August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Teleporting Zeppelin

by Gremlin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pilot your teleporting zeppelin through hordes of planes!

Your teleporter takes 10 seconds to recharge; can you survive long enough to escape?

You lose when the planes shoot off all of your guns. The zeppelin is repaired when it teleports.

Shoot with the mouse. Steer with A/D or arrow keys. Teleport with Spacebar.

Tools Used:
Unity
Bfxr
Lightwave
Photoshop

Also uses the open source UnitySteer library.

The desktop versions are mostly untested but should work, since they're pretty simple Unity builds. An updated version is also available, if you want to try it out after you rate the original.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#446Graphics3.06
#760Audio2.14
#772Mood2.46
#798Humor1.84
#873Overall2.72
#900Innovation2.48
#929Fun2.44
#987Theme2.60

Comments

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40am

It took a while until I got the idea :D Great concept!!

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:13am

Man that's a lot of bullets... feels good to aim and shoot, but I wish there was some feedback that the bullets were hitting things.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Looking nice, but I don't feel this game has anything to do with skill... at least not any skill that i might have! :)

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Looks really cool with all the bullets flying around. Could start up a bit easier though

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Those planes destroys all of my turrets in few seconds :) I like tons of bullets everywhere.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Nice grafix, but too many planes too fast, no theme connection

PaulSB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Looks nice. Neat idea but I found it difficult to avoid my turrets all dying a pretty early death.

syradinegames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:39am

All the bullets and enemies were cool. Felt more like a survival game than an action shooter since I did not feel like I was in control at all and just waiting for the timer hit 10 to teleport and stay alive

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice concept, needs difficulty tweaking. Maybe I shouldn't be trying to play it with a trackpad, but I couldn't survive long enough to try out the teleporter.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Decent game, the bullet speed makes it look like the bullets aren't actually moving and you're swinging around a yellow chain! Definite potential though. Good job!

joekinglake says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice idea, generally fun but it definitely needs more feedback and balancing. Great job so far and for the jam, you should carry on working on it :-)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Quite enjoyable. :)

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Looks and sounds very good, but for unknown reason lags horribly at the start, and I couldn't beat it.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Nice.
Sometimes, planes were not destroyed my the zeppelin bullets.

Per says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Very nice game with small details that matter.
Cool that you could drive the ship and that the cannons were destroyed when hit.
A bit difficult and not so polished, but 48 hours is not a long time :)
Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]