August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TimeOut

by chaosBrick - Jam Entry

You battle strange floating monsters with a ninja stickman for more time to survive as they try to eat your time. Sound like fun? Well, maybe.

Hit the monsters and collect the clocks that they drop.
When the timer reaces zero, it's over!

Controls (Keyboard):
Move: WASD
Jump: K
Fight Mode: Space
Kick: K (Fight Mode only)
Left Punch: J (Fight Mode only)
Right Punch: L (Fight Mode only)
Pan Camera: U, O, M, .
Center Camera: Q

Controls (XBox Controller)
Move: Left Pad
Jump: A
Fight Mode: RT
Kick: A (Fight Mode only)
Left Punch: X (Fight Mode only)
Right Punch: B (Fight Mode only)
Pan Camera: Right Pad
Center Camera: LT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Audio(Jam)3.11
#229Innovation(Jam)3.11
#261Graphics(Jam)3.39
#289Fun(Jam)2.94
#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#385Theme(Jam)2.89
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11am

I think the controls aren't working for :(

Otherwise, nice music!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

It was really hard to control the player, reset the cam, and fight at the same time. Also, even if I can kill the monsters, it is almost impossible to collect the clocks properly... The idea was nice, but I had a hard time with this game. The music is nice :)

Clurect says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45am

It played nicely, was hard at first, but I got used to it. I thought the quit tree was funny :D

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:44pm

The game didn't quite render correctly for me - my laptop sometimes has trouble with 3D games. However I did get to see how nice the animations were on the player character. And I managed to see a game where the character just floats around amongst the stars as the floor didn't render in - it's was actually quite soothing and relaxing. :D

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Couldnt run D:

************** Exception Text **************
System.ApplicationException: Error in the application.
at Microsoft.DirectX.DirectSound.Device..ctor()
at chaosEngine2.Sound.CreateDevice(Sound Sender)

chaosBrick says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53pm

@Starspell
This is because your computer / laptop doesn't support pixel shader profile 3.0. However, the map effect (using blood) is too complex for shader profile 2.0 (which your computer is capable of, obviously), so there are only low chances on fixing that... sorry.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

There's a lot of content in there for a weekend! An intro, a hub world and the battle arenas themselves. Not bad!

oajfh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

C

chaosBrick says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

@oajfh
Don't quite get that...

plop says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:34am

I found this quite fun! Didn't _quite_ understand the gameplay though. Controls were not convenient - you should get rid of space to enter fight mode. But other than that good!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:31pm

found myself getting engrossed into this game. The presentation of the game has a very strange and enjoyable feel to it, combat is also good. Interesting twist on the expert level. Wouldnt mind seeing this idea go further with more levels etc as its seeming with potential

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]