August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sprman!

by Zerot - Jam Entry

Guide SPRMAN around the rocks to get him to his goal!

Made in Unity with Node.js for the highscore server

Mac and linux builds are not tested, so they might not work. Mac users, you can also play the web build.



* NOTE *
It seems that the highscores don't work in the webplayer because of crossdomain problems. It worked during testing(with webplayer at exactly the same location) but now it seems that it does not work at all and I have no idea why. If you want to play with highscores, use one of the other builds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#305Graphics(Jam)3.22
#311Theme(Jam)3.03
#382Audio(Jam)2.52
#398Overall(Jam)2.88
#405Fun(Jam)2.63
#416Humor(Jam)1.90
#430Mood(Jam)2.50
#458Innovation(Jam)2.53

Comments

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Good fun, nice aesthetic. Good use of the theme, but the time refills are way too common, and personally I think moving mountains should decrease you timer while holding left click down.

Nevertheless, a great entry.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I really like the aesthetics. However I keep getting into unwinnible situations with rocks being placed it ways I can't beat it. and that's just.. bad.

Zerot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Xgor: that is why you can move the rocks using the mouse. As is explained in the instructions.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Good, nice, fun game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Good idea, looks very nice. There are certainly more creative ways to integrate the theme, but apart from that good job. :)

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Very nice game. Quite hard, even though you can move the rocks - however, the time-refills are maybe a bit too common.

Great art work!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Great use of two mechanics!

tamirespp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:59am

the time refils are common and i think break the game a little bit. couldn`t figure out how to move the rocks though :/ if you can, i would really appreciate some insight on my entry here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=16988

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Sat on the game over screen for a while to listen to the music, hehe.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Classic idea for a classic game. Graphics are nice, but the game is a little bit too tricky for me. Good work ;)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:14pm

cool music and love the power

CuberToy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Great way to use the 10 seconds, love the idea and the graphics on this one. A really nice entry overall.

RARoadkill says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Fun game, like the time slow down. The intro music got a bit annoying after awhile

Gazok says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:53pm

The hit-boxes - both in general boulders and the length of the player - really killed it for me, but the physics on the boulders was cool.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice graphics and audio! Found the keyboard and mouse use a bit clashing though. Moving the rocks out of the way should've had some penalty. But nice use of the theme!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:25am

This is really hard! The long hitbox makes it really difficult to avoid the obstacles, sometimes even in slow motion.
It might be nice if collision doesn't mean instant death, but merely blocks the player's way and the player dies if he is squished against the end of the screen.
Other than that, not bad! Nice work!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Pretty nice expansion on the usually simple evade-games with the keyboard/mouse coordination! How did you get node.js to run with Unity?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]