August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of the Random Boxes

by someone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Really wasn't quite into it this time round.
Was uninspired by the theme. Ah well, next time perhaps.,..

This is the result of about 12 hours.
Kill lots of random cubes, get a high score.

Wasd or Arrows to move, shoot with mouse, 1-4 change weapon.
The grey discs are ammo pickups.

New enemies and pickups spawn every 10 seconds ...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#655Fun2.80
#797Audio2.04
#857Graphics2.38
#864Humor1.71
#987Overall2.57
#1001Mood2.00
#1141Theme2.04
#1162Innovation1.83

Comments

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

this game is fun, but the application of the "10-sec" theme is not that innovative imo. still really nice work

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:11am

Nice shooter, responsive controls, many guns, good job !

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Fun fast shooting game! Good job!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:50pm

quick in fun.

Mesene says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Simple but solid :) I did 54

gre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Good game, too bad you didn't take more than your 12 hours to finish it because this is a very good start!

rejome says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Not the most original game but nice one though.

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:14am

Shooting feels really satisfying and I love how the player explodes on death!
Bonus points for cape :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:59am

Hi. Biggest plus points for me were the little touches like the cape and the particle effects. As well it's really fun and I like the online score table! I need to learn how to do that!

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Even though it's obviously unfinished, it's fun!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Good beginning but you have to increase it.

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:57am

The game is quite fun and well done, you dind't quite hit the theme, but it's still fun and a good job.

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Really nice. It was fun and engaging and the different weapons made it interesting. It got hectic after a while when my ammo completely ran out and there were about 50 squares after me but I think that added a lot to the game, frantically searching for ammo. Would like to see an improved version of this, nicely done.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:34am

Really nice game. I love how it was boxes!! XD I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

alts says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:26am

Nice game. Not a very strong usage of the theme, though.

Sebastian says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Nice way to spend a few minutes. I get an annoying pop up box when I'm moving with wasd though.. Cool that you implemented highscores!

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:56am

Fun and addicting game! Gets quite challenging towards the end. :)

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:44am

Actually pretty good for 12 hours! Sometimes the unoriginal games are the best ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]