderful game.

triplefox says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:27am

It's so creepy to watch the world get corrupted as you wander around, unable to provide enough hugs to help anyone.

Overkill says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:03am

I've made an update, that changes no gameplay, just hopefully addresses a few compatibility issues on Windows.

* Rebuilt the exe with "Visual Studio 2013 Preview - Windows XP" platform toolset. Should actually work on XP now!
* Made a fallback for people who can't support OpenGL 3.2, lowering the video requirements to OpenGL 2.1 or higher.

Tell me if this works!

Overkill says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:04am

Another update, for super compatibility. If Plum fails to find OpenGL 2.1 support, it will fall back on legacy pipeline rendering that should behave identically to the default render engine. If your video card claims to support GL 2.1 but actually sucks, create a file named 'plum.cfg' with the line 'legacy 1' in it to force the legacy renderer to be used. Now anyone can (hopefully) play cheesy 2D games, at least on Windows!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]